Find companies:
The Capital Grille
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

The Capital Grille Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional work envirnoment
Hostess (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 22, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about hospitality
Cons: no cons. i moved from jacksonville otherwise i wouold have stayed wih company.
I worked as Head Hostess. I came in before opening to go through reservations and make reservation plan. The Capital Grille had almost all high end cliental so it was very important to remember everyone that came into the establishment. I also worked along side the managers in the office and helped organize events that the establishment was hosting,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Hostess (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: great culture
Cons: no monetary appreciation
Working with amazing coworkers and clients was one of the best things about this job. The true meaning of professionalism will be instilled in you but you may be overlooked. There is a strong focus on revenue generation and if you don't directly contribute- as a server or manager, then you may be deemed as unimportant. If you're able to work late nights – more... this is the job for you. Your life experience here will be amazing but you'll have to have a second job to live comfortably. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential except for the greedy corporate overlords...
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 30, 2014
Pros: great product and state of the art kitchen to work with.
Cons: harsh financial contrast between kitchen and the rest of the restaurant.
My first impressions of the capital grille were ones of high quality, like I had finally found somewhere to work where people acted as a team and cared about everyone there being successful. For the first few months this was pretty much the case. We opened in early 2014 and I got overtime like crazy for a while and no one seemed to mind about labor – more... because business was good. Lately things have changed in that the restaurant is still operating exactly as it was before, good business and the servers make great money. They complain about making $250 in one night's service. That's how good they do on average. But the kitchen staff is regularly yelled at about labor and our hours are cut more and more. Instead of firing the handful of lazy employees, they cut all of our hours and shrug when we tell them we have bills to pay. Basically we are expendable garbage and everyone else lives like kings. It wouldn't be so bad but they have the worst system regarding their food costs. They over prep multiple items daily, and then they throw out everything at the end of the night. It's not hard to set up a better prep system. We don't receive enough time to do everything required of us and the reservations are constantly overbooked for certain time periods. Every day we are slow until about 7 p.m. Then we are hit with 150 covers until 8. Then it slows to a crawl once again and we wait for 10 o'clock. It's a daily reminder of how little they understand. Space out the reservations. They yell how long on a ticket that just came in along with 20 other tickets with multiple large parties all at the same time. Space out the effing reservations. And then they have the gall to act like they themselves are appalled when there are even the smallest delays. Hold yourselves to the same high standards you hold us to. It's a high class restaurant being run by greedy, snobby jerks and its kitchen staff is underpaid, overworked and treated like they work at a waffle house or ihop. I don't make horrible money but I don't make what a cook at a place such as this should make. They pull in plenty of money every day/week/month/year and I can't pay my rent. Share the wealth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
❸ Certified Server Trainer (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 16, 2014
Pros: great managers, employee meal
I like the management and my coworkers. Potential for great income. Insurance not available yet. Need more people walking into the restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations and high rewards
Server Assistant (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJFebruary 12, 2014
The management was probably the most professional management I had ever had the pleasure of working with. They inspired to do my job better and better which is something that I will take with me to future endeavors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Day Hostess (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIDecember 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not enough tables at times
Fine dining at it's BEST.. Love working there. Great atmosphere and menu with reasonable prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high energy great environment
waitrss (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 12, 2013
Pros: fun high paying job
waited on high clientele. great energy very nice people. paired wine and food. great wine knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine Dining Corporate Restaurant
Trainer and Sever (Current Employee), Garden City, NYSeptember 26, 2013
The restaurant provides opportunities for servers to exceed. They give you the necessary tools to do your job successfully. The guests who dine at the Capital Grille are enjoyable and therefore many become regular and loyal guests. The restaurant has taught me a great deal about corporate structure, teamwork, and customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Robot land
server (Former Employee), NaplesAugust 15, 2013
They hung me high and dry after I did all for them and lead the team.
I won't even waste my breath...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent job with growth potential but needs better management staff
Lead Hostess (Current Employee), Dunwoody, GAJuly 22, 2013
Pros: free family meals and flexible schedules
Cons: poor management, unprofessional staff
Great company but the particaular location I worked at is unprofessional and lacking integrity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, just not enough business to go around
Server / Bartender (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: family meals, flexible hours, great managers, fun staff
Cons: lack of business
Go in, setup for the night shift by stocking and cleaning a few things for dinner. Serve the happy hour guest from 430-7, then service main dining until close. I've been here for over 2 years now and watched quite a few good employees leave because our inconsistent business flow. Our managers seem to be doing their best to secure business, but it appears – more... that our location and concept are not quite right for that particular area. We have some people who put in several hours, but are not benefiting or thriving do to lack of business. The ones who still are employed for the most part work together to help the restaurant maintain its great reputation. I don't want to leave this place that I've now invested so much time in, but I'm left with no other choice because I'm not making sufficient income. I enjoy my management team and co-workers, but i now must seek employment elsewhere if I am to maintain a healthy and comfortable quality of life! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good structure
Foodserver/Bartender/Certified trainer/KeyEmployee (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAMay 17, 2013
Pros: family meal everyday.
Cons: lack of communication between managers
Clear expectations, core values, great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The money was good but the work was overbearing
Server (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 4, 2012
Working for the restaurant was very overwhelming. Although the money was nice, the schedule and work load was extremely unbalanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortunes Top 100 Companies to Work for
Hostess (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 27, 2012
Fine Dinning, Amazing Customer Service, Dealing with high end guests, Love the Capital Grille
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with decent potential to earn a good salary
Server (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 4, 2012
Pros: free lunches, long breaks
Cons: long hours
a typical day at work requires physical labor carrying different items up and down 2 flights of stairs, frequent interaction with guests, and responsible for selling high end products. I honed my salesmanship skills here at the capital grille and learned about high end wines. Management at The Capital Grille is excellent. My co-workers sometimes are – more... team players and enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job is being able to consolidate tasks in order to complete them in a timely and effective manner. the most enjoyable part of the job is having the abilities to know and sell the higher end products. – less

The Capital Grille Photos