Find companies:
Texas Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Texas Department of Transportation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work though it seem a little comfused
Engineering Specialist (Current Employee), Pharr, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: stable. insurance. retirement.
Cons: seems like upper management is detached from the working class, instability in the direction of the company as a whole because the director position keeps changing, no overtime pay, evaluation process is based on number scores they are allowed to give instead of actual performance, pay is sub par.
The amount of changes going on are proof that the department has no idea as to what it wants to be or how to get there, but it is a good place to work because of the people. They truly care about their fellow coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job that promotes a positive work ethic
Traffic Systems Supervisor (Current Employee), Abilene, TXOctober 9, 2014
Oversee and manage the daily operations of nine employees performing traffic signal and pavement marking maintenance, and construction inspection. Establish work plans in support of thirteen counties for crews repairing, installing, and modifying traffic signals and pavement markings. Forecast and manage budgets to support the maintenance, emergency – more... response, and projects in traffic signal, pavement markings, and routine maintenance contracts. Interact with higher level managers, state agencies, municipalities, contractors, and vendors to provide and purchase services for the traveling public. Perform daily and monthly safety meetings to ensure that crews are prepared to work safely on the roadways. Purchase materials and services, prepare reports, and approve monthly pay estimates to support road crews. Interview, hire, mentor, and evaluate employees. Manage the serviceability of section vehicles, equipment, and tools. Enter and process employee data and approve labor hours, equipment usage, and material. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Texas Department of Transportation was a great place to work. I would work for them again.
Traffic Systems Technician II (Former Employee), Houston TxOctober 4, 2014
Texas Department of Transportation was a great place to work. I would work for them again. TxDot took the time to meet all of your needs and training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Benefits
Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Groom, TXOctober 3, 2014
A good job with great benefits. A knowledgeable company with safety for employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educationally enlightening
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Marshall, TXSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of filing papers and documenting timesheets, truck mileages, as well as other information. My assistance was not used by just one person but by multiple people in the office. By assisting more than one person, I learned how to prioritize my work to be able to finish all of it in a timely manner as well as an effective – more... manner. My co-workers were respectful and extremely helpful. If there was anything that I needed help with, they gladly provided it. My co-workers helpful and friendly demeanors made this job quite enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State agency struggling to find its way
Special Projects Coordinator (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: state service, common good, getting the job done
Cons: political, no career ladder plans
TxDOT's culture was one of family and helping each other achieve a common goal - safe and reliable transportation for the traveling public. Politics and too much change too quickly led to focus on outward facing issues leaving minimal time to address internal issues. If you are an engineer, TxDOT has career plans in place just for you. TxDOT is very – more... supportive of the engineering fields. TxDOT is not quite sure what to do with non-engineering employees. It is a state agency so compensation is not exactly on par with private industry. However, benefits tacked onto pay equal a fairly reputable compensation package.
Training is hard to come by and there has not been the right amount of building up to be prepared for retirees leaving.
The best part of the job is the people. No matter what, they will get the job done. They are firmly committed to the safety of the traveling public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great state agency with hard working employees that serve the public.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sherman, TexasAugust 21, 2014
Pros: sick leave, vacation; medical insurance; retirement plan.
Cons: weather; stress
I left my job to move to Missouri. I enjoyed my five years there working as the switchboard/receptionist and administrative assistant for engineering and maintenance. Good benefits...hard working co-workers. Employees worked in all conditions; helping state patrol with accidents; in cold, icy conditions or 100 degree days to improve transportation for – more... the public. Rewarding work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position was very routine and predictable.
Title Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: birthday lunches
Cons: micromanagement decreased employee moral and trust.
The hardest part of the job was the monotonous. Every day the work was exactly the same, which is not something I thrive on. My co-workers were very kind and giving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This State Agency is a fun place to work
Transportation Engineer (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 1, 2014
Pros: is a state agency with a nice benefit package
A typical day at work is nice. In the morning I start reading my e-mails and checking any pending issues from the day before. I usually take my coffee from home and stay in my office doing paper work. I talk to the inspectors about issues on the projects before they go to the field and if I need to go the field I will make time to meet them at the project – more... sites. My co-workers are very nice people and since we know each other from a long time there is a sense of family care. The hardest part of my job is when someone is involve in an accident during work. Is very dangerous to work in the construction field and safety is the Agency's priority. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many job opportunities. Great organization to start with.
Technician/Inspector III (Former Employee), Austin District LabJuly 24, 2014
Pros: medical, retirement, hours
Cons: raises, advancement
My hours were according to my schedule. I was on my way to learning more about construction testing and engineering. Managers were always busy, with more than one job title. My co-workers were very helpful in aligning me with specific duties and tasks. Getting support on advancement was difficult to attain. I enjoyed the benefits and opportunity involved – more... in working for a state agency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consistant and always new projects to work on
Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 18, 2014
Pros: quiet work environment, predicatble schedule, state holidays
Cons: change of executive level administration was frequent
Pleasant work environment. Nice cubicles and work stations. Predictable and flexible schedule. Consistent work volume. new project opportunities available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CTMS
TRANSPORTATION SPECIALIST III / DESIGNER (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 3, 2014
Pros: projects
Cons: pay
Arrive to work, check the board of projects, arrange my scedhule with meetings (if desired), review the engineering judgment and related skills and tasks for this project. Create time managment budget and begin my job for that particular project. Their is no hardest part of the job/project which occasionlly there maybe a field trip or three or four – more... to take place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too big to fail
Planner II, III, IV (Compliance Analyst) (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 30, 2014
Pros: unlimited opportunities to grow
Cons: not as stable as it once was since sunset review
Some fit in, some don't, but it's worth the ride.

