Texas Department of Criminal Justice Employee Reviews

Found 1,376 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't go to prison to work, or to be a prisoner!
Maintenance Worker, HVAC, Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXSeptember 22, 2017
I labored for the State of Texas for twenty years. It wasn't all terrible as long as the right supervisors were around when a level head was needed. Otherwise? Eh...
Pros
Free food
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
why I do not recomend tdcj to women
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Kenedy, TXSeptember 20, 2017
as i woman working in this career it is not good the men treat you as an inferior and unless you do things against your will you will not advance the place is ran by all men
Pros
insurance
Cons
hiarchy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to work
Sergeant of Corrections (Former Employee) –  Angleton, TXSeptember 20, 2017
My first six years were good. Management started changing and morale went down. Management cared more about gossip and flirting than they did about the well being of their staff.
Pros
It was easy.
Cons
No breaks alot of gossip
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None but encouraged to exercise
Senior District Parole Officer (Former Employee) –  It was then @ 10 Hamilton St. Hou. TX. 77004September 20, 2017
Parole job is about protection of the public . Assistance to parolees to integrate into society and to become useful citizens. We supervise parolees to ensure they comply with their conditions of release.
Pros
None
Cons
One hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a different experience
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Nederland, TXSeptember 20, 2017
Its a great paying job.. its also a very dangerous environment. This job is not for everybody.. you must have a strong stomach. You can advance quickly
Pros
Free food
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison Environment
Food Service Manager II (Current Employee) –  Bonham, TXSeptember 20, 2017
This is a prison environment, staff is short, expectations are high. Upper management wants caviar and a bologna budget. Low pay, benefits are good, time off is good. You are just unable to take time off.
Pros
Benefits, State Retirement
Cons
Work environment, pay, lack of staffing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense
Human Resource Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXSeptember 20, 2017
I loved my job and what I did but the politics were intense. The unit I worked for had many problems that the department was trying to take care of. My reason for leaving was not job related though.
Pros
Great benefits!!
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Dalhart, TXSeptember 19, 2017
It's a tough environment mentally, but with training and learning a routine makes a huge difference. Teamwork is huge to get daily tasks done especially in a building where it's 2 floor bosses dealing with 260 inmates.
Pros
Let time build up and take multiple vacations.
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a tough job and you have to be vigilant at all times.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Hondo, TXSeptember 19, 2017
You are either going to work 6 days 3 days off or 4/ 12 hour days and 4 off days. The job is stressful you have to be aware of your surroundings at all times. The benefits are great and the pay in my opinion should be more, the line of work is extremely dangerous.
Pros
Benefits and job security
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job because of inmate population
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXSeptember 18, 2017
This job was better in the sense that it was fast paced but dangerous all at the same time because you work in a correctional facility. Although you felt comforted at the fact that your co-workers were there looking out for you.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXSeptember 18, 2017
good job and great benefits defiantly could have been paid a little more, there were days when you ran very short staffed, to the bare minimum times like that were rough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unfriendly and stressful enviornment
Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  Palestine, TXSeptember 18, 2017
I would not recommend to work for TDCJ because the amount that correctional officers are paid is way under what they should be especially having to put up with what they do as well as all the things that they have to do for the high ranks. TDCJ does not care about the correctional officers family or education, they will make statements that the officers are to choose their job or family many times. As far as TDCJ goes all they care about is having a warm body in place on the floor and nothing else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXSeptember 16, 2017
A steady, reliable job to have. Can be tedious and stressful at times.As long as you do what is required of you, it is an easy job t have. Management can be good or bad, depends on the supervisor. Overall good. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the inmates and sometimes the other officers.
Pros
free food paid time off
Cons
short breaks dealing with difficult people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Correctional Facility
Correctional Officer III/ Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TXSeptember 16, 2017
If you have the desire to work at a correctional facility, this would be a great place to start. You get paid fairly well and the experience is helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correctional Officer
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXSeptember 15, 2017
This job was easy and hard all at the same time. The stress of the offenders you had to deal with to the officers. It was a job that pulled on the heart at all times.
Pros
Time off
Cons
More guards to offenders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High place of security
Administrative Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Maintain a security of inmates and personal
Learned how to control emotions under pressure
Worked with great management
strict and secure workplace
hardest part of job maintaining personal of post
enjoyed helping people
Pros
Adminstrative Sergeant
Cons
Great Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to worj
Lawn Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXSeptember 15, 2017
Sometimes we don't choose to work at certain place we are only doing what we have to in order to survive. We may not like every job but at least we learn how to survive anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison and a lot of security which was good, inmates have a lot of respect for you, but also you give respect and get respect.
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Stockton, TXSeptember 14, 2017
Overall typical days were great. i had two inmates in the office with me and three in shop, that i supervised daily. I think the guards were a lot more difficult to work with then the inmates. A lot of cussing and fingure pointing by employees toward employees..
Pros
hours worked
Cons
walking to office in the winter, far in the back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Ramsey Training Academy - Training Sergeant (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 14, 2017
I learned how to training new officer while keeping felons secure. This is a good place for new officer to learn how to deal with criminal before becoming a police officer.
Pros
learning
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
nurse (Former Employee) –  Hondo, TXSeptember 14, 2017
High level of stress in a maximum security facility, Providing medical care for inmates, Worked in union with guards in a prison environment. 1300+ male inmates.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
Prison
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Department of Criminal Justice. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,378 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.2

Texas Department of Criminal Justice Reviews by Location