The Body Shop Employee Reviews

Found 373 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively Environment
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYFebruary 21, 2017
Beautiful store with great values and opportunity to learn about vegan, non animal tested products. They actually do work! Can easily sell and use too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and creative position
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Harlan, IAFebruary 19, 2017
Confer with clients, Maintain customer relations, Opening, closing and appointments daily, Manage all aspects of booth rental, cash drawer, deposits, bookkeeping, and sales tax preparation and submission. Inventory and supply management, follow state sanitation laws, Continuing education every 2 years.

I learned to be organized, confidential, patient, and compassionate to the clients needs.

I was a booth renter therefore managed my own business.

The most difficult part of the job were long days/hours.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to be creative.
Pros
I could use my creativeness in the work place
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and challenging
Parts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lewes, DEFebruary 18, 2017
I liked the people and the business. Very Challenging and faced paced. Liked working with people and vendors. Learned a lot and increased my knowledge of the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for part time work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Montgomery County, PAFebruary 16, 2017
Strong company with a diverse background and willing to work around your personal schedule.
Solid staff and training given to assist with maximizing your abilities
Pros
Free makeup
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, friendly environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAFebruary 16, 2017
My time at The Body Shop was great. I loved how focused they are on not only the environment worldwide but also our individual communities. The company heavily supports community fair trade throughout the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working with the body shop
picker, forklift driver (Former Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCFebruary 15, 2017
yes I enjoyed working there I got to know how to do different positions they gave me the opportunity to be apart of different jobs like being a team ,lead , and a trainer, what I like most was being a forklift driver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a very long time ago
Regional VP Eastern US (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYFebruary 9, 2017
different company that it is now. it was not company owned was a franchise environment so my comments would not make sense for the organization that it is now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 7, 2017
Fun place to work but many of the locations have closed since the last time I have worked for the company. Corporate is located in a different country.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales experience is a plus!!!
Customer Consultant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2017
if you have previous sales experience, you'll do well.
Cosmetic experience is also a plus.

The benefits for management are really great!
They can pay for your gym and college.

There are no benefits whatsoever for part-time employees.
Pros
flexible uniform
Cons
little advancement, little to no raise, little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company lacking great managerial staff.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Fairfax, VAFebruary 2, 2017
After working at The Body Shop for over a year, I'm incredibly disappointed in the managerial staff; immature adults that tend to congregate into cliques. If you're not part of the 'in' crowd, you're mistreated and largely ignored. It's a rare thing that new employees stay more than a month in the store I work in because the hiring manager has serious personality alterations; the attitude she has when hiring is not the same she has when training and people can't stand it. Thus, serious staffing issues and long hours for the few that remain. Very little training before being inducted in a trial-by-fire situation alone in the store. No HR support, no kudos when customers email or call the regional manager and rave about the stellar treatment thry received while in my personal care. No benefits if you're hired as part time even if you work more than 40 hours per week. Fantastic founder whose values and goals for the company are being altered and bastardized by the new board of directors. Still amazing products that should be advertised more; many consumers say, "I didn't know this company existed!". Sorely disappointed that I'll be moving on, but a person can only take so much abuse.
Pros
Awesome products, no animal testing, vegetarian
Cons
Managers and Corporate ignoring major issues. No breaks, long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Customer Servie
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tukwila, WAFebruary 2, 2017
I feel very fortunate to work for this company. I am only available for weekend hours currently and they work with me on my available days.
I am enjoying this new working experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJanuary 31, 2017
Great place to work. I trained hard and trained my clients hard. It was nice to have the freedom of working my program and seeing clients truly obtain peak physical condition.
Pros
Great Job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CUSTOMER CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 25, 2017
People are nice and you get to sell makeup/body care along with a great discount and free items, the only bad thing is rude customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 23, 2017
It;s a very good company to work for the schedules are flexible and there is always a supportive fun loving support management team. I would recommend this job to anyone
Pros
hour lunch breaks
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 18, 2017
fun job but no knowing that my store was going to shut down because they could not agree and a lease with briarwood mall is disturbing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, customers love it and so did I!
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Tannersville, PAJanuary 14, 2017
I loved working at The Body Shop. The store manager was very energetic. The store ended up closing because the sales goals were extremely unrealistic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trustworthy shop
Auto Body Technician (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, ILJanuary 10, 2017
The body shop is a family oriented business and has been around for 20 years, great customer service and honestly work. I would recommend them to anyone.
Pros
Stress free environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Part Time Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 2, 2017
Good for someone looking to work a few hours or for students. Rare to be full time here, rare to get a raise, rare to hire people who stick more than a few months.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Short shifts, minimal hours, quick turnover rate, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Workflow Administrator for Bin Management (Current Employee) –  Wake Forest, NCDecember 29, 2016
A typical day is highly energetic and productive. Meeting dead lines during our busy season might be the hardest part of our job, but teamwork always pulls through.
Pros
Fun work environment
Cons
Short breaks, compensation and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working here it was a great place.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIDecember 11, 2016
i learnt so much here im very upset that this place closed down my location, i would work at another one but they are all way to far away from me sadly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Body Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 857 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0