The Center for Discovery Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Residential Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYNovember 30, 2016
assisted residents with every day living activities.
i learned how to be patient and understanding.
management was close by, and knowledgeable as well as helpful.
my co workers were diverse, and worked well together.
the job is not hard, but there were hard days when some residents
didn't cooperate as well as they would normally.
Pros
set schedules, pay and benefits, culture
Cons
no unapproved off campus trips
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents are awesome, management sucks big time
Senior Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYMay 29, 2016
This is a great place to work if your in school or just getting your life together to move on to bigger and better things. The residents and the people that you'll be assisting are the best part about working at this place, at times it can be tough dealing with individuals who are complex but it makes you feel good when you know your are doing your best to help them. Management is very horrible and the higher ups are very disconnected with what's really going on in the residences houses. It's sad to say but if they like you, your good to stay and if they don't like you, they will find anything to get you fired. I worked at this place for almost five years and I seen the mistreatment of a lot of people at this job. It just amazes me that management can mistreat employees that care and assist the residents. This place will be taken over by the state eventually.
Pros
Residents, free lunch, benefits
Cons
Management management management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Coordinator
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYAugust 15, 2016
You can come in with a very good salary if you have previous experience as a House Manager or Program Manager in Developmental Disability. The other way to make this management position is to hire on as Residential Associate do a good job and fairly quickly you can make Senior RA. After a few years gaining experience and solid work performance you will be made a PC In Training and after training and demonstrating ability you will be promoted to Program Coordinator and oversee a residential program. This job is much more than a House Manager - more responsibility and more salary with great benefits. You can get promoted quicker if you have a college degree in Human Services, Psychology etc. but you can make it without college. You can also apply for tuition reimbursement program if course work is in a related field. You will not succeed if you bring in a lot of drama, are always late to work or fall asleep on duty. There are a lot of demanding tasks that need to be performed in a safe manner but it is very rewarding and satisfying work if you like to work with people. Ignore most of what you read in the negative posts. You need to make up your own mind. This type of career is not for everyone. Many people come here and wind up staying because it is a very cool place to be.
Pros
Excellent place to work and be healthy with good food and exercise.
Cons
Need better salaries for entry level positions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet unstable and frustrating management.
Residential Associate (Former Employee) –  North and South CampusJuly 26, 2016
I will start by advising everyone to Google and read "CQC The Center for Discovery".
It is a 38 page report, conducted by the NYS Commission of quality care and advocacy for persons with disabilities, and published by the Justice Center on a government website.
It goes into detail on the fiscal dealings of the than and STILL CEO Patrick Dollar, the members of the board and their luxurious personal spending habits on the company's dollar.

The Center does not give bonuses, BARELY gives a raise every 2 years (1%-3%), and are more concerned of their image and dealings in politics than their staff and residents. I started at $12.00, left at $12.36 three and a half years later.

The turn over rate is outrageous due to allowing a minimum age of 18 and a diploma or GED, which puts the residents in danger as well as other staff. If you are liked, you will keep your job, if you speak up against wrong doings with management, you immediately become a target. They are also infamous for fixing issues after they occur.

