Find companies:
Tesoro
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Tesoro Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging place to work
Process Operator (Current Employee), Kapolei, HawaiiSeptember 3, 2014
The refinery job is full of challenges and daily routines are a must to stay efficient at this job. Safety and safety culture is essential to the survival and proficiency of the workplace

Management is normally easily accessed however communication could always be improved

Co-workers are great and have built a camaraderie amongst each other as we – more... all deal with the similar stresses and day to day situations

The most rewarding part of the job is the ability to work together as a team to troubleshoot problems and always come up with solutions that are always safe and environmentally sound. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Customer Service (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKJune 6, 2014
I enjoyed working for Tesoro. The employess were very nice and easy going
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounts payable
Accounts Payable Exception Operator (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 6, 2014
accounts payable. office work. I want to work somewhere where I move around and am not sitting around all day. Thanks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Associate (Former Employee), Ukiah, CAApril 29, 2014
Pros: retirement packages
Cons: union fees
My manager was very knowledgable and proffesional. My job was extremely difficult sometimes because there were times when the store was so busy that one cashier was not sufficient. Often my manager would take over the second register in order to elleviate some of the long wait times for customers. I know from experience that this is not common practice – more... and therefore I appreciated his help very much because it took a lot of pressure off of me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangement has military attitude . Looks down on truckers in oil field climate .
Class A Driver Tanker (Former Employee), Dickinson, NDApril 26, 2014
Taxes you on company paid housing ,30,000.00 annually .
Do not finish your day early, you will be in trouble for that .
Spy's on you via DRIVE CAM . Loves to take your safety pay !
Will get you in the door and change your living arrangements
with very little notice , even if you have move your whole family living with you and have you use your vacation – more... days to move where they want to put you . No time to go home if you live outside North Dakota. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thius was a good place to work.
Sadfety Supervisor (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: nice area
Cons: it gets cold there
The people I worked with were great. The company was good and they had a great safety culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
c.s.a (Former Employee), Spokane, WADecember 6, 2013
fast paced people were in and out of gas station and something new everyday count cigarettes stock cooler co workers were awesome manager was great the theft was hard the people were the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great learning experience.
Controller (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: travel
Experienced many different jobs with this company. I traveled to different warehouses and was in charge of inventorying all company products.
Was in charge of overseeing all accounting departments.
The working environment was pleasant and comfortable.
I met many interesting and learned people.
The hardest part of the job was traveling. I didn't like – more... being away from my family.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and working with so many different people.
My co-workers were like family. We were together five days a week and we enjoyed working together to better the company..
I participated in several educational training programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable and meaningful work experience.
Cashier/CSA (Former Employee), Kailua-Kona, HIAugust 10, 2013
I enjoyed working at Tesoro. It was a fun and great place to work. Management listened to employees opinion and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the customers
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Magna, UTJuly 13, 2013
I learned a lot about people in general and a lot about myself. I was able to maintain family life and enjoy time off when needed. Management was very involved from top to bottom of the chain and knew me by my first name. They had great training programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy all craft hobbies.
Cashier/Clerk (Former Employee), Ephraim,Utah and South Jordan, UtahJuly 9, 2013
I have worked for Tesoro/ Maristar for 5 yrs and enjoyed working for the company. I met a lot of people over the 5 yrs I was with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Rafractory Inspector (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTMay 17, 2013
Inspection of refractory, Work close with the contractor to insure that the refractory is being install to specifications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Customer Service, Cash (Current Employee), Saint George, UTMarch 27, 2013
Pros: very positive atmosphere
Cons: working in to small of an area
I love my job & working with the public on a daily basis.
Very good management & employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with focused strategy
Consultant (Former Employee), San Antonio TXMarch 3, 2013
Pros: clear focus & direction
Cons: employee knowledge & skills spotty
Good company with focused strategy on refining. Large competitor across town keeps them off the radar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the customers.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: when it was tesoro it was great....
Cons: when it became ars fresno llc it was terrible.
For the first years at Tesoro before they sold company to ARS. I loved working there. It was a family orientated company with great benefits for all employees not just management, and raises depending on evaluation. Then Tesoro sold all stores to ARS Fresno LLC. Not a very good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job and a great co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJune 29, 2012
Pros: having medical so i had dual medical and we also had bonus every 3 months.
Cons: i moved and had to quit.
This was my part-time job it was a job also you needed to catch on fast .I enjoyed helping my customers and how time went by you learn their names as well as they call you eaither by your name or aunty .Working with my co-workers was good we all got along and made our shift happy and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the company.
Facility Consultant/Contractor (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 19, 2012
The agency is friendly and represented me very well.
I would recommended this agency to anyone looking for a career.

About Tesoro

Once a player in the exploration and production field, Tesoro Corporation (formerly Tesoro Petroleum) has been enjoying a more – Read more