Texas Children's Hospital

Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 245 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization
Ambulatory Services Representative II (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXSeptember 6, 2016
Exemplary staff and leadership serving a meaningful purpose throughout the many communities of Houston and it's surrounding area's. It's a pleasure taking part in the healing of sick and injured children.
Pros
Comfortable work environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic institution associated with Baylor College of Medicine
Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Texas Medical Center-Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2016
Great institution to work for if you are an advanced practice provider but need more mechanisms for advancement. Great for new graduates!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
Great academic facility with ongoing education
Cons
Need more leadership and less management with more opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, bad management.
Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 2, 2016
I'm sure this is said about most jobs so it should not be news that some of the 'leaders' are terrible. The people in my department that have the same pay grade as me are awesome! I think the hardest part of this job is dealing with the different sets of attitudes each day. Most of the attitude comes from other employees surprisingly. The best part of the job is seeing all the smiling faces. Whether it is a baby or senior citizen, smiles make me so very happy.
Pros
Great benefits, nice friendly people
Cons
Bad leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for
Project Manager (Baylor College of Medicine (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 1, 2016
Great hospital to work for
Very supportive
Every employee is extremely dedicated to the care of patients
Great work/life balance
It is very rewarding to work for such hospital
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and make a difference!!
Patient Access Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 26, 2016
Texas Children's Hospital is a fantastic place to work. Really good benefits. Great pay and wonderful co-workers. Leaders are also very nice and personable. The positive energy among the employees and leaders is very contagious. Flexible work hours. Great place to work!
Pros
Free parking in designated areas, benefit, employee clinic on site, co workers, Great pay.
Cons
Traffic in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good people hours are everything good benefits
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2016
Very good company nice people really care about you I been there for a little minute everything is good there I was pregnant and had my baby they paid for everything and paid me while I was home
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Good breaks and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Team
Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2016
The clinical preceptor was very knowledgable in the field and able to teach students upcoming technology so that they are prepared.
Pros
Crash courses and CEU's available.
Cons
No designated area for RT's on the PICU floor.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Life Balance
Unit Clerical Assistant - CVICU (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 4, 2016
Texas Children's Hospital has a culture that is truly amazing when it comes to Work Life Balance. Texas Children's Hospital prides itself on taking care of their employees. My experience at Texas Children's Hospital taught me that if you have a happy employee, the results will consistently be positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Medical CenterAugust 2, 2016
Great place to work and I love to care for all patients here. I love my job. Great team and great hours if you work or going back to school
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best work environment
Member Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 25, 2016
I love working for Texas Children's, I can actually see myself growing with the organization. The employees are very friendly and easy to work with, the benefits are great. I can see myself growing with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about Texas Children's Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Antiquated
HR Consultant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 14, 2016
Everything about the back office of TCH is old school personnel, no laptops, no wi-fi, dated technology. You have to buy your own supplies, coffee, water etc. They have high turnover and low employee morale. Too much middle management, you have Leads, Supervisors, Managers, Asst Dir, Dir, AVP, SVP etc. too much.
Pros
They pay very well
Cons
Techology, Culture of Micromanagment, No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Place to work
Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 7, 2016
My present work place has great opportunities and its a very fast paced place to work and you learn many different areas once you get trained for the position supervisors are very oriented and will help out in any way feel I have learned a lot of different areas during my time here. I have become the CMA for MDA client and have a lot of Physicians who depend on my expertise and work accessibility.
Pros
Very Elective and rewarding place to work
Cons
Great incentivesand Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Program/Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 5, 2016
Texas Children's Hospital provides opportunities for creativity and professional growth. I had a good work experience.
Pros
Nice collaborative environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent RN opportunity
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2016
Day start at 6:45 am. TCH is a teaching hospital for Baylor College of Medicine. I learned how to take care of pediatric patients in the Emergency room and Critical Care Unit.Excellent management team. Co- Workers are warm and friendly. The hardest part of the job was losing a child. The best part of the job was taking care of a critical ill child; got well and went home with family.
Pros
Learning pediatrics.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved this job!
Patient Care Assistant/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 28, 2016
This job was by far the best job I worked at, because I would only work 3 12hour shifts and have 4 days off per my request. The pay was great and so were the staff!
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical science is always intriguing
Clinical Scientist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 6, 2016
Series of diagnostic routines performed by scientist and results are the tools which doctors use to diagnose patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working around patients and their family
Lieutenant - TCH Lead Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 3, 2016
For 13 years I worked for Texas Childrens Hospital and received numerous promotions including my last role as a Lieutenant - TCH Lead officer at the (NRI) Neurological Research Institute. During my career I served as a Lieutenant working in diverse buildings at Texas Childrens Medical Center. I patrolled the facilities;observed inside and outside of the hospital for potential hazards and provided safety for patients, visitors and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive and caring culture
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 26, 2016
The most enjoyable part about working for TCH is providing the best hospital experience for our patients and family's. My leadership team lead tirelessly to provide the best service for our patient and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and enjoyable place to work
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 25, 2016
Working at Baylor made the patient's know that we really cared about there well being. Assisting patient's to exam rooms, getting there vital signs, collecting lab specimen's if needed. Assisting the physician with any exams or procedures for the patient's. I learned that patient's need to know that someone care and wants to help them. Not just make them a number. We had good managers along the way that wanted the same for the patients. Co-workers developed the same understanding of how a patient should be treated and valued. The hardest part of my job was when my patient's were grieving of a loss. Such as a pregnancy. The most enjoyable part of my job was making my patient's happy and they were very happy to see me as I was to see them.
Pros
Knowing that we all worked as a family
Cons
Not being able to help the patient's achieve pregnancy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciteing place to work and learn
Staff nurse in Level II nursery (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 13, 2016
Good co-workers , team players. reat learning environment. Participated in research studies, gathering information for analysis. I enjoyed preceipting new hires.Great place to begin a career.
Pros
Learning possibilities
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 245 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

Texas Children's Hospital Reviews by Location