They do have great set schedules, 7am-3pm, 3pm-11pm and 11pm-7am. Free meals during shift since there are no breaks. Tuition reimbursement and benefits are offered. Even though I have heard horror stories about the reimbursement program and the benefits are a bit expensive compared to others. You also learn and grow with these individuals while helping them develop crucial skills.
Pros
Free meals, free gym, learning about individuals with disabilities.
Cons
Management, promises of "wellness hour", no room for advancement, turn over rate, crooked CEO and Board/Higher ups.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor upper management
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYFebruary 14, 2017
The residents themselves are great. The upper management are all crooks. Mark Floyd is a poor excuse of a man. To say he was in the military he lacks discipline. Anyways putting others down like he is better than anyone. People like him put others down to make up for his short comings. We have to continue to write to OMRDD and OMH to get the real truth what goes on in this facility brought to the light. Will start with the board with the recordings that we have during some of the abuse that has taken place. No matter how long it takes. I will get the center top dogs expose for all the crocked things they do and allow. Those residents are out there by loved ones so they can be taken care of not abused. ARC and New Hope always have their residents in the neighborhood doing things. The Center keep their residents locked in like caged animals. They are afraid maybe they would take and really tell other in the community what is happening to them beyond closed doors.
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility for learning what it means to be a music therapist!
Intern (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYDecember 12, 2016
I really enjoyed my time at The Center for Discovery and the rewarding challenges it presented from working with children diagnosed with MD and ASD. Using a humanistic, improvised style of music therapy really pushed me to reach my potential and experience what music therapy could bring to others' lives. It's truly beautiful work!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Center for Discovery Nursing Department
LPN (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYSeptember 14, 2015
The chain of command is mostly followed. Superiors mostly eager to help. Supervisors always available. Most healthcare is provided on site. Amazing RA's to complete everyday care. Unfortunately, due to ICF standards there are not a lot of opportunities to be hands on. Most nursing responsibilities are paperwork derived.
Pros
Comfortable working environement, Top Notch Health Care, Specialized care for individuals under OPWDD regulations, great benefits, working chain of command
Cons
paperwork based nursing; not a lot of hands on opportunities in ICF care
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Part Time Safety and Securitry Staff (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYJanuary 7, 2017
Very nice place to work and you learn at lot.
Nice people to work with, I was working as a security officer and providing security to all buildings and house.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity for growth
Senior Residential Associate (Supervisor) (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYNovember 5, 2015
No opportunity for growth here. The worst place I have ever worked. Its all about politics and who you know. The management is just plain awful. The turn over rate is through the roof because they do not treat their staff well at all.
Pros
Benefits arent bad
Cons
Treat staff horrible!
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Residential Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYFebruary 10, 2017
I would go back to work there if I moved back to NYit was a great place and especially the focus that they have for the residents.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about The Center for Discovery?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling work
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYSeptember 30, 2015
Fun but tough job. Humbling experience. Company has grown so much in my time there. Demanding position with 24/7 responsibilities. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the progress made by the complex individuals that reside there. Company does seem to be trying to expanding beyond its means in my opinion.
Pros
competitive salary, free gym
Cons
too many chefs in the kitchen at times
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for mature individuals
Residential Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYJuly 31, 2013
The job was difficult at first but after a few weeks it was awesome, the training they send you too kinda makes it a little worse than what it really is.
Every house you work in is different but none the less you are required to take care of the residents at all cost, bathing, activities, teaching, eating, etc.
MOST IMPORTANT to them is safety (of course) but they require you to follow certain guild lines and if you react too quickly or too late that could cost you your job.
This job has a very high turn over rate, most because they hire kids right out of highschool who needs a job & people who go to college.
Overall the job has more pros than cons, but no matter how long and dedicated youve been with this company if you mess up once they will fire you without question.
Pros
Benefits, Management, Experience
Cons
Security, Traveling, Athority
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a Resident Associate...
Resident Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYFebruary 4, 2013
You will be in care for a group of residents with severe developmental disabilities. This is an emotionally exhaustive job, but if you have a personality which thrives on caring for others, you will find it enjoyable. You also complete required paperwork, help the residents with daily living skills, cleaning, chores, activities and are expected to be at work no matter the weather. Management could be better, as there is little supervision of staff during the shift and as a result many of the co-workers slack off and sometimes you end up doing their work on top of your own. The hardest part of the job is dealing with behaviors from the residents and dealing with co-workers when they do not work. The most enjoyable aspect of the job is knowing you are helping people who would otherwise be overlooked, and really learning from the residents.
Pros
excellent benefits, positive atmosphere
Cons
lack of direct supervision of workers at all times, lack of responsibility on the part of some workers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, if you drink the kool aid
Residential Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYJune 2, 2015
I enjoyed my time here. They have a different way doing things and expect you to follow them without question. Not a bad way, just very atypical of average life.
Pros
helping the less fortunate, friendly atmosphere, decent benefits
Cons
may be a little too strange for most, upper management may be a little disconnected from the rest of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good care, poor management
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  nyApril 13, 2016
The people got very good care here, but the management leaves much to be desired. My immediate supervisor was absulutely useless!! However, if I reported her to her boss, they would not believe this. It is a very political climate and you are either "in" or "out". Very poor communication with the staff. and if you dont cow tow to everything they say or want you are definately "out"
Pros
good care for residents
Cons
management poor
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and satisfying job
Residential Associate (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYMay 25, 2016
As an RA, you work with individuals with special needs. You assist them in activities of daily living and work on their goals in order to build necessary skills for life functioning. Overall, it is a very fun and satisfying job.
Pros
paid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educating workplace
Teacher's Associate (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYFebruary 26, 2012
The Center for Discovery is really great with their work ethics. They also are great with the children and adults they provide care and services to.
Pros
great hours, great atmosphere
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students and residents were the best part about this place!
TA (Former Employee) –  Harris NYJune 2, 2015
I went through orientation thinking that what they were saying was true but I was wrong. Some of the employees are downright rude and just miserable. I also noticed if there was a resident with a disability that was much more complex than another resident, that person would be passed on to someone else other than the person who was writing the schedule because they didn't want to deal with it. I would recommend someone working here if they were just working for the summer or working there until they find a more permanent job because you do not want to work with nasty employees forever. The residents and students are fantastic but not a healthy work environment if you are an upbeat person because it seems like everyone around you is always trying to bring you down!
Pros
Awesome residents and students
Cons
(Some) miserable, rude employees
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Either you love it or you hate it.
Teacher's Associate (Former Employee) –  Harris, NYJuly 24, 2013
Just know that you're in for a challenge. The gap between the people who do direct care and those who are administrators is massive and therefore leads to a lot of misunderstandings and/or lack of respect. Inadequate breaks are a huge issue when you are in such a high stress environment. If you are the kind of person that can brush off aggressive behaviors and can stay detached with a sense of humor, you will flourish. If you carry stress with you and become emotionally invested, you will be overwhelmed. The facilities are incredible but the expectations of perfection within them can be unreasonable. Your coworkers will be your safety net, but this is a school so you can always run into messy miscommunications right quick.
Pros
Facilities and grounds
Cons
Stress levels and lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique facility that provides fantastic care and opportunities for children and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder and multiple disabilities.
Music Therapy Intern (Current Employee) –  Harris, NYNovember 8, 2014
The Center for Discovery is a outstanding music therapy internship site. My seven-month internship has given me extensive experience leading individual and group music therapy sessions with children and adults with ASD and multiple disabilities using an improvisational approach. The music therapy department consists of five incredible music therapists, all of whom are excellent resources for an intern. I feel my internship has supplied me with the training and experience I need to be successful as a Board Certified Music Therapist.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No13Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Center for Discovery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

The Center for Discovery Reviews by Location