Textron Marine and Land Systems Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly place to work
Principale Engineer/ Lead Designer (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LAMay 4, 2017
Excellent group of people to work with. Very friendly and when needed helpful to complete assigned tasks.
Great product to be involved in the development of. Always something new being added per customer request
Pros
great work environment
Cons
none that could be addressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
TUBING MECHANIC / PIPE FITTER (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 18, 2017
I enjoyed working for this company.
Very safe place to work.
They provide you with tools needed to do the job in a safe manner
I would like to work for them again
Pros
work everyday
Cons
lots of bugs in the swamp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work/Life Balance & Mandatory Uncompensated Overtime
Associate Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 18, 2017
A good work/life balance is not encouraged here. There is mandatory uncompensated overtime outside of what is considered reasonable for a salaried position. While you can't be forced to work the overtime, those who don't are routinely first to be laid off when a reduction in force occurs.
Pros
Great insurance and benefits package
Cons
Poor work/life balance, mandatory uncompensated overtime for salaried employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Textron is a good company, but short sighted.
Sr. Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LAMarch 28, 2017
I loved working for Textron, until I didn't work for them. They are a good group of people, but management reduces employees to keep their bottom line looking good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not just another day at the office.
Sr. Customer/Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 16, 2015
In our department, every day is different. You may be working in the shop one day, production the next or on a plane to some other country to work on one of our vehicles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with excellent benefits.
Leaderman (Former Employee) –  New OrleansAugust 13, 2015
Textron is one of the two best companies I ever worked for. I only resigned for family issues. The culture and environment are great and the benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work hard
Mechanical Engineer 2 (Current Employee) –  New OrleansApril 13, 2015
Program centric organization structure. The company is split into two sides: the marine, and the land. Both produce military vehicles. The coworkers are great and make the day enjoyable. The work can be quite challenging, and you will be required to put forth extra effort to meet aggressively set deadlines. However seeing the completed vehicle roll off the assembly line is very cool and rewarding.
Cons
Significant overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 29, 2015
This is a good company to work that is involved with National air forces
Pros
great pay
Cons
it was only temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Superviser (Current Employee) –  Slidell LA / New orleansAugust 21, 2014
I report to work 30 minutes before my crew comes in. I then get everyone set up on their jobs, check E Mails, Report results of the processing flow production schedule and summaries to other supervisors and superintends. Then throughout the day check on employees to assure all is well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LAMay 11, 2014
I learned a lot about the systems on the vehicles, when we were tracing down a problem and working with the engineers. I learned about the pneumatic system, hydraulics system, and electrical systems. Tracing down electrical problems and repairing them was a challenging and rewarding job. I worked with some very good and talented co-workers.
Pros
The hours 4-10 hour days and a three day weekend.
Cons
30-day shift rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical big corporation politics.
Class A Outfitter/Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LA/New Orleans, LAApril 11, 2014
The only real problem is the big corporation is the inner company politics.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Welder (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAJanuary 23, 2014
I would arrive and set up my welding machine for the days tasks
I learned how to be a part of a team ,and I had a great opportunity to enhance my welding skills.
Management was hands on and worked well with us to ensure quality and a safe work environment.
My co-workers were knowledgeable and willing to share their skills to enhance my skills and abilities.
The hardest part of my job was getting into the difficult uncomfortable positions to do some of the welding.
Seeing these machines up and running again after we finished doing the repairs, was the best part of this job.
Pros
Incredible benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work you to death, fire you with no notice
mechanical designer (Former Employee) –  slidellAugust 15, 2013
expect you to work work work while supervisor yaks. expects you to work long hours because of poor management. they will fire you with no notice. stay away.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight to buisness Military shipyard with a strong work ethic
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LaJuly 14, 2013
Maintained and repaired a variety of equipment including forklifts, welding
machines, overhead cranes, and air tools. Repaired minor repairs on plumbing
fixtures. Oversaw the upkeep and operation of the plant water treatment
system. Operated forklift to assist in fitting metal plates for welding, and various
other duties.
Pros
Started early, got off early
Cons
Grueling work little praise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer expectations are high, rewards are low
Office Worker - Specialized Profession (Former Employee) –  Slidell, LaMarch 20, 2013
While an extremely demanding employer they offer little in the way of appreciation either through rewards or advancement. They hire and reduce workforce at the drop of a hat. No warning, no way of knowing or who/why you get redacted.
Pros
401k
Cons
no retirement, no job security, few raises, very small bonuses when you do get them (extremly rare)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized.
Armored Service Vehicle Technician (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAFebruary 6, 2013
Just amazing that a multi-billion dollar a year company could be so confused.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Textron Marine and Land Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9

Textron Marine and Land Systems Reviews by Location