Find companies:
Texas Department Of Family And Protective Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

Texas Department Of Family And Protective Services United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
huge responsibility
CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES INVESTIGATOR II (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 15, 2015
During a typical day at work, you juggle many different responsibilities, like interviewing children and families, reaching out to community resources, and writing legal documents. It is a hard job but it is worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
CPS Investigator (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 1, 2015
The job required too much of your time and did not allow for proper work life balance. The agency did not pay enough for the amount of work they expected you to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun job.
Investigator II (Former Employee), Jasper, TexasMarch 15, 2015
Pros: help abused children.
Cons: people do not like cps workers.
This job is not for everyone it is a very stressful job and you can have people hating you because you have taken their children away from them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caseworker
Investigative Caseworker (Current Employee), Alvin, TexasMarch 9, 2015
Pros: flexibility
A typical day is unheard of. The job entails a variety of different aspects in which changes occur frequently.
While working here I have learned to work with many different personalities. The hardest part of teh job is meeting time constraints for documemtation. The enjoyable part of the job is the flexibilty and cool people you meet while working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly in change
Investigative Supervisor II (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 5, 2015
It taught me to be resourceful and think on my feet. Very chaotic work environment that taught me to deal with emergencies effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with families and children
Supervisor/Manager II (Former Employee), Dallas-Fort Worth, TXMarch 4, 2015
Pros: learned to work with multiple agencies
Cons: one cannot end their day until everything is completed.
Each person hired by the state is well aware of the time and commitment required for this job. It is a very rewarding field to be involved with. One learns how to be very organized, write extremely well, get along with departments, agencies and the public. One learns to be very detailed and also how to handle any emergency. This was an excellent opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: great staff
Cons: parking
Going to work was always fun. Many great personalities and smiling faces to assist whenever possible. Being able to be a part of many projects to assist with the consolidation in 2004 was a great experience for my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, stable employment
CPS Specialist IV (Former Employee), Houston, TexasFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: flexible schedule, able to work from home
Cons: rules changed often
The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services was a good and stable source of employment with great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want a family and to enjoy/invest in them, do not work CPS
Child Protective Services Investigator (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: lots of humor amongst co-workers, team lunches
Cons: no overtime pay, lack of family life, low pay to workload ratio
The agency as a whole is done well and provide valuable services. CPS is not the department to hold a good family life as well as put in the "expected" hours. Expect many work nights ending at 8PM or later.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult and stressful place to work.
CPS Investigator II (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 31, 2015
Pros: flexibility
Cons: unmanageable workloads, stressful
Most days, you spend trying to make your face to face contacts with your clients, documenting, and trying to stay in compliance with unrealistic work exceptions. The job is good for someone whom is single with no children. You will easily work 12-16 hours every single day. Case loads are extremely high and unmanageable. Management don't seem to care about you as a caseworker. They know what you are going through and they know the work is unmanageable but there is really nothing anyone can do because the state's policy sets caseworkers up for failure with the unrealistic expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was hard to do physically and mentally
Investigator (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXJanuary 23, 2015
It was hard to work the overnights and unexpected hours on-call when my children were young. I had some great co-workers. It is a very thankless job and a very noble commitment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with the legal environment and foster care system
Conservatorship Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 30, 2014
You have tools to assist you in entering your daily contacts such as a tablet, cell phone, etc. You will make decisions along with other CPS staff in order to determine the next steps in a foster care case. You work with many people and professionals to help you assess the case and needs of the families such as attorneys, parents, children, relatives, fictive kin, foster families, case manager, therapists, psychiatrists, teachers, etc. You are required to see each child in foster care on your case load every month. You are also required to follow up on the progress that the parents make each month on the court ordered services such as therapy, parenting, employment seeking, housing, domestic violence classes, substance abuse therapy, etc. The best part of the job is seeing how resilient the kids can be and making it work for them to have a permanent home that is safe and loving. The hardest part of the job is balancing the deadlines with court reports, court environment, safety risks, late hours, the emotional toll it can take, etc. Your coworkers become your second family since you see them often in the office and at court.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Child Protective Services Investigator (Current Employee), Lake Worth, TXDecember 14, 2014
Pros: working with a diverse group of people on a daily basis
Cons: unpredictable, no day is ever the same.
Overall a great organization to work for. An exceptional example of where being both a team player and individually motivated comes into play as being a key aspect of the job. Have to be willing to work hours outside the normal 8a-5p scope. Great benefits and many opportunities to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Human Services Technician (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 1, 2014
Cons: not enough pay
If you love helping others who are unable to help themselves, this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Child Protective Services Investigator II (Former Employee), Killeen, TXNovember 28, 2014
This job was a learning experience for me. It was long hours and a lot of work. I learned how to interview parents and children that were under investigation for complaints of child abuse. The hardest part of the job was having to see actual cases where the child was hurt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job Environment
Child Protective Services Investigator (Current Employee), Austin, TXNovember 11, 2014
Although I enjoyed the job itself, the work environment is stressful and demanding. I could not plan a life outside of work, and the expectations were unattainable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is inconsistent.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 2, 2014
Policy and procedures are open to interpretation; very inconsistent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Investigator (Former Employee), Copperas Cove, TXNovember 2, 2014
Pros: i liked everything about this job
Cons: i didn't have a permanent status & pay could be better.
I really liked this law enforcement job. I loved my supervisors, leads, co-workers (civilians & soldiers), location and work I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a CPS worker
Child Protective Services Investigator IV (Current Employee), Plano, TXOctober 31, 2014
I have been a CPS Investigator for nine years. My experience has been rewarding yet challenging. Relationships have been built with peers as well as professionals such as law enforcement officials, school staff and medical staff, etc. The knowledge that I have gained has been monumental. Working with a vast array of clients has been rewarding and interesting. The schedule has the potential to be flexible although some days require working until very late hours of the night. The hardest part of the job to me was placing children in foster care. The most enjoyable part is the help that can be offered to families to preserve the family. I enjoy talking with the children and clients and being able to make a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and good co-workers
Foster/Adopt Development (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 8, 2014
Helping child and families. Long hours and stressful environment. Good benefits and good co-workers.

1 2 3 4

Texas Department Of Family And Protective Services Salaries

Investigator
$37,000 per year
Accounts Payable Specialist III
$33,274 per year
Caseworker
$35,000 per year
Client Services Specialist
$38,000 per year
Investigator
$3,294 per month