Texas Department Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very poor place to work.
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Cuero, TXSeptember 7, 2017
Not a very lucrative place to work. The hours were long and the conditions were bad. the management was very poor. The compensation was low and the work environment was dangerous.
Pros
Very few.
Cons
The pay ws low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a dull moment
Family Protective Services Intake Specialist IV (Current Employee) –  TexasAugust 17, 2017
My co-workers are the best part of my job. They make it a fun to work. We are able to laugh and have good time. It makes the stressful work that we do much more bearable. Shifts vary, some are better than others. They are usually flexible with needed time off as long as you have leave to cover being away from work.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
micromanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk
CRIMINAL JUSTICE, COUNTROOM CLERK (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 30, 2017
I did not like the pay nor the working conditions. Coming from Corporate America is was hard to adjust to the culture. I had never worked on a place were the employees were so disrespectful to each other and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Nurse (Current Employee) –  TexasJuly 6, 2017
wants a lot and pays a little...lots of new/rotational requirements that are not consistent with best practice models of care delivery...only 4 years to go.
Pros
state job
Cons
state job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and unique experience
Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJune 27, 2017
It was an ok experience that had a lot of benefits as well as cons. The job is rewarding yet very stressful depending on the day and or interruptions that occur.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT FAMILY BASED UNIT (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXJune 21, 2017
Office provided lots of internal support. Case loads were large and demanding. Learned a lot about people and customer service. Supervisors were very supporting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXMay 17, 2017
Good opportunity for a younger person. There is plenty of room for advancement and training. Working in a max security prison is tough work, walking on concrete and steel stairs your entire shift. There are some less strenuous positions you can work into.
Pros
Good work hours
Cons
Watching two cell blocks solo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Health Service Admin Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 9, 2017
Functional company with many programs to assist with the people of
Texas.My department assisted with pregnant women and women with minor children. On a daily basis I would call clinics all over Texas to find out if they needed any assistance with the clients they would see on a daily basis for child immunization, baby care needs like pampers or formula.
Pros
helping others
Cons
office bullies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Criminal Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 25, 2017
Great place to work, made some great relationships.
Benefits and compensation are fantastic. Cafeteria could use some help. Too many requirements, not proper materials and support
Pros
Great atmosphere to work in
Cons
Too many requirements, not proper materials and support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been better
Transportation Intern (Former Employee) –  Rosenberg, TXApril 16, 2017
Didn't really learn a lot and never used the skills I learned in school. I was also underpaid, even for a state job. If I had spent more time with the person that hired me I would have had a more positive job outlook.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
city of houston-legal dept
Assistant City Attorney - Contracts Section (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 29, 2017
awesome place, great learning environment, nurturing. advancement and pay aren't that great, but work life balance is amazing and it is challenging. do something different every day!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmospher
Clerk II (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, TXFebruary 7, 2017
i really enjoy working with the supervisors that are hands on day to day this office is so close to each other that nobody comes to work not noticed and appreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security, good benefits, the "office politics" are not so great
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Pampa, TXJanuary 20, 2017
It's great job security, good benefits, the "office politics" are not so great. the benefits are good, but the hours are long and the environment is not for everyone.
Pros
job security
Cons
long hours, office politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
draining
Correctional Officer III (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 16, 2017
the inmates are not the worst part of the job its the officers.There is no team work at the unit i am at its very cutthroat and not in a get ahead of some one else kind of way in a i wanna sleep all night and let the inmates run the prison kinda way and i will throw anyone under the bus who catches me doing something wrong.
Pros
none
Cons
threat of getting stabbed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free meals,free laundry
Correctional Officer V (Former Employee) –  Rosharon, TXJanuary 6, 2017
over seeing a 140 inmates at one time,u learn alot of different things about gang members,and all races of different inmates.Very nice job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and new adventures
Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  Dilley, TXJanuary 3, 2017
not great money but definitely makes for some good stories. the rank isn't the best and the benefits suck but easy place to get your foot in the door and get started
Pros
free lunches
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent, temperamental, stress inducing, standing 11 hours a day
I Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXDecember 28, 2016
State penitentiaries are inherently a fun place to work at but it provided well for my family myself and had great benefits for both it is a high stress-inducing workplace with a high chance of violence towards your self and others but That being said hey brotherhood is created between your fellow officers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exemplary Learning Environment
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Brownsville, TexasDecember 26, 2016
This work experience provided a great transition and entry level job to a full time teacher position. The small group experience and working with students with special needs taught me how to individualize instruction and present content in multiple forms.
Pros
Time schedules are very flexible and content is individualized.
Cons
Amount of students and work hours vary according to the need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i leared a lot at this job
Customer Service officer (Former Employee) –  palestine texasSeptember 29, 2016
This job is a state job that have a lot of benefit and compesation ,i enjoyed working with the inmate,giving them Assignment to do and placing them in a various work shift,i also enjoy talking to their relatives on the phone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Agency
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 9, 2016
Great Agency- Doing wonderful things for the community!!!
Staff are all awesome in their jobs!!
You get a real sense of helping people and connecting with the community around you. Great agency overall!!
Pros
benefits, work ethic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.7
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

68%
16 ratings
Add your rating