The Boston Beer Company

The Boston Beer Company Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR operation leaders and overall management but great potetial
Maintenance Engineering Trainer (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJanuary 12, 2016
i did the phone interviews which took 2 weeks, everyone to busy or on vacation, finally obtained the interview with 5 different groups of people, the first enginering techs were demanding and insulting they had never conducted an interview and had no clue as to what they were looking for in a canidate, all 6 tech had different opinions as to the person and position they were interviewing fore, and when asked for information all they could do is to put the company and job down and complain about their jobs and incompetent management.the next group was the department head ,who was more interested in his computer than the interview.as he placed the computer between himself and i , very disrespectfully, and allowed many interruptions during the interview, as if i did not matter, then to the next group ,my managers, one that was to be fired and one gloting that he had been promoted and happy the other manager was going to be fired, what a shame, people have to get their enjoyment at others cost. now to the head of maintenance /operations, all he kept asking was why i wanted to work in this type of environment, and my background was not brewing so i knew nothing, i now had only to meet with the head of HR and the Plant manager, but as i was picked up by the HR person, i was told that these two folks had other commitments and to go home, asked to the next steps and she told me she would call to reset the interview with these two folks, NEVER HAPPENED- these folks are all about themselves, some scared of loosing their jobs and afraid of retaliation from management. In my opinion the  more... problem is at the top and not just the local plant manager, but Corporate, they have lost sight of good manufacturing practices, teamwork,honesty,ethics,and a harmonious work environment
STAY AWAY-FAR AWAY, THE NEGATIVITY AND DISRESPECT RUNS RAMPANT
  less
Pros
Great Potential
Cons
See Below
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, great atmosphere
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 22, 2015
Other than the obvious (Free Sam Adams) the company does a great job at working with employees to advance in their career and offers really good benefits. Management is open to discuss anything with any employee. I learned more there than any other job, nothing bad to say about BBC.
Pros
Beer, benefits, great management, growth
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
EHS Technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 2, 2015
Great place to work, great people, great benefits. Not a clear idea of the path forward. Seem to hurry and rush to get things in place without fully thinking thru.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture with lots of room for growth!
Boston Office Employee (Current Employee) –  BostonJune 29, 2015
Friendly coworkers, lively office, great culture, lots of room for growth.

The main break room, "Sammy's Place," is always happening. Employees receive two free cases of product a month. All employees attend a week long orientation in Boston filled with learning opportunities and fun activities!
Pros
Travel, training opportunities, promote within, free product
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard Play Hard for great company
Payroll/Accounts Receivable Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 16, 2015
Great people and a great company, benefits were outstanding including free beer and the culture was second to none as they allowed you to wear shorts in the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture. Great people. Great leadership.
Region Manager for Illinois and Wisconsin (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 10, 2015
The Boston Beer Company continues to exemplify the entrepreneurial spirit of its founder, Jim Koch.

A fun, vibrant, creative company that changed the way people and our retail customers think about beer.

Great team spirit and camaraderie.

Management provides great marketing and training resources.

All levels know how to sell the product.

Passion is the company's greatest asset.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
totally unprofessional
packaging operator (Former Employee) –  breinigsvilleJanuary 28, 2015
Was given the run around for roughly 6 weeks after going in for interview. The interview went well but from that point on, someone was always either "sick" or on "vacation". In the end I was basically informed that i was not qualified to operate machinery or forklifts even though I have a stable work history, college and years of military experience. The entire process was completely unprofessional and surprising for a company such as Sam Adams.
Was this review helpful?Yes47No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized at times, but fun culture
Valued employee (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 4, 2014
The Boston Beer Company, is an amazing company with a culture that may stand alone. However the communication between departments is dysfunctional and chaotic. If you can put up with the poor cross func communication its a great place.
Pros
culture
Cons
work-life balance, communication within organization
Was this review helpful?Yes30No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate You are only a number culture
Reliability engineer (Current Employee) –  Breinigsville, PASeptember 24, 2014
Don't work here. Budweiser is taking over the company. It was good when I began employment, but has since declined greatly.
Was this review helpful?Yes48No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Caucasian Allowed !!!!!!!!!!!!
Samuel Adams (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAAugust 29, 2014
Caucasian only allowed @ Samuel Adams. I had a prefect résumé and background. My interview went great .They even told me , they need 20 new employee. 99% of Samuel Adams were Caucasian when I took the tour. I will call the OCR to investigate!!!!!!!
Cons
they act like they care for you
Was this review helpful?Yes47No170
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beer Company
Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAMay 14, 2014
ok place to work. lots of overtime. not a lot of downtime. good money.
Was this review helpful?Yes76No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racism at it's best.
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAMarch 23, 2014
Just a reminder that racism is prevalent. Contract worker, I was spoken to horribly, as if I was a doormat for the trainer's frustrations. Pay rate is decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes115No115
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture!
Contract Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 17, 2013
It's a great company and culture. The people are great and provide for a great working environment.
Pros
culture
Cons
i'm not permanent
Was this review helpful?Yes31No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school all over again
Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 18, 2013
People here would play the high school he said she said game if they do not like you.
Was this review helpful?Yes80No106
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Sr. Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Southern NJApril 3, 2013
Great brands, solid management, fun environment, solid culture. Long hours, nights & weekends, hard to balance personal life.
Pros
fun industry, great brands, company with integrity
Cons
poor work life balance, must relocated for career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes86No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manager
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 24, 2013
Great company and great benefits. Great training for employees. Company did lose a lot of its culture which made it great through the years. National Meetings were always fun!
Pros
great beer, employee contests, training
Cons
started losing culture
Was this review helpful?Yes55No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell Beer and Make Money
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 17, 2012
Working for a beer company certainly had its perks. Getting free beer and working in fun environments like bars and restaurants was fantastic. The hours were a bit hectic. There is no "typical day" in the beer industry, which is good and bad. It was never stagnant or boring, but you couldn't plan you personal life more than two weeks ahead of time. You could work 9 to 5 Monday thru Friday, or work all nights and weekends for months. I definitely learned how to be a superior salesman during my tenure. I learned how to build meaningful and successful relationships as well.
Pros
free beer; no cubicle
Cons
compensation; unrelenting schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes76No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accurate Review
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 26, 2012
Working 5+ days a week. If your looking to have a work-life mentality than this may be the perfect job. If you enjoy your weekends or looking to start a family than this is not the job for you. Sales training is very repetitive and somewhat pointless at times. To be successful here you have to drink the "kool-aid" and is very political. The best way to explain it is almost a high school mentality, everyone talks and there are always rumors floating around.
Pros
the beer
Cons
5+ days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes95No30
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate Sales Company
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 13, 2012
A company with a passion for beer that filters down from Jim Koch. There's a small feel despite its growing size. Great co-workers, product and vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes52No69

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture