Find companies:
The Children's Village
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

The Children's Village Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job out of college
Assistant teacher (Former Employee), Richmond Hill, GAJune 6, 2014
I learned alot in this position and am greatful for the lessons I learned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Challenging
Direct Care (Current Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJune 5, 2014
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: challneging residents
Great place to grow but a challenging job. Management is OK. Co workers are fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Secure Detention Facility
Social Worker - Family Court Assistance Program (Current Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYApril 23, 2014
My job entails meeting with the residents on a weekly basis, and keeping up with their paperwork. I have learned how to be a team player and to work for the good of the child. Some days are difficult, but the satisfaction of keeping adolescents safe and helping provide for their needs is worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend it
MST Therapist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 30, 2014
Pros: somewhat flexible schedule
Cons: poor and abusive management
A typical day is home visits to clients, plus maybe a meeting a couple times a week with staff/supervisors.

I learned about MST family therapy, and how to do family therapy with youth offenders and their families.

A plus is that the agency offers pretty extensive training.

Management is pretty darn bad. Abusive, insensitive and vindictive at times. – more... No union, so favoritism is the rule of the day. Don't expect to be treated fairly or with professionalism.

You may luck out and get a good supervisor, but upper management is horrendous.

The agency culture is pretty insensitive too.
At the agency "holiday party", workers were given a gift bag to take home. Guess what was inside? Christmas ornaments! (talk about not politically correct...has this social service NYC agency not gotten the memo that not every New Yorker is Christian or celebrates Christmas? It would be laughable if it wasn't so disheartening.)

Hardest part of the job was dealing with management, and home visits can be difficult at times, depending on the families.

Most enjoyable part of the job is that you can to some extent set a flexible schedule for yourself, which is nice. (schedule home visits as is convenient for you and the families you work with).

Compensation wasn't terrible, about average for someone with a degree - not great.

Job Work/Life Balance isn't great because you are doing home visits to all your clients, all over the city, plus attending meetings for the agency.
Of course the flexible schedule, again, is a plus for work/life balance though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great individual growth
RESIDENTIAL WORKER (Former Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYMarch 17, 2014
Pros: the ability to work with children being able to change lives.
Cons: n/a
This job was challenging. on account of learning new protocols and service training under OFFICE OF CHILD SERVICES. I enjoy working with youth and is inspired to influence change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Children's Village has a challenging population but rewarding on many levels.
Art therapist, counselor (Former Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: emotionally rewarding work.
Cons: mountains of paper work caused some late nights.
I worked and an independent art therapist who was the first to develop and institute an art therapy program on that campus. I saw between 15 to 25 boys per week. I carried a heavy case load and worked full time. The hardest part of my job was to procure funding for additional programs. The most enjoyable part of the job was to see boys succeed with – more... the program and graduate and move on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superior work environment with limited and competitive growth opportunities. Not for the weak of character or will.
Assistant Supervisor, TRAC Program (Former Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: good starting pay, overtime, full benefits
Cons: limited advancement opportunities, lack of accountability in regards to management, no tuition reimbursement or education incentives
As a Youth Specialist at the Children's Village, specifically the TRAC Program, you can expect that your day will follow a schedule to assist in a consistency and flow. However, that will be the only thing you can guarantee will be the same from day to day.

In order to fill this position, you must be willing to wear multiple hats at the same time while – more... being able to switch gears and go from cooking lunch or dinner, for example, to having a Life Space Interview (LSI) with a minor to identify problematic behavior or assist in cleaning the cottage to build a rapport with the residents. This is not a job, it becomes a lifestyle. To say that you will not become emotionally invested in your residents would be a folly.

The leadership at the Children's Village TRAC Program is wonderful, they are attentive, open to suggestions and proactive in their roles as a bridge between the upper echelon of the organization and the front line staff. However, for every amazing Assistant or Senior Supervisor there are also those individuals who have become complacent or, at times, detrimental to the staff with their lack of attention or laziness. While this is not enough to damage the overall experience in the organization, it will still leave a bad taste in your mouth when you come across these certain individuals. This problem is only exacerbated by the fact that said individuals are high tier decision makers who at times seem to be unapproachable.

The Children's Village TRAC program is an amazing, close knit, progressive place to work where your input will be valued and your work appreciated by the residents and your supervisors. Limited advancement opportunities make long-term employment options limited, but the right candidates will find no trouble making lateral or horizontal advancements through either the program or the organization in general. This is not the place for those persons who are easily offended or in need of constant approval. You will need thick skin to survive, but if you do the reward of knowing you've helped a child and done so while making a wage you can live off of and having a full benefits package only makes it that much sweeter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience with The Children's Village
General Preventive QI & Compliance Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 15, 2014
I learned a lot about the child welfare system, program standards and compliance.

