Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 189 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past woking enviroment
Phlebotomist/Patient Care Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2015
This is a wonderful place to be employed at. I enjoyed working with all different kind of patient,people and learning while on the job. it helps you to understand and really be thankful for everything that you have and making sure you keep your body and health in shape.
Pros
discounts
Cons
when your under staffed work load becomes more and stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Clerical Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Katy texasJune 19, 2015
Cool place nothing to complain about. everyone is friendly trying to get a recommendation in life's careers. very nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work there but some things could be changed to make it a much better place to work
DSA/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 16, 2013
A good place to work.
Benefits are excellent
Management staff is ok
Advancement is hard to come by
Overall Rating is Standard
Pros
great benefits
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a seasaw up and down each day is different
Nutrition Service Rrepresentative11 (Former Employee) –  Houston TexasJune 11, 2015
Take each day as it come do the best I can and tell your employees they did a good job. I ensure all positions are covered daily. I handle all issues as soon as I can my superiors have confident in me to get the jobs done.Having all the food and equipment is working that is very important. When I visit patients and they tell you my food is good that's what it's all about .you made them happy. .
Pros
Telling the employees at meetingyou did a great job.
Cons
Listen to all ideas from employees and jump to conclusions too fast
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace but well managed
Assist pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2015
I worked in the emergency room and my pharmacist were really professional and accurate, fun and reliable, its hard to find people like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assited physican with appointments, medical records, billing inquiries. The multi-tasking was exciting.
Medical Records Clerk/floater (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 20, 2015
I would answer calls, route calls, and inquiries. Answered billing questions for patients and ins. companies. Set up medical charts for physicians daily appointments. Scheduled appointments and entered patient demographics into system. Worked front office and assisted doctor with back office when needed. I learned that you can use your existing skills and obtain more by being willing and eager to learn new skills. I worked very well with the doctor and nursing staff. The hardest part of my job was when a patient had an appointment that had been scheduled a month in advance and the doctor was unable to be at the office that day. I would do my best to get the patient the earliest and most convenient following appointment. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the Children.
Pros
Floating allowed me to gain additional skills.
Cons
Having to reschedule appointments that were set up for a month in advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Project Manager and Application Architect (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 26, 2014
This is a great workplace with a great mission. Benefits and advancement is exceptional
Pros
working for kids
Cons
resource management
Was this review helpful?Yes25No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Security Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2015
Great place to work and the employees are easy to work with and collaborate to meet the mission and needs of the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Ranking Facility in the country
Call Center Triage Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston,TexasSeptember 14, 2015
Proud to say I work at Texas Children's Hospital. Family centered focus of care through out the hospital as well as clinical care areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  houston,txJanuary 7, 2013
great ppl
admissions
great patients
benefits ok
work with doctors
worked with insurance companys
Pros
good hours
Cons
mico management, no rome for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a TA here was great
Teacher's assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 15, 2015
You don't do a TA job just for the money; you are interacting with your peers and this is a great way to have a stepping stone to the professional world.
Pros
Great group of people, reasonable workload
Cons
none that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely loved the children here
Junior Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 22, 2015
It was such a warm environment to be apart of and seeing the smiles on the children's faces made it even much worth it. I would love to work for this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
preceptor
Preceptorship (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 11, 2015
worked with many physicians to deliver care to patients.

typical workday was from 7 till 5 pm

dealing with parents was the hardest time.

assisting in procedures was the most enjoyable part of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!!
Patient Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2015
A great place to work!! I had an opportunity to work with some really great people. We worked hard but I enjoyed every moment. If I hadn't moved so far away, I'd still be working there today.
Pros
Your co-works and "the kids" you get to work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Setting
EPIC Implementation Specialist (Red Shirt) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2015
Requires a lot of people to people interaction with hospital staff. Will improve customer service skills by interaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Presnt Clnical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2014
A lot of opportunities for advancement.
Patient staff ratio is one of the best I have encountered.
World class
Pros
salary, benefits
Cons
long commute is you don't live in immediate areas
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at!
Information Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2015
Great place to work at. The IS team is a wonderful team, and they do anything necessary to complete all of the projects assigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I give this employer 4/5 stars
Member Servives Rep (Current Employee) –  Houston TXMay 7, 2014
Pros:I work for Texas Children's Health Plan not actually hospital. the work/life balance is great and you get your own parking garage and it's FREE! Employees are nice, friendly, and awesome.

Cons: be careful with new management!
Was this review helpful?Yes50No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seeking life balance at a global hospital
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston TexasMarch 16, 2015
Work hard for the kids every day is what we do. This place knows people want to be there and so people are worked to the bone. We do it for the kids but our families and health suffer.
Pros
free lunches, talented people
Cons
shuttle, parking
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Surgery Clerical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2015
i love working at texas childrens hospital.
it a pleasure working around people who has such important roles here at the hospital. i learn something new everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 189 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture