Find companies:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Texas Department of Public Safety Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a lot of upward mobility
Purchaser II (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 9, 2014
Pros: lots of holidays and opportunities for additional pay
Cons: long hours, heavy workload and very micro-managed
The Texas Department of Public Safety is a great place to work if you enjoy Texas Government. The hours can be long and the workload can be heavy. However, there are a lot of opportunities for advancement and the experienced obtained is unmeasurable. The staff is very outgoing and management is extremely knowledgeable of task details. The hardest part – more... of the Job isw getting used to the long hours and heavy workload. However, once accustomed to the work environment, the job is extremely satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, given independence to do my job and contribute to the efficiency of my department
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Waco TexasMarch 6, 2014
Pros: bonuses, it was a state job that had great benefits and salary as well as paid holidays off.
Cons: getting close to troopers, sergeants, lieutenants and captains that would promote and move to another dps office
A typical day at work involved answering phones, filing paperwork, tracking the budget, tracking reports.

I learned a great deal about working in law enforcement.

Management changed a lot due to advancement of personnel.

Co-workers were efficient, hard working and cooperative.

The hardest part of the job was working on reports involving injuries – more... to drivers or troopers.

The most enjoyable part of the job was creating the databases to track reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Potential
Trainer (Former Employee), AustinFebruary 26, 2014
Management seems to promote people in the organization that they are "friends" with. All employee potential is not utilized. Rules and regulations are strictly enforced on 'workers', but different for supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady hours, good health insurance
Technical Operations Officer (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: reliable schedule, good benefits, company training
Cons: midnight shift could be rough
The schedule was posted in advance. There was a fair amount of time off for family. The pay was pretty good for someone without a college degree. I had some great coworkers. The 24 hour operations could be rough, but it was interesting work. My supervisors were firm, but fair. It was cool meeting the President of the US and the Governor of Texas. I – more... learned a tremendous amount of information and skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not go back
New Entrant Program Evaluator (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 8, 2014
Had truckers call and yell at you all the time about how its your fault that they didn't pass their inspection. Then the woman their were older than i was and most of the officers would talk to me and another co worker and these older woman would start rumors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flex schedule, roatation schedule
Customer Service Representative III (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: not having to wait long periods of time to renew drivers license
Cons: not being able to leave when scheduled having to serve every customer even after we have closed.
*Helping customers understand the required proper documents needed. Processing customers from other countries knowing and identifying legal documents such as passports, visas, etc.
*Learned Immigration and Homeland Security processes.
*Hardest part of the job denying a customer drivers license or identification card, failing a customer on their driving – more... test and seeing customers get arrested due to warrants.
*Most enjoyable being able to issue drivers license and identification cards to individuals so they can drive and apply for jobs and housing, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interact w/ a lot of new/interesting people
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 18, 2013
Have to be willing to accept change at any moment, and open to learn and face challenges each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
para military organization
State Trooper (Lieutenant) (Current Employee), Austin, TXNovember 8, 2013
Upper Management could be alot better. The job is fun and the co-workers are great. Very good training and schools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Civilian Compliance Investigator (Former Employee), Midland TXNovember 6, 2013
Pros: good benifits
Cons: bad management
Started in maintenance transferred to Commercial Motor Vehicle Division.
Learned about truck inspection and compliance. Learned about FMCS regulations.
Co-workers were uniforme troopers. Great guys
Hardest part of job was Lieutenan in charge.
Most enjoyable was workiing in the field with the troops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Texas State Trooper (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 5, 2013
Pros: secure job, benefits
Cons: hours, micro management
A typical day at work was never the same. There was always something different to look forward to. Some days were good and simple, other days were hectic and non-stop. I learned a lot about Teamwork and Supervising, both by observing and being actively involved. I was always willing to learn a new skill and to work on new assignments and/or projects. – more... I was a Team Player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
state job
Clerk IV (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 16, 2013
this is a state job. somewhat quiet office enviroment, mostly filling work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIGHLY STRESSFUL ENVIRONMENT,
DRIVER LICENSE TECH (Former Employee), CARROLLTON, TEXASSeptember 16, 2013
THIS IS A HIGHLY STRESSFUL ENVIRONMENT BECAUSE YOU MUST WORK WITH SO MANY DIFFERENT AGENCIES OF THE STATE AND THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.
ACQUIRED EXPERIENCE IN PATIENCE WITH CUSTOMERS, DATA ENTRY, LEARNING NEW THINGS DAILY,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wished i could have been was not meant to be..
Texas State Trooper Trainee (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 28, 2013
Pros: the badge says it all
Cons: wow is all i can say to the training
without bitter feelings I tried out with this great establishment. I nearly made it however was not able to pass the ground fighting portion and was let go. I learned a whole lot and loved it all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and rewarding work. Got to fly helicopters and airplanes!
Lieutenant in the Aircraft Division (Former Employee), San Antonio TexasAugust 28, 2013
Pros: getting to fly the latest greatest equipment
Cons: working nights, weekends, and holidays
My career with the Department of Public Safety has been very rewarding. Each day presented something different. The work day could sometimes be boring, with not much to do, and the next day was very busy and brought a lot of work hours. It was kind of like being a fireman, you waited for the phone to ring, and then spring into action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, room for advancement and exciting.
Lieutenant (Former Employee), Austin, TexasJuly 27, 2013
Good opportunities for advancement and competitive pay among other state agencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND A FUN PLACE TO WORK
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), FORT WORTHMay 30, 2013
Pros: enjoyed all state holidays off.
Cons: no personal/work life balance
A TYPICAL DAY WAS THE EXCITEMENT I FELT WHEN I COULD ASSIST A CUSTOMER WITH GETTING THEM THEIR DESIRED IDENTIFICATION CARD OR DRIVERS LICENSE.I LEARNED ALOT ABOUT IMMIGRATION STATUS AND WHAT THE IDENTIFYING CODES MEANT.MANAGEMENT WAS ENTHUSIASTIC ABOUT TRAINING US TO DO GOOD WORK.I LOVE WORKING WITH A GREAT TEAM OF PEOPLE WITH A COMMON GOAL.THE HARDEST – more... IS TELLING THOSE WHO WERE INELIGIBLE FOR THEIR DRIVERS' LICENSE.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB WAS GIVING A ROAD TEST TO A NEW APPLICANT AND IF THEY PASSED,THEY WERE OFTEN VERY HAPPY AND THAT MADE ME HAPPY. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great department
Police Communications Operator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 11, 2013
Pros: benefits, salary, co-workers
Cons: schedule
Not a 9-1-1 services takes the most of the stress out of the "dispatch" of the state. Radio traffic primarily is State Trooper traffic. Phones are a variety of information requests to locating separated motorist or assisting agents in investigations. Great values, many work relationships become friendships for life. This is the elite of police communications. – more... You will ALWAYS be treated with respect and appreciated for your job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Budget Analyst (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 12, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: salary
I have enjoyed working with my co-workers. The company provides good customer service to the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State employment
Compliance Auditor (Former Employee), Austin, TxMarch 5, 2013
State employment
Co-workers were wonderful
Federally funded position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Administrative Technician (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXFebruary 13, 2013
I learned how to work with the public and issue drivers license, texas id cards. I did various things while i worked at the DPS.