Find companies:
Texas Oncology
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

Texas Oncology Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping my patients
Patient Service Representative III (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 12, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients find assistance with chemotheraphy, radiation and transportation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization to be apart of
Practice Manager (Current Employee), Austin TexasJune 12, 2014
I have been apart of Texas Oncology for 6 years and have learned so much with our organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMay 31, 2014
Pros: free lunches from drug rep
Cons: lunch was only 30 min
Anywhere from 35 to 100 patients daily
I learned how to use the Pyxis
The management was overall good no complaints
Co-workers are a lot of fun to work with
Losing patients once you have established a relationship with them
The most enjoyable was each day is a new day of learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work and communication
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasMay 28, 2014
Pros: management was great
Cons: some physicians were hard to please
Always a very fast paced work environment with plenty of room for growth. Worked with a great team of people who genuinely take pride in the work we do. Worked with patients and providers directly on a daily basis to coordinate care that included new patient appointments for newly diagnosed cancer and schedule surgeries as well. Experienced in verification – more... and obtaining authorizations with all major insurance companies. Manage a multiple telephone line system. Distribute all incoming mail and faxes. Coordinate travel. Maintain all physician documents that included licenses, medical certificates, and hospital credentials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to work at and an excellent enviroment to train in.
Trainee (Former Employee), McAllen, TXMay 28, 2014
Pros: group launches
Cons: 2 hour break of lunch
i was been trained there by Raymondo Guzman he is a Phlebotomist and works there at Texas Oncology. there they try to show you more thern what you need to know to be prepared to go work at other places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork, but little administrative support with tough issues.
Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasApril 27, 2014
Pros: managers work well as a team.
Cons: not much support from adminstration
Work daily reports. Manage staff. Round at all locations.

Hard work and effort really doesn't get you anywhere in this company.

Management is selected by popularity and not skill.

All work well together a great team.

Managing difficult physicians without support from Administration.

The patients are the most grateful people you will ever meet. – more... They are so appreciate everyone at the practices who assist in their care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, stressful
Patient Financial Counselor / Surgery Coordinator (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 7, 2014
very fast past work environment with the ever changing insurance rules and regulations, stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive always learning
Clinical Assistant (Former Employee), Bedford, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: always learning
Cons: location
Typical day at work was getting charts ready for our patients to see the doctor.

What I learned was how to assist in surgical procedures in office setting. How to schedule surgeries.

Management was good

My co-workers where awesome.

Hardest part about this job was our patients sometimes passed away.

Most enjoyable part about my job was getting to – more... know our patients and seeing them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), AbileneFebruary 14, 2014
Excellent facility that establishes wonderful care to the patients, their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Wichita Falls and in Dallas with Texas Oncology...
Oncology Nurse (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Great staff and able to transfer within the company. I worked there from 2001 - 2002. Great experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good workplace.
Medical Assistant (Externship 200hrs) (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJanuary 20, 2014
Work at this place was a good learning experience. You get to meet alots of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n
Insurance Verifier/Patient Account Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2014
answer patient calls, call on claims try to resolve patient questions collect on balances
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Midland, TXJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: meeting lots of people
Cons: deaths of patients
Busy Office we saw anywhere from 50-100 patients a day. I enjoyed working here and the people here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past environement with Quality Care
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 31, 2013
Pros: pot lucks
Cons: 30 min lunches
I enjoy working with my coworkers & coming into work daily. I have learned a lot of Cancer Termonology & how to keep my day orginized on a steady flow. The hardest part of my job is getting to know the patients & one day they can be gone. The most enjoyable part of my days are meeting new people and bringing a smile to there face even though they are – more... going thru a tuff time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here!
Lab Tech. Sr (Former Employee), Bedford, TXDecember 30, 2013
I made lots of lifelong friendships here both with the patients and my co-workers. I loved being part of the team here!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WONDERFUL PLACE TO WORK!!!
Patient Account Scheduler Access (Former Employee), Longview, TXNovember 12, 2013
If I didn't get married I would of retired from this place. It is an amazing place to work!! I miss it very much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I did on my extern
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 2, 2013
I would room patient and take their vitals, I stocked the rooms. Scanned documents, greeted patients and assisted them with appropriate medical history.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Receptionist/back check-out/ collections (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2013
 Experienced in Misys Vision , MedEvolve, Meridian EMR
 Trained very well in meaningful EMR use
 Check out (schedule all types of appointments)
 Schedule biopsy, vasectomy, cysto, urodynamics, ct’s, ultrasounds, shots, NP, FU
 Get the estimated cost of procedures and call pt to set up payment arrangements
 Request Authorizations and Referrals – more... for ov and procedures
 Scan in all records/ new and old charts/ divide into correct places
 Prepping charts: progress notes, insurance, recent studies, consent forms
 Answer all phone calls, then filter the phone calls out
 Verify insurances over the phone & online (InstaMed or the insurance websites) Very important to know what is covered, cost and contracted with
 Pull all faxes to either scan into EMR to send to doctor or pull the charts that have not yet been transferred over EMR to give to the doctor
 Take consults, write orders
 Back up the nurses in any administrative way
 Collection of money
 Daily billing report (invoices, collections, estimated amount) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I have every worked
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Paris, TXOctober 1, 2013
I think this was the first place that I actually loved going to work. In the past it was just pretty much normal jobs, but this one was different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day
A/R Manager (Current Employee), Palestine, TXSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: family feel
Cons: location
The patient care team is amazing. The patients enjoy the family feel of community based cancer centers and become part of your family. While Healthcare is in turmoil the employees are banding together to do more with less. The local administrative staff is great, supporting, and understanding of daily trials.

About Texas Oncology

McKesson moves medicine. As a top pharmaceuticals distributor in North America, McKesson delivers prescription and generic drugs, – Read more