Tesla Motors Employee Reviews

Found 442 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long and strenuous work hours
Body Repairman and Assembly Line worker (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 17, 2017
repetitious work within 2 hour periods while standing
12 hour days, 5 days a week sometimes 6
little to no acknowledgement for work
friendly coworkers
Pros
good mixture of food daily
Cons
management and safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Job
Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutAugust 16, 2017
Healthcare and Company Car (Not a Tesla) is really great.

Sales demands are unrealistic. Very difficult job to stay motivated.

I have heard turnover for the solar department is over 75%.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to learn with fun environment
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 16, 2017
Jobs are easy to learn. There is a lot of room for advancement at tesla. I learned several different jobs in different areas. The culture is fun and enjoyable. Hardest part of the job is hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have some good benefits and are good in most areas
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 15, 2017
Could improve on focusing more on the employee and the needs for a job with proper tools. Couple of people have died in here and I feel like they didn’t care as much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with opportunity for advancement
Structural Fitter Welder (Former Employee) –  North Slope, AKAugust 15, 2017
Great team, good place to work. I liked this place, found a different job. My welding experience here was satisfactory. I appreciate the opportunity given.
Pros
well paid, insurance, great staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission Driven, but it's a challenge
Senior Tesla Energy Consultant (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 13, 2017
Obviously, this is one of the most cutting edge companies out there. I love the overall vision of the company. There are a lot of challenges that haven't been ironed out yet as this large company acts like a start up in many surprising ways. Overall the company is great, just be ready to roll with the punches as processes are tweaked and adjusted.
Pros
Great Mission
Cons
Work life balance, one big experiment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it seems
Material Planner (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 13, 2017
Tesla is a very chaotic environment. Management is weak and does not support your goals or ambitions with career growth. In this role, you are on call 24/7 and the job is very demanding at 15+ hours per day. Would not recommend if you want a life and growth opportunity.
Pros
Tesla Name
Cons
Work/life balance, compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing pains is actually poor management
Regional Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORAugust 11, 2017
I work in the newly acquired solar division and let me tell you, DON'T get panels from solarcity or Tesla. Poor quality, poor upper level management. The only person who cares is the Portland install manager and he is constantly having his job threatened. Don't work here
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Training Developmental Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVAugust 11, 2017
Tesla is not the place for the weak. It takes a lot to work at Tesla and many times you will have to sacrifice your home life. You will meet great people, but the demand and expectation is high!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 11, 2017
his is best place to work, fun, educated, help each other, and well management. pay medial, dental, vision, providing school training, provide free lunch some time, shop party,....
Pros
fun to work
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recycling tech at tesla
Recycling Technician (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 8, 2017
I loved it, I loved the job and I loved the atmosphere. It was like getting to go to college... It had its challenges as far as the work because sometimes it wasnt easy to navigate different situations that would come up. So basically, like any job, it had its ups and downs.
Pros
free snacks and cereal and drinks and pretty good pay, opportunities for advancement
Cons
lots of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy but long hours
Warehouse associate (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 8, 2017
my area atleast we still working 12 hours a day
no weekends atleast unless its pre scheduled
management is slowly getting better
pay is alright when you start to level up
(level up depends on management if they like you or not)
good benefits
receives stocks every 7-9 months
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can I say other than Tesla is an awesome company to work for.
Lead R&D Machinist/Programmer (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 8, 2017
Great atmosphere, great environment. Love working for this company. They take great care of you and offer the best of evérything! Have not 1 complaint so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Newark, CAAugust 7, 2017
I likd it allot , very fast paced environment good team work there , very good pay if you work hard so many opportunity's. Alot of different culture and new technology
Pros
Good people
Cons
Short lunchs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working At Tesla
Senior Field Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAAugust 7, 2017
Positive: New and innovative, Great new products, top in the renewable energy indu

Negative: Work live balance, Comparable commission to competitors.
Pros
New and innovative, great products
Cons
work live balance, comparable commission to competitors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and easy going enviroment
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 6, 2017
A typical day would start of with a meeting in the break room and seeing what bays we would be placed in for the day and do safety checks on the equipment and surrounding areas. The most important thing they teach you is safety you only get a few mistakes or they will pull you off the line or by your working in. Managing the work week would inquire 6 days of 12 hour work it was hard at first but easy as time went on, there wasn't any major hard things on the job other than being aware of your surroundings and not making any mistakes other than that they had the best food and employees you can ask for, everyone is super respectful and really was a nice job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging work environment
PRODUCTION QUALITY INSPECTOR 111 (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 5, 2017
Everyday most likely different. I'm working in production as quality control so sometime I can see things that is not in my checklist. Working at my previous company help me grow as a person and intellectually we had monthly training and reviews on our job description. For me its not hard but challenging we have to talk to Production Eng. regarding our concern and help or talk to production people their lapses in quality. I enjoy working with my previous job in because I like to be with people and challenge myself that I can also do what production line is doing and exchange ideas and opinions.
Pros
free lunch or sweets
Cons
no bad experience at my previous job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 4, 2017
One of the best places to work. Have a great chance to move up in company so long as you work very hard. There are alot of great people who will help you achieve your goal at tesla as well.
Pros
Free breakfeast and soda
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back at Tesla
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 2, 2017
Company made me resign as I was out for 4 days due to illness (under doctors orders and I had a medical note). What type of company treats employees with suck disregard? I worked there for 2 months and was promoted 2 twice, until my illness, then your gone. Worked 6 days a week, with 1 day off.
Pros
snacks
Cons
No employee consideration
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental, Forward thinking
Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 2, 2017
Company wants to make a positive impact on the environment. The product is beautiful. The work is fast paced and physically demanding with long hours. The starting pay is fair but the structure of leveling up, raises and promotions needs to be better implemented. The management teams need to be more in touch with their groups/associates. The majority of the associates work well together.
Pros
Decent Benefit package
Cons
Long hours, physically demanding, weak policy structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesla Motors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 524 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.5