Tennessee State University Employee Reviews

Found 150 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 15, 2017
Working at Tennessee State University as a research assistance helped me develop my research abilities. It exposed me to various areas of research and gave me the opportunity to work with highly intelligent and dedicated team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work and attend school
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 15, 2017
I enjoyed working at my college while working in schoool i got paid to work where i attending school so it was great ... well enjoyable Im a proud alumni as of now..
Pros
I graduated and worked at the same place
Cons
a contract is signed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and friendly environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 14, 2017
An inviting environment with excellent supervision. The staff is very supportive of the students. Healthy discourse was encouraged and students were challenged to hone his/ her skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Audio Visual Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 12, 2017
this is a great school and place to work very family centered place. theres not to much i can say that isnt positive. i loved my years there as well as the students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Support
Assistant Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 7, 2017
TSU provided me with many opportunities to excel as a student. I am not confident that my skills were put to use in the most efficient way. However working with students at the University was a rewarding experience.
Pros
Student
Cons
Resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job but good benefits
Coordinator of Clinics (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 6, 2017
I have mostly enjoyed my time at Tennessee State University. Employment in education is difficult and very time consuming. It can be rewarding, but the job is made more difficult if you do not have support from upper administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big yet close knit school
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 3, 2017
Working at TSU is pretty good. We have Fridays off. Working as student at the university gets me a reduced tuition. Normally being a student and working is difficult to balance but at TSU it's pretty easy to keep it balanced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great city
Masters Level Researcher (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 26, 2017
Awesome people. Nice place to work. Great experience. Nice structure. I enjoyed working knowing I was making a difference for agricultural landowners. This is ideal for interns
Pros
Downtown Nashville
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security and advancement
Research Associate/GIS Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 19, 2017
For support staff and non-faculty members, there are no clear paths to advancement. Most positions are basically stagnant. Staff member without terminal Degrees assigned into roles that do not leverage their expertise and passion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lab tech
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 18, 2017
Working for the HIM department at Tennessee state university was an experience i will always cherish. the students were a hand full at times, but the diversity is priceless
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace however, I enjoyed working with my Vice President Dr. Mark Hardy
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 17, 2017
It was exciting to network with different cultures & a strong supported staff. However, maintaining a dialogue was somewhat challenging at time due to different ethnic background.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Excited to meet different & diverse group of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experience
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 11, 2017
awesome experience for student who enjoy hands on learning research projects and are able to work alone with target deadlines. great experience for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TSU Intern/Work Study
Intern/Work Study (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 19, 2017
I enjoy the culture and the exposure this opportunity has afforded me. I will recommend other HR majors to utilize this tool and seasoned professionals.
Pros
the schedule and exposure
Cons
limitations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working load is too heavy, so it leaves little time to do research
Professor of Mathematics (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 9, 2017
Tennessee State University asks every faulty member to work 15 credit hours within which 3 hours are deductible, so everyone must teach 12 hours per week. Very little time is left for research.
The Mathematical Sciences has very limited budget for teaching,and almost no budget for research. Besides, the Department is managed terribly poor.
Pros
The weather in Nashville, Tn, is so-so, not comparable with Florida, though.
Cons
See above.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TSU Offers a Great Work Environment!
Web Editor/Web Administrator (Former Employee) –  Nashville-Davidson, TNJune 8, 2017
TSU has a small enough campus to feel "close knit." And large enough to feel progressive and growing. It continually strives to be innovative in its research and its academic programs.

I've learned so much at the university, from both a personal & professional perspective. The additional gains in web editing/administrator knowledge has given me a valuable skill set
for today's high-technology centered marketplace.

TSU offers anyone who's willing to come in with an open mind and a giving spirit, to receive back ten-fold a most rewarding employment experience!
Pros
Great people, Great academic programs.
Cons
Great people. Some areas need better performance/funding administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life balance and Advancement
Internship (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 8, 2017
Typical days at the internship while using time management on the hardest and easy days gave me sense of life balance.The job work was not hard nor complicated yet finding a career with benefits and advancement that fit my abilities.
Pros
Accessibility of different fields of government or government contractors
Cons
Normal hours as intern 8-4 part time not employed full time or shift changes for 24/7 of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 21, 2017
Working for a school comes with it's pros and cons. The faculty you work for can sometimes be a bit more demanding since they almost always need a solution immediately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and Balanced Place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Faculty of EngineeringMay 19, 2017
Serene environment for learning with several opportunities to consolidate learning with practice.
Learnt several traffic engineering software and packages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping the student on the way to success!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Downtown Nashville TNMay 15, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is assisting students from all over the world to get into our nursing program.Also like helping the faculty with day to day tasks to help our students to succeed.
Pros
All the wonderful people i have meet alone the way.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 25, 2017
I enjoyed working for Tennessee State University. As a resident assistant I gained a lot of leadership and customer service experience. I also gained skills in using excel.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tennessee State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

84%
45 ratings
Add your rating