The Body Shop Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall 5 Stars
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CANovember 13, 2017
In short The Body Shop was a fun, loving, and comfortable environment. The management really cares about you and you receive valuable lessons and opportunity to advance within the company. It really is like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Life Balance!
CSM Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 9, 2017
No work, life balance.

Poor managment

Poor Processes

Estimators are not treated well.

Bonuses are always just out of reach each month.

They will try to move you around shop to shop so plan on being transferred at least once.
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 9, 2017
I had the pleasure of working with The Body Shop for 9 years I started as a Sales associate and in a year waa promoted to assistant manager.
There is room to grow.
Pros
An amazing employee discount
Cons
Half hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun
Sales Consultant/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  OntarioOctober 31, 2017
Productive, fun, organized, company. Fantastic brand culture. Respectable mission statement. Relaxed atmostphere, yet productive and organized. Very motivating sales atmostphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 24, 2017
I loved my time at the Body Shop. The company values were amazing and I worked with a great group of people. Pay was on the lower end, especially for entry level employees but scheduling was generally flexible. The only major downside was that it was a retail job and the hours were killer September - end of year. Even with hiring seasonal employees, managers often work 60+ hour work weeks especially with the extended mall hours. I left because I was exhausted with working every holiday.
Pros
great company, benefits ok
Cons
retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for starting out in the retail/beauty industry
Third Key Manager (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILOctober 23, 2017
The Body Shop is pretty amazing. They actually care about their employees. The work is fairly easy if you have worked in retail and know about beauty and body care. You have to up sell a lot so clienteling is something you have to do. You also have to study the products and what they do. The companies ethics and values are great. They are against animal testing and partake in ethical trading. Its a great company to work for and you get to work with people and demo products and apply makeup as well.
Pros
company that cares, free samples, discounts
Cons
standing a long time, sometimes rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, technology driven, continually improving
Lead Controls Engineer Stamping (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 22, 2017
Following up on issues, throughout improvements. Follow-up on current installations in progress
Technology, Drives, PLC's, Robots, Vision systems
Supportive management style, striving for work/life balance
Safety is the overriding culture (from mission statement to operation)
Balancing 24 hr production operations, with minimal notice for breakdown and weekend support
Working as part of a team, hiring new team members and working with them to progress to be able to support operations
Pros
Good benefits/discounts, training for improved knowledge/support
Cons
24hr support, minimal weekend/ breakdown notification
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed location
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAOctober 21, 2017
the location that I worked at closed with almost no warning after the holidays. The store culture was ok, but the pay was subpar. I would definitely work for the manager again if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIOctober 17, 2017
It is a great place to work I liked helping people and I loved the product. We had a lot of fun at work and I learned a lot. I liked the fact that they are eco friendly and that we could try the product
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Sales, Associate (Current Employee) –  Paramus, NJOctober 15, 2017
As a sales associate I'm very focused on building relationships with customers. Communication is an important factor when dealing with clients, its impossible to work with someone without knowing or understanding them and their needs. It's a fun enviornment that promotes indivdualality, teamwork is also a huge portion of our job. The work day typically depends on the amount of clients that come in; however our down time is time used to help build or improve upon skills and product knowledge. This is something that typically helps us come up with effective methods of bringing in clients.
Pros
Discounts off of product
Cons
Hours, communication from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about The Body Shop?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILOctober 12, 2017
Business closed but great place to work. Business closed due to customer violence. we were a gentlemen s club that also acted as a regular club to the public.
Pros
busy
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place
Vice President - Finance (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 12, 2017
Nice people..............nice new office................great products.....
Work day was fine
learned international component of business
good culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self destructive owner, will not be in business long.
Studio Manager (Former Employee) –  Falconer, NYOctober 10, 2017
It is doubtful this shop will stay open very much longer. The owner is very self destructive and almost incapable of making a positive business decision.
Pros
Free piercings and cheap/free tattoos
Cons
Everything else...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding customer service, positive work environment
Nail Technician/Esthetician (Current Employee) –  Yorktown, VAOctober 9, 2017
Very proud to be a part of this establishment. I have been an employee for a little over two years. Currently have been in the cosmetology industry for 18. Taking great pride in what I do, this establishment has allowed the platform to do so. Aside from a positive place to work with great employees, the spa rating is at a 5! Thankful to be a part of it.
Pros
Flexibility, Positivity, Productive
Cons
No benefits, no paid vacation, commission based
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCOctober 8, 2017
Working for the body shop was great. God's product. They were very well organized and on time. Manager was awesome. Steady work flow. Convenient and in general all around nice managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Body Shop
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Virginia, USAOctober 7, 2017
Passionate, hard working and reliable team. Products are popular, natural and of high quality. Highly vaue customer satisfaction. Friendly and proffesional environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for temp only.
Picker/Packer/Dispatch (Current Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCOctober 3, 2017
Decent job for the pay if you dont have significent amount of responsibility.Job was easy to do just alot of standing and alot of walking if you are a picker.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Undetermined hours at the end of your assignment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great owner
Auto Body Technician (Former Employee) –  Versailles, KYOctober 3, 2017
This is an error. Second time. This is repeating the Bodyshop review. I learned everything about cars here. Repair. Modification mechanics. Paint. Proper care. Welding. Fabricating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to meet good friends
Manager (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIOctober 2, 2017
Started working at The Body Shop as a seasonal worker but was hired on full time and quickly became store manager. I had a great staff but had no more room for advancement in the job.
Pros
Great staff, decent hours, fun environment
Cons
no benefits, no room for advancement, long hours during the holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Body Shop...
Part Time Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 27, 2017
A typical day at work.. is managers expecting you to act as an assistant manager and not get paid as one. The management is okay not to bad very understandable and they work with your schedule, but if you have a committed church life just know they expect you to work an open to close on some Sundays. The one thing I liked about my job was that I liked that I was close to employees at other stores
Pros
works with schedule
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Body Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,092 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9