Find companies:
Texas Department of Transportation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

Texas Department of Transportation Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very positive and safe
Mobile Mechanic MVT-III (Former Employee), Waco TexasJune 19, 2015
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no overtime pay
This is the place that is worth not letting go. i left to get schooling. and i have not found another job as secure. My coworkers were amazing to work with and i owe them a great deal of respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Line Service Technician (Former Employee), austin,txJune 9, 2015
Pros: good work hours
Cons: got real dirty
you got really dirty, you leaned alot ,about current and voltage. different companys that build them .fun people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The opportunity to work with the government.
Office Manager & Lab Technician (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJune 4, 2015
Pros: Working as the Office Manager.
Cons: Some of the men thought they were better than women.
Doing the clerical for the Lab. Learned how to do reports for lab. Work closely to the employees. The co-workers for the most part were great. There were no hard parts of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping other people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to start with, easy to work with coworkers, great balance of work and social life, but not competitive pay with minimal chance to advance
Engineering Assistant III (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXMay 19, 2015
Pros: work/life balance, time off, coworkers
Cons: Career advancement, compensation
Great company to start with and gain experience. Will allow you to gain experience in design as well as construction, but with minimal chances at advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really laid back work environment
Office Technician (Current Employee), Odessa, TXMay 14, 2015
A day consist of answering phones and setting meetings for the Director. I also open and file all the mail. I am also the point of contact between the engineers and the consultants for each project to better provide safety for the people in Odessa. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing all the hard work we do to get the roads safe are not in vain. When i notice a traffic signal that has been added to an busy intersection, in my head I think. I was a part of that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, fun workplace
Construction Inspector Intern (Former Employee), Plainview, TXMay 14, 2015
Coworkers were friendly and were there to teach you and answer all questions. Project for interns are simple and you will get alot of hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sr. Oracle DBA (Current Employee), Austin, TXMay 7, 2015
Good place to learn
friendly management,
challenging job,
good perks,helping to co-workers,
The most enjoyble part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sr. Oracle DBA (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 27, 2015
Good place to learn
friendly management,
challenging job,
good perks,helping to co-workers,
The most enjoyble part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of work let to do
Engineering Tech IV (Former Employee), Yoakum, TXApril 9, 2015
When I worked for TxDOT over the summer, they didn't have much for me to do so I was constantly struggling to find something to keep me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great...
Business Survey Manager (Former Employee), Corpus Christi,TxApril 8, 2015
I had a pretty good time working with the people in my designated areas. I was treated well and given respect thoughout the entire time in my survey manager position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people and great environment
Engineering Office Assistant (Former Employee), Tyler, TXApril 3, 2015
Pros: great opportunities
Cons: government downsizing
Wonderful opportunities
daily experience for learning
management was always understanding and helpful when in learning curve.
Co-workers were al team players.
The state filing system in triplicate
all day work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evolving State Agency
GIS ANALYST (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 7, 2015
Pros: staff engagement, benefits
Cons: change is slow
TxDOT is a traditional state agency that is evolving to keep up with technology. There have been stumbles along the way, but at the core is a dedicated group of talented professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not pay well
Lead Contracts (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 7, 2015
Pros: job stability
Cons: horrible pay
It's the state. It is one of the last places to get a pension, but you don't get paid much. The state has excellent benefits, and my experience with the team was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth and opportinity
General Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Humble, TXFebruary 8, 2015
Maintain verbal and electronic communication with Field Managers and other TxDOT official on project status.

Review plans, site specification, and cost estimate for criteria and conformance with policy and regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure stable place to work.
INFO RESOURCE SUPPORT SPEC II (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXFebruary 7, 2015
TxDOT designs, builds, and maintains roads across the state of Texas but offers so much more than construction or road maintenance jobs. There is something for all professions and trades within TxDOT. It's benefits stack up well against any other organization of it's size and Txdot strives to maintain a great work life balance with a variety of programs from Employee assistance programs to health and wellness incentives. What I learned from this position is how efficient, resourceful and fun working for a state agency can be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Texas rocks
Administrative Assistant/photographer, print shop (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: training and benefits
Cons: a little slow to implement changes
I loved working here. Had and opportunity pop up and I left. I regret leaving. Plenty of room to grow. Easygoing atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Manager
Project Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2015
Project Manager
Scheduled project work activities according to plan timelines to ensure timely project completion, and managed Change Orders. Observed and inspects ongoing construction work, and learned specialized design and project development techniques. Performed advanced drafting and calculations in support of design activities, and prepared roadway design, traffic control, and building plans using Microstation V8. Responsible for construction inspections, prepared quantity summaries, and implemented project control systems and procedures for management of cost schedules and performances.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
IT Specialist (Former Employee), austin txJanuary 26, 2015
Great work atmosphere. Great leadership and innovative ways to implement new ideas for software upgrdaes. They are clean and professional and great to work for. I enyoyed interacting and there work orders are effecient and ethical. I learned alot my work and would like to work for thmm anytime. Any employer that treats employees great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative place to work.
Clerk/Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 21, 2015
Answer phones, transfer calls, assist department with anything they may need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), austin, txJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: benefits
secure job, great benefits, overall satisfied. Good salary, kept in the information loop. Good people to work with and enjoyed my employment there.

1 2 3 4 5

Texas Department of Transportation Salaries

Tech II
$2,805 per month
Technician
$2,728 per month
Tech III
$3,112 per month
Transportation
$7,446 per month
Crew Chief
$3,666 per month