TERREBONNE GENERAL MEDICAL CENTER Employee Reviews in United States

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management ruins your day...every day!
HIM Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJune 17, 2016
Horrible place to work...but only due to Management. Coworkers are super friendly. Met a lot of nice people here. The pay is WAY below average, and the workload is enormous. The Director is more of a Dictator. Everyone miserable.
Pros
Friendly coworkers, discounted lunches.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team of people
Social Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Houma, LADecember 14, 2015
face paced hospital discharge planning, requires a lot of quick problem solving skills, but great team of people to work with. lots of case management and discharge planning duties
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family runs everything there is no fairness
Emergency Room RN (Current Employee) –  Houma, LASeptember 15, 2015
Staff doesnt back you up. you have to pretty much fend for yourself. everyone complains about how this particular department is managed.
Pros
paid time off
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes27No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good benefits.
Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 24, 2015
I learned a lot of medical terminology working at TGMC. My co-workers were the greatest. Down side was working weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sitting with mental health patients. A quiet and very observant job.
special observation sitter (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 18, 2015
observing special needs patients. You make sure the patient doesnt harm themselves. A very laid back job. Pretty comfortable too.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
just sitting in a chair all day or night can be tiring and boring
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past enviornment
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMay 14, 2015
I work for them for almost a year. It's a very demanding jib. Overall the hospital focuses on growth and bettering itself. Most employees were willing to work as a team and supervisors always found a solution to the problem
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take it if you NEED it.
EVS (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMay 10, 2015
This was a very nice place to work. Most of the people were friendly. The pay was okay. When you start a job people say do your own work and dont worry about anyone else. Well over there that was not the case. The people i worked with were very rude, lied about things ive done to get me in trouble,if they found something i did was wrong they wouldnt tell me they would go straight to the boss. It wasnt just me it happened to many of my co-workers.The management was crazy! There were more than one "Bosses/Supervisors" you had to answer to and they all wanted to be the only boss.They did not communicate with each other. If one of them told you to do something and you didnt tell the rest what you had to do you would get in trouble. I missed/ was tardy a few times and i was told if it happened again i would get written up,well it did not happen after that but i got called to the office by one of the bosses to be written up and she was making jokes the whole time. I still dont understand why one said i had one more chance and the other said i used up all my chances. That still doesnt mean that the other boss could make jokes the whole time. Everyone wanted to be the boss but no one wanted to do the work. . It is true that when you are in EVS you can move up in 6 months.If they let you. They will find any little thing to write you up so you can not leave out of the department. I was there almost 6 months .they wrote me up 2 weeks before my 6 months. Another thing they do, they tell you to do a certain job and praise other people for the work you did. If you really need a job i say  more... take this one but stay to your self, dont trust anyone, and do your job. If you have kids Good Luck!!! They dont care . If its an emergency and you have to go they only care about if you have someone to work for you.  less
Pros
Meet some nice people, pretty easy work
Cons
Way too many for this little line.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caution.
CLASSIFIED (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAMarch 5, 2015
Great place to work, but if you aren't in clinical, or coming in with years worth of experience in a setting that doesn't require you have a degree, then you will NOT make anything, and your workload will be intense and it will ultimately not be worth it. Your full-time hours take up the day time that you'd need to use to find something more worthwhile, and unless you can quickly find something more, you will be STUCK. I love this place and the people, but love doesn't pay the bills and neither does TGMC.

I also hear several complaints from Housekeeping workers, that right before you make your 6 months and are able to transfer departments, that they will find the smallest, most insignificant thing to write you up about so that you're ineligible to leave (would imagine it's because that department's turnover rate is outrageously awful).
Pros
great environment, steady work, favorable conditions, amazing individuals.
Cons
horrible workload, horrible pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
CNA (Former Employee) –  Houma, LASeptember 19, 2014
there is a lot of on the job training, the most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with the patients
Was this review helpful?Yes31NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surgical procedures very amazing
OR Circulating Nurse (Former Employee) –  Houma, LASeptember 18, 2014
Setting up for surgeries
Getting patients ready for surgery
Pre interviews with patients
Moving and setting up lots of surgery equipment

Learned to work under high paced and stress
Developed time management
Most co-workers were team players

Hardest part of job was length of surgeries at times

Most enjoyable part of Job was the surgeries themselves and patient care
Pros
the surgeries themselves
Cons
high paced and high stress at times
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TGMC is a growing Coorporation that values its customers.
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Houma, LASeptember 8, 2014
A work day in the meadical field is busy and ever changing. I enjoy helping and taking care of patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning place
Certified Nurses Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 26, 2014
My co-workers and I worked as a team. It was a great learning experience .
Pros
learning experience
Cons
very unfair place
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Houma, La.July 7, 2014
Daily report production and handled complaints throughout the hospital. Provided excellent customer service and provided a safe environment for staff, visitors and patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Lab Clerk/Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAJuly 1, 2014
accuracy is a must
speed is essential
we have great team work
very healful supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes17No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging and risky
Patient Transporter/File Room Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMarch 18, 2014
get a slip go to room get the patients and bring them around the hospital I learned a lot organisms that u don't see if not careful you can get a infection it could attack your body my coworkers were phenomenal they taught me what floor to dress for so I wont get contaminated. knowing that viruses are looming in every room u get a patient that can be fatal to my health.knowing what infections out there and how to prevent coming into contact with them
Pros
i learned alot about the female and male anatomy
Cons
i had to move to texas and just gave up on the medical field
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work.
Facility Management Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMarch 17, 2014
Excellent health benefits, 403B plan, 5-weeks of vacation, and
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday schedule.
Pros
discounted lunches, good hours and benefits, and lots of vacation time.
Cons
poor pay increases and very little chance of advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There okay to work for
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAFebruary 11, 2014
At this hospital i learned how work on my own and able to think fast.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well experience company to work for
ER Tech (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAFebruary 10, 2014
I have learned so much from TGMC. I have had the opportunity to help save many lives when patients would enter the door in the ER.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for.
Patient Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houma, LANovember 6, 2013
Enjoyed job and meeting people. Work very satisfying. Very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out being a good place to work, not enough pay for being there so long. Then in some departments family comes last, not good for a single moth
Interviewer/Financial Counselor/Ins. Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houma, LAOctober 9, 2013
My department is busy and fast paced. Sometimes can be very overwhelming. I have learned that through the years, maybe because of new time and age, there is no teamwork, no communication. Little respect for family. The hardest part of the job is being so busy and doing so much but not getting paid. I enjoy what I do.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

TERREBONNE GENERAL MEDICAL CENTER Reviews by Location