CV provided great experience, benefits and compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sociotherapist Supervisor II (Current Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Excellent training department great place to work. Opportunity to move up. Very family oriented place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Lead Teacher (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, GADecember 26, 2013
Pros: a very good chilcare center
Cons: salary
It is a very good place to work, with good and hard working people. Good team work and great Communications skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childrens Village does not respect their employees, their clients, or the thousands of children to which they are in business to help
Caseworker (Former Employee), Bronx NYNovember 7, 2013
Pros: there are some really great people employed by cv excluding there less than helpful management, and some terrific kids who want permanency from the cv organization.
Cons: they are incompetent as a whole and the pay is horrible unless your management.
HR is quick to dismiss their emoloyees. They claim to care about their clients but it is the good employees who are making them look good. The good employees are usually the ones who they are quick to let go. You are not able to discuss how things can be better or speak on tbeir inconsistencies or you will be terminated. The VP of HR does not allow – more... the emoloyees to stand up for themselves. She signs termination papers as much as she wipes her backside. It is a terrible place to work if you care about your clients because they don't recognize your efforts. Its all about funding and the political aspects and not about the Families in which they are hired to help. Many children suffer from their incompetent Management style that CV possesses. I think that ACS should investigate this organization before they ruin more innocent lives. If you want to work in Social Services I reccommend that you look at another Organization,because this one is being Governed by egotistical self-centered induviduals. CV offers low pay no team spirit and will not allow you to feel fulfillment at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace flexible hours
Parent Advocate and MAPP trainer (Former Employee), 2090 Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Blvd New YorkOctober 16, 2013
Pros: meals were always provided when had meetings or trainings
Cons: healthcare very expensive, pay was below industry standards
Contact parents by phone set up home visits, address any concerns and help with transporting children from one agency location ie; Queens , Bronx NY for medicals or visits. Monitored
visits between Parents and their children and their siblings and other family members.I learned to be empathetic and to be aware of my as well as of the client's body language – more... so that communication would be less adverse. There was always a supervisor or manager that I could communicate with for advice ie email and company cell phone or desk. I was very lucky to have been able to work with coworkers who helped one another on projects.The hardest part is to say no to staying late or helping to diffuse an irrate client in a crisis.The most enjoyable part was the monthly department meetings where we could give our coworkers recognition for going beyond their usual duties, there is nothing like getting recognized by your peers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every moment was a teaching moment
R.H.Y.S. Specialist (Former Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYAugust 19, 2013
My overall experience while working for The Children's Village was fundamental. Each day was original, I could always look forward to a different type of experience upon each shift. The culture of the shelter was warm and diverse. Management was professional and fair. The thing I enjoyed the most about working for this organization was being able to – more... interact with the youth that we served. It was rewarding to know that I made a difference in everyone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Peer Educator (Former Employee), Valhalla, NYAugust 9, 2013
Makes me feel great knowing im helping other young people and making a difference in their lives! Very self rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting environment to work in.
Youth Advocate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2013
Pros: i was assisting my boss personally, so i got to see what it takes to keep a program together.
Cons: i wasn't getting paid.
First meeting of the day is with my supervisor. Here we discuss the tasks of the day. after I understand our objective, I use the programs resources to get the task done in the most efficient way possible. Myself and Three other employees were capable of helping each other and maintain our own duties. Most liberating job ever.I was given the opportunity – more... to complete a task as I saw fit and always ended with extraordinary outcomes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a perfect working environment for people who do not like to do the same every day
Youth Care Specialist (Current Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJuly 3, 2013
It is a perfect working environment for people who do not like to do the same every day. A great place for those who love to work with kids. My work area is with minors that come from another countries and it's a great experience working with them...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Teacher Associate (Current Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJune 26, 2013
I have gained the skills to manage children with dysfunctional behavior in an organized and goal oriented settings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work
Security Councelor (Former Employee), Dobbs Ferry, NYJune 14, 2013
Pros: easy work at times.
Cons: low pay rate
not a bad place to work if you just trying to do something. people are nice, at times kids get out of hand but that usual in those cases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with children.
Lead Teacher (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJune 7, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: part time
The best part of this job was the children I love working with the little babies. Children are like little sponges they love to soak up knowlegde.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Service Agency, gained great experience
Case Aide II (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 17, 2013
I have worked at CV for 4 years and in that time have served in many capacities. I have gained quite a bit of knowledge of the social work field.