Find companies:
The Children's Aid Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

The Children's Aid Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional setting with great programs for participants
Group Leader (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 29, 2014
The Children's Aid Society-Hope Leadership Academy program gave me the opportunity to work hands on with the teenage participants daily. Everyday bought many different tasks in running errands, assisting with trips around New York City and conducting workshops for teens. Also, creating documents using Microsoft word, PowerPoint, Publisher, Excel and – more... Outlook and secretarial work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience working with children.
GROUP LEADER/FACILITATOR (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
short work day, staff is friendly and experienced, and is an overall enjoyable experience if you enjoy working with children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Student Aid Counselor, Dept Youth Employment (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2014
Pros: witnessing children learning
Cons: n/a
The ability to see children learn a new concept/ idea is priceless, it is really remarkable to see them grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with children
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 4, 2014
the most enjoyable part is seeing the smile on the children when you help them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Mobile Out Reach Coach (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 11, 2013
Company is a good company. Great staff, and benefits with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self gratifying feeling
Accountability Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYNovember 20, 2013
Pros: making a difference in society
This was an ideal job. It requires attention to detail which is my expertise. I felt self gratifying working for an organization that made a difference in children's lives. This intervention will secure a brighter future for our new generation. I enjoyed every part of this job. I treasure all that I have learned from this organization. The co-workers – more... were team players and we got along very well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
New York Youth Works Program Trainee (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 23, 2013
Cons: i had a week in a half break during the hurricane sandy
For new york youth program we work on reviewing the math and reading skills to see how well we are in both subjects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun. Had a pool table
Clerical Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 17, 2013
Pros: free snacks, could listen to radio
Cons: no breaks, in a bad neighborhood
I would usually sit at the front desk and answer calls. I would file. I would decorate the place if it needed decorating. I learned how to laminate, fax and how to properly greet someone on the phone. My coworkers were easy to talk to. The hardest part of my job was filing.It wasn't really hard but it was a long process. The most enjoyable part of my – more... job was decorating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work place amazing staff and colleagues.
Case Aide/ Case Planner (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: free wellness sessions for overwhelmed workers, eap program
Cons: health care and under paid salaries
The Children's Aid Society is a great place to work its a great stepping stone especially when you are just coming into the field of social work. They are a challenging and very productive program they work really hard to support and strengthen their employees knowledge and make sure that they are well trained and equip to work with clients and their – more... families. I am glad I had the opportunity to be part of their team of employees – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working atmoshpere
Program Specialist/Basketball Coach (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 22, 2013
Helping children with their daily activities and goals, and enjoying co-workers was essential here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Administrative Assitant (Former Employee), Bronx Family CenterSeptember 5, 2013
Cons: pay
I am a former employee of CAS, if you're not part of management they can careless who you are! Liars, cons, and thefts...since there's no background check they hire anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization.
Child Welfare (Current Employee), New YorkAugust 18, 2013
Pros: dedication to clients; great mission aimed at reducing poverty
Cons: pay;
Good place to work. Great benefits and wonderful mission. Been there a number of years and I have grown professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful center that truly helps the community
Teacher (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 30, 2013
Pros: great community
The center is family driven, we not only work with students but we work with families as well. The most enjoyable part of this job is knowing that you are truly helping in a community in need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Senior Group Leader (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 26, 2013
A great job for an aspiring teacher, great experience builder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't enjoy my experience with CAS Central Budget Office
Budget Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits, work/life balance, friendly co-workers
Cons: too politically driven, no opportunity to advance, unfriendly management
I don't know if most of the reviews here are fake - but I did not enjoy my time at CAS working with the Budget Department. My manager who is the central budget director was extremely rude and callous and barely even talked to me. She didn't give me work for about three weeks and had me sitting at my desk all day with nothing - when I asked for work – more... she outsourced me to other departments to do administrative tasks such as filing and scanning. Work I was given was not relevant to the position and when she met with me she had the audacity to tell me that she wasn't my boss. My boss and the other Senior Budget Analyst would close their door's on me, not invite me to meetings, or speak to me. When I was terminated - it was without warning and she and the general counsel were real snobby with me and told me I COULD NOT file for unemployment and I wouldn't be getting any severance. I was let go for wanting to work and do my job. I'm sorry - but I would not want my own worst enemy to be a part of this company, or maybe just the Central Budget Office.

Everyone outside of the Central Budget Office was extremely friendly and welcoming. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Clinical Dental Hygienist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 2, 2013
Challenging work, enjoy working with children in a school based setting.

May 7, 2013

Do the teachers get all of the holyday of like spring break, midwinter break ???

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turn Over Rate
Medical Foster Care Case Worker (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 21, 2013
Pros: you are compensated for travel expenses when in the field.
Cons: cons mentioned below.
A typical day at work in no particular order includes:
• Supervising family visits with foster children and their biological parents.
• Creating and/or monitoring service plans for biological parents planning for the goal of reunification with their children.
• Having several meetings such as family team conferences to address the goal of permanency – more... for foster children and to address what services have been referred to planning parents and what services they have complied with.
• Preparing Court Reports, FASPS, Permanency Hearing Reports and Reauthorization Reports in a timely manner.
• Submitting requests for Exceptional/Special Rates for children based on their specific needs.
• Making school visits to advocate for special needs children, to ensure their needs are being met and to ensure they receive the services recommended in their IEP's.
• Attending IEP meetings to monitor children's educational progress, Making home visits to foster homes as well as birth homes of planning parents on a monthly basis and assessing these homes for safety.
• Attending Court Hearings at Family Court to update the courts on cases, testify, and/or make the appropriate recommendations based on experience working directly with the families, etc.
• Keeping track of Foster Children's upcoming Medical Appointments Making sure to invite biological parents to all of their children's Medical Appointments.
• Monitoring the attendance of biological parents to their children's Medical Appointments.
• Requesting Case Aid Coverage when you cannot supervise family visits yourself
• Working with the Adoptions Unit for children who need to be adopted.
• Maintaining written records of all casework contact and collateral contact.

This job is very fast faced and can be very very stressful. It is very important to make sure to plan ahead of time in order to meet every demand in a timely manner. Also, due dates are very important to keep.The pay is $34,000.00 with a BS degree and $44,000 with a Masters degree. The caseload is heavy and the pay is not enough for the high level of stress that you will have to deal with. But, if you are just graduating and are in need of experience, this would be the perfect position for you to practice time management as well as multi tasking. It will provide you with the discipline to thrive at any other position you may obtain afterward. Also, If you are able to maintain your caseload for at least one year, many doors will open for you.

As far as work hours, this position IS NOT a 9-5 job. You will have to put in many extra hours to get the job done.

Pros:
You are compensated for Travel Expenses for Field Work.

Cons:
High stress, little pay and the turnover rate is very high because many people tend to quit. Within a year and a half of my employment, I had three different supervisors. At one point I did not have a supervisor for about 5 months. Case Workers quit just as often as Supervisors and also many Case Workers are fired due to their inability to keep up with their demanding responsibilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shadowed Case Planners and Senior Case Manager
Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 12, 2012
Shadowed Case Planners and Senior Case Manager
Conducted Group sessions with Shelter youth ages 8-12 yrs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to intern
Clinical Social Work Intern (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 31, 2012
I had a brilliant and engaged supervisor. I now feel prepared and experienced enough to take on any crisis and task at my next job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very creative place to work
Youth Development Coordinator, (Former Employee), Bronx New YorjJuly 25, 2012
Pros: were allowed to create new programs
Cons: sometime not enough time
I learned that young people when given the right support and training can do aall most anything My co-worker shared my faith concerning young people