Tesoro Employee Reviews

Found 129 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environement
Accounting Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 20, 2016
Tesoro is a great company to work for if you are looking for work/life balance. Incredible benefits, gym, cafeteria and a great CEO who cares about the employees. The Tesoro campus is beautiful that includes a park for anyone looking for exercise etc.
Pros
Breaks, gym, cafeteria, park
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, growth oriented and employee focused
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 8, 2016
Great place to work. Great place to share your skills and get recognized. Corporate environment, but things get done very timely and efficiently. Encouraged to succeed.
Pros
Great benefits, fitness center, cafeteria, onsite clinic
Cons
Distance to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
SAP Development Lead (Current Employee) –  RemoteFebruary 13, 2017
It was a part-time consulting job, mostly remote. Great co-workers and learned some new technologies and methods. Sr. management was a little crazy, but oh...well.
Pros
Remote and part-time
Cons
Got yelled at for accidentally wearing jeans on a Thursday - 4 times!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Soldotna AlaskaOctober 1, 2016
Good place to work if needing a temporary jobs, Pay is decent, but hardly any benefits. Great for summer time, but short hours in the fall and winter. Management is alright with some stores but is very lacking with others.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
No designated breaks, no perks, no sick or vacation time unless management position is held
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for anyone looking for office work at a oil refinery.
Document Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 8, 2016
Job provides great job security. I would recommend this company to most people. The gas smells can be strong at times. The compensation is pretty good. No college degrees required for some positions.
Pros
Every other Friday off.
Cons
Smell of gases on occasion.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treated us like humans
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 4, 2016
With Tesoro they gave us paid holidays, periodic raises,vacation, sick days after the first 3 days. If you needed help they would help you. The payroll dept. was great too. I was very disappointed when they sold the inside sales to a smaller "family" company.
Pros
vacation pay, holiday pay, upper management acted like they cared.
Cons
they only wanted to deal with the gas part.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience, okay management but didn't fight for the employees, and the safety started becoming like Haliburton B.S.
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  WyomingOctober 1, 2016
Great learning experience, okay management but didn't fight for the employees, and the safety started becoming like Halliburton B.S.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Highlands, CADecember 6, 2016
Tesoro is a great place to work. Employees were great to work with. And also management was great. Company was sold so I no longer work for company.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Half hour breaks medical paid vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
lead inspector (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 10, 2017
under standing the job location and working with all was very good. safety was first. people very helpful and friendly . hrs was great /ot was good enjoy this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 20, 2016
I enjoy working for a company that has a future for you. I am a team player and enjoy working with employees that are team players.The company I was working for had a future for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Yard Foreman (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXSeptember 22, 2016
This was the job I left for Halliburton. It was a mistake on my part to leave Tesoro. The other employees were great to work with and the management was very fair.
Pros
Great work & Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesoro
Recruiting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 5, 2016
Great Company to work for management is very good. Good company to grow with. Lots of opportunity to work in different areas and grow,I recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the different areas of my job.
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 4, 2016
Tesoro has been a good place to work, its has many good benefits and good individuals to job with. The problem I have found is the lack of communication between departments. I has made my job hard to complete many projects.
Pros
Good benefits.
Cons
Long work days during refinery shutdown. No communication on higher levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with very good employees
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, UTMay 4, 2016
Very long day's but goes by very fast.
Always something to work on.
Management is awesome to work with.
Wonderful co-workers.
At times the job can be very stressful but worth it at the end of the day.
I loved the Management and my co-workers.
Pros
Wonderful employees
Cons
Pay was very low for the type of work that needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Procurement Specialist / Requisition Technician
Procurement Specialist / Requisition Technician (Former Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAApril 14, 2016
• Responsibilities include reporting to Procurement Operations, having a critical role in supporting Field Operations groups and the Buyer group in the creation and management of Purchase Requisitions in the SAP system and procurement through SAP based buying channels
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company cared about employees well being.
Accounting Associate II (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 28, 2016
Learned how to balance high volume of work with less stress.
Learned how to communicate with people and work together as a team to accomplish task in a efficient manner.
Pros
Very employee oriented
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to perform all aspects of home renovations,
Residential Renovation Contractor (Current Employee) –  Patchogue, NYMay 26, 2016
Great company to bring the clients vision to reality. Excellent quality of work and leadership. Constant contact between clients and Owner minimizes issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Proactive and Team Player
Pressure Equiment Intergrity Engineer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 29, 2016
Challenging which paves way to making immense contribution to the team. Lots of opportunity for growth and a team oriented environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Ok
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Palmer, AKJanuary 27, 2016
Before Tesoro's retail was purchased By Anabi Oils from California Tesoro was a great place to work with chance for career advancement. Now unless you desperately need a job I would high recommend not working for the current Tesoro locations in Alaska. New management, New owners and no more benefits. I Learned a lot about customer service though along with freight check in. Coworkers for the most part where awesome.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
no breaks, no health benifits, no direct support from managment
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very fun place to work at
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJanuary 5, 2016
I learned the benefits of being organized, I worked under a lot of pressure due to periodic inspections and visits from upper level management but it was rewarding to get good scores and encouraging feed backs from my boss, in general I enjoyed working for this company because I became a more knowledgeable manager.
Pros
paid lunch time, 401 k, vacations
Cons
health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesoro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4