Find companies:
The Children's Home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

The Children's Home Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Behavior Analyst (Current Employee), Mt. Holly, NJJune 16, 2014
Great people and environment! TCH is a great place to gain experience working with troubled and/or DD youth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy day
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Mount Holly, NJMay 31, 2014
My job pertains, breaking up fights and connecting with the young girls in this program. Not every day is a fight but almost everyday is, I've learned her that everyone is not the same and you have to be patient and take your time with certain girls. My co workers are reliable for the most part because we work as a team getting things done and making – more... the house get along well with one another. The hardest part of my job is the constant AWOL and fighting non stop, disrespecting staff. The most enjoyable part of my job is connecting with the girls and getting threw to them enforcing them that there is a better life out there than this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Mount Holly, NJMay 7, 2014
Great place to learn from out of college. Some days are extremely physically and emotionally exhausting while other days the children make me laugh regardless of their negative behaviors. Staff is what helps get through the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and relaxing job atmosphere
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCApril 25, 2014
The Children's home sits on a picturesque 210 acre farm. Unfortunately at this time the programs are lacking in funding and has made the management team to dwindle and leaves supervision a little lacking. All of the staff are very well trained and qualified and is a pleasure working with them all. The hardest part of the job is having to do so much – more... with very little in ways of funding so the pay is a bit low. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with very dedicated staff and making a difference in the life of a child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great scenery
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Tampa, FLApril 14, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: gym
Great housing for the children that resigned there. I loved the environment and having the opportunity to work with the less fortunate. I know for me growing up times were rough and just being able to put a smile on thee children face is what made my experience so wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedication
Behavioral Counselor (Current Employee), Mount Holly NJMarch 25, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: pay
Excellent programs and support
As a shift leader its important to manage all co workers in a manner to ensure safety of the children,

Interacting, talking teaching everyday life skills

Management is supportive and available

Its such a reward to see the children smile and most importantly that they learn something everyday. The blessing comes when – more... a child that hasn't spoken or done something in awhile but yet with you they do and then their parents' want to shadow them only – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be Prepared
Clinician (Former Employee), Catonsville, MDMarch 8, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: overworked and lack of clinical support across the entire campus
Be prepared for corruption from the top to the bottom. Be prepared to sell your soul or else you're out. They will find a way to get you out. Other than that I loved the children and the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not enjoy working at this particular location.
Residential Counselor I (Former Employee), Mount Holly, NJFebruary 11, 2014
I found my manager to be greatly unhelpful in assisting me in being successful at the Children's Home. The staff was just as unhelpful. But this all helped me to realize I needed a slight career change!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental Health Agency working with children and families
Counseling Educator (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCSeptember 30, 2013
Pros: flexiblity
Cons: short breaks, no retirement plan, higher health cost
I enjoyed working at The Children's Home, Inc. My passion is to work with children and families and advocate for their needs. I work a day shift in a day program with students. I assist staff, counselors, and case workers in meeting the needs of children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer only
Home visit and Volunteer speaker (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 16, 2013
Pros: only volunteering
Cons: n/a
This was not job this was just a volunteering I did to just show appreciation to my home visitor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couselor
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Mount Holly, NJFebruary 25, 2013
My job was to help traumaitzed girls with basic life skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Licensed Therapist (Former Employee), Palm Harbor, FLNovember 1, 2012
I can only speak for the program I was working in (it is a large company), but the management was intelligent and kind, and they balanced meeting the company goals with treating the staff respectfully. They seemed to genuinely care about their staff's wellbeing, which is not always the case in large organizations that are required to meet outcomes for – more... funding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New CEO is evil
CFO (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 9, 2012
The new President of this company is evil! She fired my dad and all of the other upper management for no reason! Do not work here!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Group home facility offers various different programs
RESIDENTIAL COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Winston Salem, NCJuly 18, 2012
Pros: you can eat free in the cafeteria
Cons: does not value employees
I refuse to give a review of this company because my experience was not great so I may be bias
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most incoming donations and money earned in our stores went to help the children.
Business Manager (Former Employee), Mount Holly, NJJuly 10, 2012
Pros: i could not wait to wake up in the morning to go to work. very satisfying work.
Cons: my supervisor believed the lies of his personal friend, who was stealing and let me go without checking his lies and storiews which were totally untrue.
I broke my tail working for them. Even though I was only required to work 5 days each week, I loved the place and the kids so much I worked 7 days each week. I was offered 3 weeks vacation each year, but never took any in the ten years there. I liked working there that much. Unfortunately my supervisor believed the lies of one of the workers who was – more... his personal friend.and I was fired. That employee was stealing from the company to the tune of several hundred dollars each year along with a volunteer and he knew I was on his tail. That is why he lied about me and had me fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Titusville, NJJune 14, 2012
I get to work about 8am pass medication at various times of the day.I interact with the clients and respond to any medical situations. I learned how to work with DDD children. I only work every other weekend 12 hour shifts. Management there is organized and professional. My co-workers are good workers. There's no hardest part of the job for me,i enjoy – more... working there and the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the clients. – less

About The Children's Home

We make a strong commitment to find a "forever" family for the children in our care. Our S.E.A.R.C.H. (So Every Available – Read more