The ASSURANCE Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good plave to advance your career
Vice President Career Final Expense sales (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, NCFebruary 3, 2017
This company gives you the opportunity to grow a business based on your own ability. Great place to work and develop your sales skills plus build your own agency. The company has great associations with all the major carries for insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Bradenton, FLDecember 2, 2016
Great Training
Excellent Motivation
A great and professional place to work
Excellent resources.
Friendly Staff and management team is wonderful
Great support from home office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand New Company in Denver
Licensed Broker (Former Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 23, 2015
Because the company is so new, there was no training program offered yet. You could ride with the 4-5 other people and shadow but if there schedule was booked then you couldn't learn for the day. Worked there for 3 weeks. Never saw a commission split or a paycheck. Many promises made of earning up to 100K a year but no intention of teaching the basics of the business. Please do your research on this company before applying.
Pros
Free lunches, free to make your own schedule, No micro-management
Cons
No training program, Lies about how much you'll be paid, work alot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent environment, decently nice people, pay was great but not steady, some tactics to sell where....unfavorable. overall i hated how they operate.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Archdale, NCAugust 19, 2015
day of work~~~~
going to different areas, like thomasville to greensboro, to asheville, etc. Assuming i cold called alot of people off my sheet, or even just a few, i need people that said yes to a visit if im going to even go out. Assuming i have a few, one time 8, ill go eat, go to each place at the agreed upon time, talk to the clients. Ill go find the ones that really need insurance. Ill also find the ones who enjoy you wasting your time and lied that they wanted to see you, and the ones who dont want the insurance but their relatives need them to get it. Ill meet colorful people of good and bad, mostly bad. Meeting new people is half the time fun, half the time sucks but is still interesting. Whenever i have a few hours between appointments or a few minutes. Ill go eat, try to call more people, or go over my lines....yes we have lines to say, we make them our own, but we all get a script till we find out how to cover all the points of the script in our own words. Finish up, go home, rinse and repeat. High risk, high reward. Sometimes you sell all and sometimes you sell just 1. One is all you need for a decent week of pay though so thats nice. If you sell none, all that gas money was for naught.

What i learned~~~
sometimes high risk high reward is nice, and sometimes its not. Overall this kind of job is not worth its risks. I learned how to speak a lil more professionally when i try hard, but im still lacking. I learned not all company's are what they seem or stand for what they say. Helping the people they said, what a joke. One time one of my bosses even came out
  more... and said that's its about making the money and pressuring people so you can make said money, its not really about helping them at all.Also, I learned how to talk to strangers much better as well, which is notably helpful in the long run.

Management~~~~
All the bosses seemed decent, they did they job, made their money, and trained decently well. I didnt like them overall but they are respectable to a point.

co-workers~~~
your co workers are who you go on ride alongs with to clients. The only true co workers i had were the nice women and men who worked in the file management area (might have been custormer service people, i never understood). My brother and my old boss were only ones i really worked with. My brother, not hard to work with, my boss, a little. He drives questionably, acts questionably, but gets good results. He said i lack initiative and something else, i think he was right to some extent but he gave me no confidence to keep trying. Almost convinced me to quit on the spot, i quit like a few months...maybe on 1 month, later regardless.

Hardest part of job~~~
dealing with reused cold call sheets that were usually reused and resold, which is unfair to us novice and even some experts at the job. Everyone complained about it cause it means we anger people when calling cause they told us to take them off the list. My higher up would tell me to reuse them and instead of throwing them away, put them back into the pool of cold calls.


best part of the job~~~~

the pay rate when you sold policies, depending on the size, was incredible. The reliability of being able to get sales was poor, but when you did it was nice. the true best part is the hours you set. I set a few hours at first and kept increasing them, even if very little results, it was nice to know i could wake up round 8 and start the day sometimes, or 7, or 6 am if i so chose. To come on peoples times of whens convenient for them so their in a good mood. It was nice meeting all the colorful people, for some it wasn't, but overall, it was an interesting experience.
  less
Pros
decently long breaks, make your own hours essentially, pay was ridiculously good if you sold just 1 decent sized policy, trips to different areas so you get around
Cons
Boss doesnt believe in newbies at all so he tends to down talk us yet up talk us, if you sell nothing, you make nothing $0, pay is not steady sometimes depending on season, people dont generally like us when we show up, reused cold call phone sheets, even if they requested us to get them off the sheet so many angry and upset potential clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Archdale, NCMay 29, 2015
I worked many different positions at The Assurance Group ranging from the mail room to insurance sales. Great management and many opportunities to move up through the ranks.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great organization to work for
License Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Maywood, NJApril 19, 2015
I enjoyed working for the assurance group for almost 4 years, unfortunately the patient I cared for passed away. Management was great, always a phone call away.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I have ever had!
Independent Agent (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaFebruary 25, 2015
I have never seen a company that has a management team, that in the blink of an eye, quit the company and leave you hanging in the balance. I had two manager that were responsible for helping me to get leads and both quit without informing there team and left each of us stranded!
Pros
none
Cons
Horrible structure, and horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good products
INSURANCE AGENT (Current Employee) –  Manitowoc, WIFebruary 23, 2015
Did not like the future of the company, they sold oof the health part of the company and were left to onl sell medicare plans
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  USAJanuary 12, 2015
This company operations equal up to a flawed business model that will not only not produce a living wage but will cost employees and customers thousands of dollars.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
selling medicare
INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCOctober 20, 2014
ok place to work on our on, No training from managerment, but from other agents in the office, i did learn a lot from them. 40 hour, 150 to 200 calls a week on the phone .
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Insurance Agent (Current Employee) –  Boardman OhioAugust 13, 2014
I call potential clients with lead cards, which are card they sent in through the mail, wanting info and life and of health (medicare) insurance. It is commission base.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over view
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Scranton, PAMay 27, 2014
This job has great potential, but is commission pay only. It is not a very reliable source of pay.
Pros
You can make a lot of money from just a few sales
Cons
No sales no money, and if the policys take time to clear, this will cause you to have no money as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good to start out in insurance better for if you've been an independent agent for a long time before entering. You're somewhat on your own
Field Insurance Agent/Broker (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 19, 2014
It's good if you've had previous experience and do not need to learn very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work great people
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCNovember 15, 2012
Great place to work, management was great and so were the co-workers. The hardest part of the job was it being commission only and with at least a base wage it would have been the best place I ever worked. Driving to see clients in other cities was hard because without a base wage it makes it harder to budget. The most enjoyable part was being in control of you work and how you performed. It is nice to have control of your own business.
Pros
control your business
Cons
no basic wadge
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Insurance environment
Regional Sales Director (Current Employee) –  Charlotte,NCOctober 9, 2012
Self Motivated Organization. I learned how to Manage my time better, I like the individuals, I work with. Hardest part of the job is leaving it daily. The most enjoyable part is selling
Pros
slef relianant on what, i do
Cons
commissions could be higher.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and issy jobs
Pharmaceutical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJJuly 20, 2012
My supervise gave us orders. And had to pack it with medicine and tell looked the due date then packing
Pros
free break.
Cons
we cannot use earrings, bracelet, ring
Was this review helpful?Yes3No32Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place when they found me work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJJuly 10, 2012
This was a Temp agency they never really had assignments. I was sent on a few assignments that lasted only a few weeks.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
not alot of job assignments
Was this review helpful?Yes9No21Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The ASSURANCE Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3