Find companies:
The City University of New York
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

The City University of New York Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work provided little challenges. However, I value the information and skills learned in public service. The office attire was relat
Student Financial Administrator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: education advancement
Cons: closed door policy
A typical day at work provided little challenges. However, I value the information and skills learned in public service. The office attire was relatively casual. However, administrators were formal at meetings and conferences. The hardest part of working for the organization was insufficient challenges, growth and development. Interracting with the – more... diverse student body was the most enjoyable part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple design task, hard deadlines great design team spirit.
Graphic Design Director (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: shifting priorities and last minute projects
I have worked for The City University of New York for 8 year and it has been a great and rewarding ex moved to Graphic Design Manager. My responsibilities included brainstorming concepts with the design team whose creative inputs I have relished as ideation session have birthed great concepts and then developed into unique designs for the campus-clients. – more... As a lead I work to keep teammates motivated through editing stages, tight deadlines and shifting priorities. Every working day, I get to be creative, craft a message that engages, increases visibility and push the brand reach further. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun
College Tutor (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 2, 2013
Pros: easy access to text books
Cons: no breaks
Tutoring college students requires a thorough knowledge in your area of interest, during the period I have been with my current workplace, I have realized that students put all their confidence in their tutors, and this necessitate that, tutors have to be well informed at all times.

The funny it about group tutoring I have observed is that,at any point – more... in time, at least three students need your help and ignoring one's question to answer the other create some sorts inconvenience on the part of the other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affords me autonomy as a Program Director
Director (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 20, 2013
Pros: allows me to be a visionary; to think beyond the box(es).
Cons: the funding for this performance-based grant is limited and constricting.
I currently manage a staff of five and ensure optimum services for 475+ participants [college students]. I enjoy assisting others in their quest for self-fulfillment and economic self-sufficiency via higher education. I identify and create linakes/partnerships with other stakeholders to provide direct, exemplary services to the participants and indirectly – more... to their dependents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Assistant Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 30, 2013
Review and prepare comments on electrical plans, fire alarm system plans, and telecommunication plans on Design Development drawings for 22 CUNY colleges. Manage fire alarm projects for all CUNY colleges. Project management and monitor the progress at job sites. Oversee projects to ensure they run efficiently and completed by deadlines. Review payment – more... requisitions and verify amount request equals work completed to date. Since joining engineering department, FDNY has issued 3 fire alarm system approvals on 3 projects I was involved with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Adjunct Professor of Communications (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 2, 2013
Pros: location, diversity of students, unionized adjuncts
Cons: management
Great place and icon for public education. Incredible diversity of students and cultures. However, it is a 4-year public institution historically dependent on an ever-birthing middle class mechanism to feed its classrooms. Most if not all 4-year schools have done this; it's just their reality.

In the absence of this, with a globalized economy and its – more... ever-increasing techno-pursuit, some schools are producing employees of specific large-scale industries more so than creating individual members of society with the capacity to think. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The largest municipal university system in America
Environmental Compliance Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2012
CUNY has all of the cultural advantages of working in higher education, combined with the benefits of a municipal employer. Unfortunately, it also has the salary constraints of a municipal union environment and the problems of enforcing compliance on tenured faculty inherent in higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CUNY provides a colleagial and professional environment that appreciates and encourages scholarship
ADJUNCT LECTURER/INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 10, 2012
Pros: prestige and easy work schedule
Cons: not enough hours given to part time teachers
Too many teaching positions at the CUNY are part-time with little or no benefits. If no benefits are provided,at least allow more hours so that teachers can make a decent living. If the 9-hour maximum limit for a part-time Adjunct schedule is a contractural limitation, it needs to be modified and made more flexible. Yes, I am well aware of the union's – more... argument about hard-fought battles and not risking rights that have been won and I appreciate their views. But a rigid system hurts too many part-timers. More choice and flexibility is required in the system to be fairer to more teachers.

I for one, would gladly forego full time benefits, if I could work more than the maximum nine hours now allowed to a part-time Adjunct. A simple name change such as Adjunct Instructor or Adjunct Facilitator, and setting a pay rate 5 - 10% lower than full-time Adjuncts could clearly delineate the difference in status from the full time Adjuncts without jeopardizing the full-timers' status and benefits. I am sure many others would also agree with that point of view.

Another category of CUNY teachers, Instructors, are allowed more hours than Adjuncts but at a much lower hourly rate of pay. That situation of course needs to improve. I would suggest a 50% increase in pay and a 25 - 50% decrease in hours. This would require no increase in the budget, only a revised schedule. If for example, an Instructor makes $35.00 an hour now and works 30 hours a week, change it to 20 hours at $52.50 an hour. The salary remains the same, but working conditions improve for the teachers. This gives the instructor more time to decompress from the stresses of teaching.

Overall ,CUNY can be a very good place to work. I would give it an A- for work environment but a B to B- for part-time teachers' salaries. The part-time teaching staff makes up the vast majority of CUNY teachers. Having a majority of your teaching staff often dissatisfied is potentially a source of problems in the future. – less