Find companies:
Tennessee State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Tennessee State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my dream to work there
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 6, 2014
typical day was unpredictable
how to treat the students
management was ok
i loved my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Director of Wilson Hall-Freshman Housing (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 5, 2014
great first job. Staff had a family camaraderie. Willingness to support those in seeking new heights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Excellence and highly competitive.
Associate Testing Supervisor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 30, 2014
TSU has some of the academically excellent professors in the business of educating and mentoring students. I highly recommend their curriculum and instruction to any individual who is interested in furthering their education in the state of Tennessee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constructive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: good work enviroment.
Cons: non
Providing support wherever help was needed. Having to time manage between school & work was an excellent experience for me. Working beside others with different values, opinions, ideas, & personalities prepared me for the typical work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bias
Aramark Higher Education (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 29, 2014
Aramark is a Bias company to work for. Be advised everyone working their has their own personal agendas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
CAREER DEVELOPMENT CENTER PRACTICUM (Former Employee), Nashville,TNJuly 16, 2014
Pros: pay well
Cons: no cons
The management is full of former Human Resources professionals who are dedicated to placing students on the write career path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Student (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 24, 2014
I was able to obtain my degree and work through obstacles. I enjoyed being able to understand and learn the proper skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my job
Security Officer (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJune 23, 2014
I absolutely love the work environment. My peers were understanding and exciting to be around. We truly believe in teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting academic environment
Records Department Lead Worker/Secretary III (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 12, 2014
Pros: customer service training
Cons: limited room for future advancement
Increasingly complex staff assistant duties in the Registrar’s Office which included; verification of student data in a time sensitive manner using university codes and implementing university policy under the Freedom of Educational Rights and Privacy Act. Composed correspondence, data entry, BANNER, requisitions, managed library, travel arrangements, – more... bulk mail and cash operations including heavy computer and telephone use. I also attended seminars for quality team building and excellence in customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Fun To work here
Instructor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 9, 2014
Pros: going to work
Worked two to three days a week. The students was great!!! Learned much. Management worked with you all the way. I enjoyed working with the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Office Assistant (Former Employee), nashville, tnJune 7, 2014
Pros: learned computer skills
Cons: hours
A day at work consisted of answering phones, filing papers, and greeting guest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pleasant workplace
Researcher (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJune 5, 2014
Pros: great teamwork, great pay
Very professional and a lot of support from mangement. Very laid back environment where everyone works together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smooth
Domino's (Former Employee), Oakland, TNJune 4, 2014
Everything was smooth with dominos. I loved my manager they made my job more flexible and easier. They were patience with me in training and I learned how to do a manager jobs within 2 weeks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Associate Athletic Director Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 31, 2014
Enjoyable everyday
All coworkers are wonderful
the hardest was missing the football and basketball game because I was working for the teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversify and productive work community
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 27, 2014
I was an international student and worked as a graduate research assistant for the funding i received at the university. On a typical a day, i spent about four hours assisting my academic mentor(supervisor) with his work by either teaching his class, marking papers, analyzing data, searching for literature for his research work etc. and go for my classes – more... in the evening. Some days, i spend all the time on school community farm assisting other professors with work on their vegetable farms and i must say these were my favorite times on campus because i love working on the field. I have learn a lot from Tennessee state university especially on how to work and associate with people from diverse culture due to the multilateral nature of the school community with very supportive professors and welcoming colleagues. Above all, I learn that with prioritization and determination crowd with the grace of God, one can achieve anything one's sets the mind on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMay 21, 2014
Pros: half tuition paid, medical benefits
Cons: weekend and night work required
fast paced, great training, must be personable, ability to retain a lot of information and place on report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMay 9, 2014
Pros: nice working place, flaxible time sheet
Cons: outdoor work
it will definitly become a non fogetable place and experience for your whold life. i like here, because it gave me a new life i have not experienced before. but too much outside work and sunshine here. and work with animals is fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back work environment
Shipping/receiving supervisor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 13, 2014
Pros: long holidays
Cons: no team work
you are guaranteed job security but the pay and the opportunity to advance are limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Financial Aid Advisor (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 8, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: long hours
I loved my coworkers and I loved assisting students with their financial aid to fufill their college goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Athletic Ticket Agent (Former Employee), Nashville, TNApril 8, 2014
It is a great place to work with a great environment of people

1 2 3