Learned so very much and access to current technology is better than most government offices.

Very reasonable pace that sometimes requires more patience than speed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Engineer Aid Tech I (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXMay 30, 2014
Pros: learn a lot, fun place to work, working in and out doors
Cons: hot / cold during the winter months
road construction
hot, but good for you...LOL
exercise
not for lazy people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Contract Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 15, 2014
Pros: a very laid back company. you feel like part of a family.
Cons: few merit raises
Typical day at work:

Day starts at 7:45 am. Turn on computer & sign in.
Check electronic mail.
Receive invoices from outside sources.
Type billing statements for payment & submit for signature.
Scan documents into electronic filing system.
Work on other duties.
Create 11 X 17 plan sheets for new contract.
Write general notes, create spreadsheets, check – more... specifications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive hard working group of men, great personality and a good work environment
Summer Maintenance Tech II (Former Employee), Georgetown, TXMay 2, 2014
Pros: good benefits, positive work place
I worked monday through friday 8am-4:30pm and a typical day for me would be show up anywhere from 7:30am to 7:50am and we would prepare for the day, safety plan, what needed to be done, etc.. once particular tasks were identified each was carried out by a group of guys or some individual. Most days I helped repair signs, take complaints, talk to the – more... public when they came to the office to ask questions, or to complain. No matter the circumstance I always do my best to do about as close to what the customer wants. I loved my co-workers, they made they day go by, all had great sense of humor and were awesome to work with, anything you may need help with they were there to help. The toughest park of the work day would probably just be the heat, the heat does not bother me but I would say that is the thing i looked forward to the least. I was taught to have impeccable time management skills, working on the run all day you have to have your plan already thought out and be able to carry out the plans with little to no problem at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work there is always something different
Inspector (Former Employee), Waco, TXApril 24, 2014
I really enjoyed working there even though it was for only a short time. I found the job quite interesting and enjoyed learning new things. The only reason I left was I found a job that paid more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dallas Interviewer
Dallas Interviewer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 18, 2014
I worked for TXDot through ETC institute as a surveyor and I must say this was one of the best jobs I've had. The management was laid back and it seemed more as though we were more so a family than just workers with a boss. I really enjoyed my assignment with them and if given the opportunity I would gladly go back to work for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Construction Inspector Eng (Current Employee), Gainesville, TXMarch 10, 2014
good work
not to difficult
has security
good co-workers
good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Among Texas state agencies ...
Project Manager (Current Employee), Austin TXFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: better pay, fun industry.
Cons: unpredictable management, lots of change, education/training benefits are not equal for all
Among Texas state agencies, I'd say that TxDOT is the best (based on the six agencies I have worked with).

1 2 3 4