Texas Military Department Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome opportunity if you ever wanted to experience the military
Team Manager / Senior Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 2, 2017
Texas Military Department provided the opportunity to be trained as a leader, manager, and team coach. The advancement in rank is based both on time in service and job performance. Beyond the military and leadership training, Texas Military Department also provides the opportunity for training in logistics, planning, human resources, and emergency services. Perhaps most importantly, Texas Military Department places the individual where individual likes and dislikes must be put aside to work as a team to accomplish the mission. This is an amazing opportunity.
Pros
Excellent opportunity for training an multiple professional fields
Cons
There is time away from home and family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused and driven to accomplish task. Integrity and structured.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Camp Mabry, TXMarch 29, 2017
Flexible work hours but mission/task comes first.
Opportunity to advance; military and State standards apply.
The organization does have its' share of politics, certainly the higher you climb in the organization, but overall it is a good place to work. The employees that work there are committed to the Uniformed Services (Air and Army National Guard) and the local community. The State Guard (volunteer organization), Civil Air Patrol (volunteer organization) are also part of the "military" department. The civilian (or State employee) branch works closely with military members to ensure policy, procedures, and other operational aspects are met.
Pros
Good work location; fitness facilities; healthcare
Cons
military and civilian supervisory lines are blurred; management of funds
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Petty Officer 2nd Class (Current Employee) –  Edinburg, TXMarch 9, 2017
Meaningful work for the great state of Texas. Work on Operation Border Star. The work is rewarding and the people are great I am glad to serve the Lone Star State
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an honor and a privilege to serve the people of Texas
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 28, 2016
It is an honor and a privilege to serve the people of Texas as a member of the Texas Military Department. "Seldom is heard a discouraging word." The people I work with are all dedicated, focussed, and caring. The National Guard, Air National Guard, and Texas State Guard personnel find great personal satisfaction in responding to the needs of the people of Texas in times of community-scale emergency. We provide shelter, food, and medical care. We also help to secure the border. That mission, in particular, is as much a matter of humanitarian search and rescue as it is support to law enforcement.
Pros
Honor. Duty. Texas.
Cons
We are only called to respond when other people are in distress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Accountant I (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 7, 2015
Fun place to work, great people, family oriented. Lots of information to learn, can be stressful, but wouldn't trade the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard worker
Maintenance Specialist V (Current Employee) –  austin txAugust 14, 2015
i started working for this company in march and by june i was the maintenance supervisor which i currently hold , i am in charge of 14 Armorys in the houston tx region
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor fund management
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 12, 2015
I resigned the job due to no upper progression within the organization.

I would not recommend this State Agency to anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
no career progression, low pay rate, not employee friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Security (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 3, 2014
Management not in touch with employees. Shortly after being hired on an agreed shift, I was forced to work nights. Management did a poor job in supporting the front line personnel. Pass-a-long information from shift to shift was also poor.
Pros
Good benefits as with any State of Texas job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Military Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Texas Military Department Reviews by Location