Texas Tech University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 175 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 24, 2015
I had a good time working here. I learned new things, which I have applied into my life. Additionally I enjoy the work environment.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 22, 2015
Interesting and passionate work in the field of data analysis, information analysis,consulting.Working for advanced technology learning centre in the Library of Texas Tech University.
Pros
work
Cons
time schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulfilling job
Mechanical Engineering Machine Shop Hand (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 19, 2015
I have great memories there. I greatly appreciate the time I had learning hands-on skills.A typical day at work included helping students and professors alike with their projects. I even had time to work on my own interests.
Pros
getting to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time
Active Member (Current Employee) –  TXFebruary 18, 2015
A great company who truly values their employees. The perfect place to work as a first job and student. Very flexible and willing to work with whatever your schedule is.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 8, 2015
I worked as a Teaching assistant in distance learning program.
Got to attend a lot of lectures from different fields and great professors.
Pros
lots of lectures on different field
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Utilities Trainee (Current Employee) –  TXFebruary 4, 2015
long hours decent pay. slow paced a lot of sitting. operate chillers boilers. work 121/2 hours a day for 7 days then I'm off for 7 days rotate 7 days the 7 nights
Pros
7 days off
Cons
book work, long hours, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a college student
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXFebruary 3, 2015
Great place to work while going to school, very flexible and works with your schedule. Good pay and good overall management throughout the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn and grow, and advance your career
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  TXJanuary 29, 2015
This was a great place to continue education and get valuable experience for the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work place
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  TXJanuary 28, 2015
I really like here to work at Texas Tech University as a Graduate Teaching Assistant. I learned a lot here for example my teaching ability improved and my knowledge in statistics improved. The management of our Department is simply good. We are very free to talk with advisor and the co-workers are really helpful. The hardest part of the job is doing study and grading papers and tutoring students but its not that much hard. And I more enjoy to tutor students because I'm learning new things from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school!
Accounting Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 28, 2015
Graduate programs provide various chances of career improvement. I could finished my master one and half year with two corporate projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at Texas Tech is great
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  TXJanuary 27, 2015
Great work culture.
Diversity
Energetic co-workers
University atmosphere adds to the fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Math Mentor (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 9, 2015
They care about employees and you are encouraged to do better.
I worked as a student assistant while I was also a student.
This job helped me build a good experience working with people.
I gained good leadership skills and a lot of scholarships available.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Teaching and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 9, 2015
Expected to take lead in class room experience, but receive a lot of support from senior professors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for a graduate program
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 6, 2015
ran a lot of western blots. very seldomly kiled my HeLa cells and when i did it was usually someone else's fault. wrote a 50 page masters thesis the end the end the end i dont know what more there is to say
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Summer Job in College
Ideal Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 2, 2015
Gained an unparalleled chance to work with a number of kids from backgrounds all around the world. Working with students all over the state, even groups from Brazil, I helped guide visiting students to classes, across campus, and in answering questions about college. The program was designed to mentor young students about college, by pairing them with counselors that have or are currently students at the university. My employment here allowed me an opportunity to counsel younger children who might not understand the importance of education for individuals in the globalized world.
Pros
great times, good kids, great benfits, great pay
Cons
long day that turn to long nights, some confusion
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Student at Texas Tech University
Student (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TexasDecember 30, 2014
I graduated from Texas Tech University in December 2014 with a Bachelor's of Science in Civil Engineering. I passed the Fundamentals of Engineering exam (FE) In the Spring of 2014.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Union and Activities- Student assistant
Student Union and Activities- Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXDecember 26, 2014
 Keep up with maintenance in the Student Union
 Setup rooms for various events
 Work with several university organizations and faculty minor
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with plenty of opportunities
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXDecember 21, 2014
Tech is a very professional workplace and allows for many professional opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mom Job
Business Manager/ Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  TXNovember 18, 2014
It is a great mom job. It is hard to learn their systems. Parking you have to pay for but they do pay for your benefits. I learned all the systems in TTU. I enjoy the people and the love for TTU.
Pros
benefits are paid job
Cons
you have to park for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
texas tech
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  physicsNovember 18, 2014
Good place to work but the city the school located is very boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Tech University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 175 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3

Texas Tech University Reviews by Location