Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 279 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Rewarding Experience
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2016
If you enjoy showing up to work to make a difference in the life of someone else, then this company if for you. At the end of the day, all employees are cogs in the life-giving business that is Texas Children's Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
Pharmacy Tech (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 17, 2016
Too many bias managers in the pharmacy department, the people are ghetto, unprofessional, messy and pick on people that stay to their self. Nothing is confidential . Great place to work just not the pharmacy department unless you're loud and disrespectful. These are the kind of people they acknowledge.
Pros
Easy work, repetition
Cons
People, people, the people
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital, poor management
Nutrition Services Representative I (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 3, 2016
A load of paperwork, not up-to-date policies, stressful environment and incompetent managers. I learned how to deal with different personalities and develop thick skin because of the bad attitudes of coworkers and situations at work. Hardest part of job is being blamed for something you didn't do but need to take it because of the leadership role I have. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing I noticed a lot of old processes and was able to help the department to be aware, implement and update some accuracy and safety measures.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor leadership, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 20, 2016
TCH is a wonderful place to work at.. Ive been hear for almost 5 years. Ive seen people come and go and move on to bigger thing within the company TCH will pay for you to go back to school if desire.
Pros
great benfits
Cons
in the medical center
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 7, 2016
Excellent salaries, great managers, work independently, love my hours and Monday - Friday. No on call rotation required. Easy to verify demographic information
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy fast pace office
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 3, 2016
I absolutely love my job and the team I work with. We have a very busy fast pace office. I love the family oriented environment they offer to us as employees. I just think the office is at times mismanaged and not time efficient. We work long hours and the work load is not spread evenly.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment but great nurses
Student Nurse / Clinical Rotations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2016
Great nurses to work with during my clinical rotation. The employees uphold their mission statement and ensures patient safety to all visitors and patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work helping sick kids get better!
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2016
Growing organization in which one can learn so many technologies and skills. I had the opportunity to help build the Project Management function in a centralized manner from the grounds up for the IT department.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Hospital for Kids
Revenue Capture/Controlled Substance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Texas Children's Hospital created a very kid friendly environment. Its a wonderful place to work. Looking Forward to work there again using my advanced degrees.
Pros
Excellent Job envoronment
Cons
pharmacy was top heavy in management, allowing little growth
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad...
Nutrition Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Texas City, TXSeptember 21, 2016
Pretty good job. Everyone here is pretty nice, I just wish they gave better raises. 50 cents a year isn't very good. I also wish they promoted easier if you do a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked love the people and the environment
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2016
This is by far the best place i've worked for. The people that worked there are just the best people in the world. I can't wait to come back!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2016
i enjoyed helping people in the hospital but the people were ok the job was ok maybe i just had a bed time when i worked there
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  houston texasSeptember 8, 2016
Excellent Place to work and to continue your career as a MA, Typical day of work perform vital signs input patient information unto EPIC, I learned how to train on different audiology equipment such as OAE and ABear learned POCT techniques
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful hospital for children. Opportunity to grow.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 8, 2016
I have received experience and training in caring for pediatric patients. Most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the children progress in their therapies and go home with family. I have some very supportive managers and supervisors.
Pros
Many opportunities to further education.
Cons
Parking can be an issue in medical center.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization
Ambulatory Services Representative II (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXSeptember 6, 2016
Exemplary staff and leadership serving a meaningful purpose throughout the many communities of Houston and it's surrounding area's. It's a pleasure taking part in the healing of sick and injured children.
Pros
Comfortable work environment
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great academic institution associated with Baylor College of Medicine
Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Texas Medical Center-Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2016
Great institution to work for if you are an advanced practice provider but need more mechanisms for advancement. Great for new graduates!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
Great academic facility with ongoing education
Cons
Need more leadership and less management with more opportunities for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, bad management.
Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 2, 2016
I'm sure this is said about most jobs so it should not be news that some of the 'leaders' are terrible. The people in my department that have the same pay grade as me are awesome! I think the hardest part of this job is dealing with the different sets of attitudes each day. Most of the attitude comes from other employees surprisingly. The best part of the job is seeing all the smiling faces. Whether it is a baby or senior citizen, smiles make me so very happy.
Pros
Great benefits, nice friendly people
Cons
Bad leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital to work for
Project Manager (Baylor College of Medicine (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 1, 2016
Great hospital to work for
Very supportive
Every employee is extremely dedicated to the care of patients
Great work/life balance
It is very rewarding to work for such hospital
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and make a difference!!
Patient Access Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 26, 2016
Texas Children's Hospital is a fantastic place to work. Really good benefits. Great pay and wonderful co-workers. Leaders are also very nice and personable. The positive energy among the employees and leaders is very contagious. Flexible work hours. Great place to work!
Pros
Free parking in designated areas, benefit, employee clinic on site, co workers, Great pay.
Cons
Traffic in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good people hours are everything good benefits
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2016
Very good company nice people really care about you I been there for a little minute everything is good there I was pregnant and had my baby they paid for everything and paid me while I was home
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Good breaks and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 279 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

95%
102 ratings
Add your rating

Texas Children's Hospital Reviews by Location