Texas Children's Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 233 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work here again.
Department Secretary, Business Svcs - Pt. Accts (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2015
Great place to work with along with my colleagues. Very family oriented. Management was very supportive in helping me keep our department well organized and structured. I enjoyed my work day as it was always different tasks to various projects.
Pros
They celebrated their employees throughout the year
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace but well managed
Assist pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2015
I worked in the emergency room and my pharmacist were really professional and accurate, fun and reliable, its hard to find people like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Security Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 16, 2015
Great place to work and the employees are easy to work with and collaborate to meet the mission and needs of the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Ranking Facility in the country
Call Center Triage Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston,TexasSeptember 14, 2015
Proud to say I work at Texas Children's Hospital. Family centered focus of care through out the hospital as well as clinical care areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not a place to grow
Sales (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 26, 2015
As an employee and full time student, work balance and lifestyle was needed. I joined Texas Childrens with the intention to grow but it did not work out that way. This organization tends to recycle employees regardless of you being more qualified than that person.
Pros
Benefits, Activities, Work Balance, Excellence in Care, Vision
Cons
Growth
Was this review helpful?Yes21No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a TA here was great
Teacher's assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 15, 2015
You don't do a TA job just for the money; you are interacting with your peers and this is a great way to have a stepping stone to the professional world.
Pros
Great group of people, reasonable workload
Cons
none that I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Filling Prescription
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2015
I enjoy working for Texas Children's Hospital but since graduating it is time for me to move on and find a job in my career choice.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Setting
EPIC Implementation Specialist (Red Shirt) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2015
Requires a lot of people to people interaction with hospital staff. Will improve customer service skills by interaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
preceptor
Preceptorship (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 11, 2015
worked with many physicians to deliver care to patients.

typical workday was from 7 till 5 pm

dealing with parents was the hardest time.

assisting in procedures was the most enjoyable part of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting enviroment
Administrative Assistant/Patient Advocate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 3, 2015
The staff here can be extremely competitive when it is completely unnecessary. I absolutely loved being with the families and children in the hospital and assisting in making their stay that much better if possible
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past woking enviroment
Phlebotomist/Patient Care Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2015
This is a wonderful place to be employed at. I enjoyed working with all different kind of patient,people and learning while on the job. it helps you to understand and really be thankful for everything that you have and making sure you keep your body and health in shape.
Pros
discounts
Cons
when your under staffed work load becomes more and stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work at!
Information Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2015
Great place to work at. The IS team is a wonderful team, and they do anything necessary to complete all of the projects assigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!!
Patient Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2015
A great place to work!! I had an opportunity to work with some really great people. We worked hard but I enjoyed every moment. If I hadn't moved so far away, I'd still be working there today.
Pros
Your co-works and "the kids" you get to work with
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TCH Pavilion
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 24, 2015
I love working in the pavilion it is always busy. the people that work in the building are friendly and you can learn a lot. Only problem that I have is management isn't so great.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely loved the children here
Junior Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 22, 2015
It was such a warm environment to be apart of and seeing the smiles on the children's faces made it even much worth it. I would love to work for this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Surgery Clerical Secretary (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2015
i love working at texas childrens hospital.
it a pleasure working around people who has such important roles here at the hospital. i learn something new everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital to work for
Staff Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2015
Texas Children's hospital is a great place to work. The hospital is cutting edge and dedicated to staying on top. The pharmacy is full of options for where to take your career or what to learn next.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TexasJuly 6, 2015
Typical day at Texas Children's is making all medications for the hospital and delivering them to the specific areas in a timely manner. I have learned how to be a productive and team player here. Management team is great and so are my co-workers. The hardest part of this job is the turn-over, which means Overtime but it's a lot. The most enjoyable part of this job and all the people and children you get to meet and see while working here.
Pros
Fun-filled job
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Patient Escort (Former Employee) –  Houston, texasJune 30, 2015
This was one of the best jobs I ever had to work. They have excellent benefits, room for advancements, educational benefits amazing pension plans. A friendly environment and great hospitality. Their response time is incredible.
Pros
EOE, Education
Cons
I left
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love woking for TEXASCHILDRENHOSPITAL
patient processing tech. 3 (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 22, 2015
TEXAS CHILDREN HOSPITAL is the best place to work.The work day is mostly busy,i love to be busy,don't like sitting around.What i have learned there patients are a very important,customer service.Respect for management,respect for your fellow coworker,and they are treated with customer service as well.Some times we all our days,but you come in and do what you were hired to do,pray and keep going.I love children,and i love phlebotomy,knowing i am here to help,and serve,and maybe put a smile on someone face.
Pros
what ever the rules, we all have to think of the next person
Cons
if we are short of coworker, short break, so be it.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Children's Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 233 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.8
Culture
4.3

Texas Children's Hospital Reviews by Location