Texas Tech University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional atmosphere
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 22, 2017
My research work included testing of analog and digital systems in PSPE laboratory. It has been an educational experience and I have gained technical knowledge while working with various types of laboratory equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PSSR SR (Former Employee) –  TexasNovember 20, 2017
A typical day the phones on monday always busy. I learned that the patient always comes first. Our management was ok. Hardest part was sometimes we didn't have enough help. Our patients were enjoyable most of them.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a blast learning Flash Programming
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 15, 2017
I had a blast learning Flash Programming, whilst creating several tutorials for first-year, undergraduate chemistry students. We did this in an attempt to incorporate more use of technology assets in the classroom.
Pros
Lots of creative freedom.
Cons
Not a long enough grant to really accomplish all of our goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fine
Instructor, German (Current Employee) –  TexasNovember 15, 2017
I was an instructor.

There was some difficulty communicating with supervisor. Peers were great, and students wonderful. I would have happily stayed but as an instructor they prioritized graduate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Research Opportunities
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 14, 2017
People here care about working as a team. There are many opportunities. There is a range of diversity in the staff and many people come from different backgrounds. Nice place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Circulation Student Assistant, University Library (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 10, 2017
I loved working at the library. It was a great job to have as a student. It worked very well with my schedule and I learned valuable skills to help me prepare for my future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but...
Programmer Analyst IV (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 10, 2017
It depends on your boss. I had a couple of great managers, and then another that was awful. So it just basically depends on you and the interactions you have with your superiors and their attitude towards you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a graduate student
Graduate Assistant Consultant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 8, 2017
Texas Tech was a great place to study/work. Not much to do in Lubbock, so getting things done was not hard at all. I'm in a unique situation of being a graduate student, so it would be different for a full-time employee.
Pros
Great people, good culture/environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Tech!
Graduate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 6, 2017
You'll love working for Tech! The people and professors are the best. High Technology and well paid. Little bit of a drive to get to Lubbock but overall great!
Pros
The institution and the professors and atmosphere.
Cons
In the middle of no where.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average academic workplace
Teaching/Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXNovember 1, 2017
No institution is immune to the bureaucracy of a public university. Texas Tech is no exception; some departments function well, others do not. The pay is very good, especially considering the low cost of living in Lubbock, and the benefits package is decent. The culture is old fashioned and immutable, and there's enough red tape to strangle a man. If you have a career in academia, Texas Tech will be unsurprising.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gpti
Graduate Part-Time Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 30, 2017
I worked as a graduate part-time instructor, so the position, in relation to a "normal" job was somewhat extreme. It was very stressful dealing with studying, curriculum and teaching students my own age.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Raider For Life!
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 24, 2017
At Texas Tech University, your experience is completely up to you. I had a rough start but an amazing finish at this university and wouldn't change it for the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience with inadequate manager
Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 24, 2017
Overall I love working at Texas Tech. I just have a hard time working for someone who has a reputation of inconsistencies with decision making and who creates a bad work environment.
Pros
Holidays off, beautiful campus, great co-workers.
Cons
pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and Unstressful Work Place
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 20, 2017
I teach students how to use the instruments for surveying, I learned how to act as a leader for a group. It is fun for me to talk with people from different countries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Exciting
Graduate Hall Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 10, 2017
Fun place to work. Huge campus with beautiful places to go. Due to large size there are some silos, but also great opportunities to get to know many people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Accounting Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 9, 2017
I have acquired important skills as an accountant at my school. Working for my Professors was challenging but fun. Also, I had some mentors who guided throughout my time at the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Student Liaison (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXOctober 3, 2017
Nice place to work especially for part time jobs specially as students. Works with class schedule and very flexible with time off. Also very lenient on pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Co-Project Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 2, 2017
Being a project manager at Texas Tech was challenging yet enjoyable. The sheer amount of opportunities that come about from working on a project at the university are endless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and great co-workers
Unit Education Coordinator (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 28, 2017
I loved the work at Tech but the Director hired a co-worker that turned on both of us and we all were asked to retire or resign. Very back deal. I had a nervous breakdown and didn't work for a year. This was an unusual situation but I believe even before the Director hired the wrong person she was weak.
Pros
Great benefits including retirement
Cons
Hard labor lifting and moving alot of props
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should use it as a starting point
Research Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXSeptember 23, 2017
Friendly environment. Cheap but boring city. Average undergrad students. Average benefits. Low Taxes. Not extremely competitive. Beautiful Campus. Nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Tech University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 294 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Texas Tech University Reviews by Location