The Boston Beer Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
QA Packaging Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Brieningsville, PAJune 25, 2017
The position which I held in the QA Lab was very fast paced and exciting. I worked with people from different teams within the facility. The company has wonderful benefits, nice pay scale and many perks for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
Brewery Representative (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 20, 2017
Extremely rewarding job. Great benefits. Inspiring leadership.You will learn a lot from this job in a short period of time. There is never a lack of training with this company. I would recommend this job to others.
Pros
Family culture, benefits, compensation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Team and Benefits
SR. BREWERY REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 31, 2017
The company culture at BBC is wonderful. There are a variety of resources available at your disposal and the company benefits are better than any company that I have researched.
They take a strong stance on work-life balance. Keeping from being burnt out is certainly a priority to them.
Although it is a publicly traded corporation and the hierarchy is respected, it is never seen as improper to contact a manager above your direct manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Beer Education Program
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 9, 2017
Leader in the Craft Beer Segment with strong sales force. Career advancements are tied to mobility. Company long term planning is a challenge. Many new faces in senior management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Brewery Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 7, 2017
I started working as a brewery ambassador while finishing my degree, and I have met some of the best people while working here. The brewery is not only a great environment in which to work, but it is also a place where you learn multiple new things every single day. The brewers and other employees are ready and willing to share their knowledge about anything in the brewery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAApril 1, 2017
New management, and new way of doing things have taken away from what used to be, a great place to work. The new way of doing things is about numbers, more than it is the people. Which is opposite of what it used to be.
Pros
Benifetts
Cons
Your either in the click, or your not
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slumping sales and grim outlook
Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 16, 2017
Not a terrible place to work for, communication across departments is not the greatest and a lot of incompetent decisions seem to be made. Sales are severely declining causing a issue with job security. Medical benefits are good and pay is decent. Management has a typical higher than usual turnover rate. Too many beers on the market, craft market is saturated at this point.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No job security, no department communication, fly by the seat of your pants, no sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly successful well-managed category leader
Vice President of Brand Development (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 11, 2017
As a senior executive, I observed employees and managers who have a strong work ethic that mirrors the drive reflected by the leadership team. Hard work is balanced with many opportunities to learn and engage with colleagues in fun activities. Training is a key part of the culture lead by knowledgeable and inspiring coaches. No one is above anyone else and this includes the Chairman and CEO! The hardest part of the job is getting everything done as the category is very competitive and requires 100% effort from everyone. The best part of the job is that you never stop learning and you get to have fun at the same time.
Pros
Free beer, lots of social activities, great learning environment, many opportunities to advance within your specialty, can also post for jobs outside of comfort zone.
Cons
Expectations are high....be prepared to work hard!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Boston Beer Co.
Major Metro District Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 5, 2017
I am fortunate to work at The Boston Beer Co. Everything I know about sales, management, distributor partnerships and the beer industry, I owe to the last seven years at BBC. A great place to work, with even greater people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace fun working environment
District Sales Manager - VT (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2017
Great company culture / leadership. Worklife balance is dependent on your job role / time of the year. Passion for beer makes the job much easier. Must be an effective sales person who is not afraid to be told no and can continuously go back to accounts to pitch portfolio
Pros
Beer, Training, Ability to move up, culture
Cons
Some work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Field Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 15, 2017
Workplace culture is second to none. Super competitive, be prepared to work very hard, hard work will be rewarded, but you will likely have to move cities.
Pros
Beer!
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Loss Reduction Co-op (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAJanuary 8, 2017
The position I received was not one normal to an engineering major, however, it was a learning experience. I was able to see a more data heavy and business side of a company as opposed to the manufacturing side. I had projects that dealt with the actual bottling itself, however, the majority of my time was spent working with loss data and organizing solutions to problems that we had with loss.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Sales market (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2017
A typical day at work.
What you learned
Management
Your co-workers
The hardestpart of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCDecember 27, 2016
Loved my time at Boston Beer company! Wish they were a bit more competitive in compensation. Opportunities to move up and around the country. The culture is one of a kind
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sinking ship
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAJuly 3, 2016
Sales down. Stocks down. Horrible product. Work was always slow. Hiring has a freeze. People in higher management were quitting. Very bad signs. Horrible hours.
Pros
Pay was decent
Cons
Company is failing to make sales. Will not last long at this rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
POOR operation leaders and overall management but great potetial
Maintenance Engineering Trainer (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJanuary 12, 2016
i did the phone interviews which took 2 weeks, everyone to busy or on vacation, finally obtained the interview with 5 different groups of people, the first enginering techs were demanding and insulting they had never conducted an interview and had no clue as to what they were looking for in a canidate, all 6 tech had different opinions as to the person and position they were interviewing fore, and when asked for information all they could do is to put the company and job down and complain about their jobs and incompetent management.the next group was the department head ,who was more interested in his computer than the interview.as he placed the computer between himself and i , very disrespectfully, and allowed many interruptions during the interview, as if i did not matter, then to the next group ,my managers, one that was to be fired and one gloting that he had been promoted and happy the other manager was going to be fired, what a shame, people have to get their enjoyment at others cost. now to the head of maintenance /operations, all he kept asking was why i wanted to work in this type of environment, and my background was not brewing so i knew nothing, i now had only to meet with the head of HR and the Plant manager, but as i was picked up by the HR person, i was told that these two folks had other commitments and to go home, asked to the next steps and she told me she would call to reset the interview with these two folks, NEVER HAPPENED- these folks are all about themselves, some scared of loosing their jobs and afraid of retaliation from management. In my opinion the  more... problem is at the top and not just the local plant manager, but Corporate, they have lost sight of good manufacturing practices, teamwork,honesty,ethics,and a harmonious work environment
STAY AWAY-FAR AWAY, THE NEGATIVITY AND DISRESPECT RUNS RAMPANT
  less
Pros
Great Potential
Cons
See Below
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, great atmosphere
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 22, 2015
Other than the obvious (Free Sam Adams) the company does a great job at working with employees to advance in their career and offers really good benefits. Management is open to discuss anything with any employee. I learned more there than any other job, nothing bad to say about BBC.
Pros
Beer, benefits, great management, growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
EHS Technician (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 2, 2015
Great place to work, great people, great benefits. Not a clear idea of the path forward. Seem to hurry and rush to get things in place without fully thinking thru.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture with lots of room for growth!
Boston Office Employee (Current Employee) –  BostonJune 29, 2015
Friendly coworkers, lively office, great culture, lots of room for growth.

The main break room, "Sammy's Place," is always happening. Employees receive two free cases of product a month. All employees attend a week long orientation in Boston filled with learning opportunities and fun activities!
Pros
Travel, training opportunities, promote within, free product
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
QA Yeast and Fermentation Technician (Current Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAMarch 21, 2015
Decent place to work. Mostly friendly staff and fellow employees. There tends to be a tendency to focus on quantity lately rather than quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 13Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Boston Beer Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5