Find companies:
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, provides good custumer service
Barista service to customers (Former Employee), West Hills, CADecember 1, 2014
Pros: two breaks
Cons: pay is very little
Worked extra hard to make very little pay. Fun environment with lots of happy co-workers and customers. Love to work with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall.
Barista (Current Employee), Calabasas, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: 1 free drink per shift, flexible schedules, great for making connections
Cons: low pay for hard work, no benefits until management level (usually), early/ late hours usually required (5am early, 12am late)
Any barista job is a bit underpaid for the amount of work and the level of proficiency expected of you. If you manage to move up in the company, it's a great career, but if you want to do something while you go to school, or need a supplemental part time income, I would recommend looking elsewhere. management is really attentive to your scheduling needs. – more... You learn to multitask really quick. Co workers are the best part of the job. The nicest people seem to get hired here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Barista (Former Employee), LAX terminal 6, Los Angeles, CAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: having to park in an employee parking lot and le to work
There was so much to do, first of all when I wasn't taking customers orders I would look for something to clean, brew more coffee or tea, put out more pastries also clean out the pastries from any crumbs that might have fallen. I learned how long coffee and tea lasts, I learned how to make blended coffee drinks also how to make a latte and more. Management – more... was okay. I loved my co-workers they were a fun large group of people all around my age I thought they were great. The hardest part of the job would have to be team work, for example one person is taking the order while another is making the order, if the person taking the order doesn't put down on the computer or even tells the person making the order exactly what the customer wanted then the person making the drink can easily get the drink wrong slowing down the line, the customer will probably get mad. The most enjoyable part was that work went by fast, it was always fast paced there was always something to do that just made an 8 hour shift go by so quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible job
Supervisor (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 15, 2014
The worst company I have ever worked for in my entire life. I have never been so humiliated and ashamed to tell people where I was working. the company is unorganized, the clientele is super cheap and I had a difficult time reporting concerns to human resources.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, with high energy.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Studio City, CAAugust 20, 2014
The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf is a great place to work. It really provides the fast paced environment, and is proficient with their products. Like any job, it's really up to you to make the best of it. I've learned much about the coffee culture, but learned much more from my peers at the Coffee Bean. There's nothing really hard about the work place, – more... but the best part is coming in and knowing I have an amazing and talented team to run our store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista (Former Employee), Carlsbad, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, amazing co-workers and management, abundant tips
Cons: it is hard to be promoted from within
I worked primarily as a cashier since I loved interacting with customers. Aside from working as a cashier, I also was in charge of managing the retail inventory, organizing and cleaning the inventory, assist customers to complete retail sails, clean the store, served food, and worked the coffee bar. The management was amazing. It was a bit rocky at – more... times because the store was in transition to hiring a new manager right when I was hired, but he got along with everyone easily. My co-workers were fabulous; there were many different personality types working there but somehow we all got along great in our own way. The hardest part about working there was that every shift-lead requested me to work for their shift, so I literally worked every shift twice a week [open, swing, close] 6 days a week so with that schedule I wasn't able to go to school or get another job. The most enjoyable aspect of this job was being able to work somewhere and have a fun time, whether you are having fun with the coworkers or with the customers. It was relatively simple work that was fun to do, so it never really seemed like working. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Austin, txAugust 1, 2014
Pros: great customers and co-workers
Cons: late nights and early mornings
Great co-workers! Learned so much about coffee and tea. So lucky to have the best GM. Early mornings were hard, but the customers made it worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet New People
Cashier (Former Employee), Romulus, MIJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch at popeyes
Cons: management
I've worked at the Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf at the DTW Airport in Detroit, MI. The atmosphere was great but the management team was not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pased environment serving the community
Barista (Former Employee), westlake, caJuly 10, 2014
Pros: short shifts
Cons: low wages
Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf is an overall fun job for a young adult looking for part time work. Growth with this type of industry is very challenging. The co-workers are what make this worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere where you can have fun
Store Manager (Current Employee), Wailea, HIMay 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, family atmosphere, upper management support
Cons: wages vs cost of living
Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Hawaii is one of the best companies I have Managed for. I get to make daily decisions and run it like it's my own business. Hiring is a challenge in the demographic area with the cost of living and general work ethic.My team members and customer make each day an enjoyable challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a typical job
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee), Goleta, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: work alone, discounts, tips
Cons: in the review
When i worked here, i didnt receive full training like i was told i would get. the cappuccino/espresso machine was broke the whole time so i was always losing customers due to that.

If i had received full training and the machine was working, the job wouldnt have been half bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Barista and Cashier (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: co workers, one free drink, employee discount.
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work mainly consists of helping customers, Making Hot or Cold drinks, and stocking and cleaning the store. Not every customer is easy or as kind but I respond and try to help them with a positive attitude. I recommend drinks that best suit their taste.

Working at The Coffee Bean and Tea leaf helped me come out of my comfort zone. I – more... was a very shy person when I started but I received help from my experienced co workers.

Every person i work with is different. no one has the same personality or interest, but we do treat each other with respect and friendliness. Every one at the Coffee bean pretty much gets along with one another.

There is really no hard part about the job.

The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to our regular customers and meeting new people who never been to the coffee bean. Also meeting new people whom are not from this country or city. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, get to meet new people everday, socialize with alot of diffrent customers.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kapolei, HIDecember 5, 2013
I'm a Shift Supervisor at the Kapolei store. I usually do some ordering, Invoices, helping in scheduling when needed, I am able to close and open my store. I've learned to work with people. I've honestly have gotten better and learned how to talk to customers and employees in a proper tone to which they still take me serious. I've also learned how to – more... manage a shift on my own and how to do orders and invoices. the management is wonderful, the co-workers are ok for most. I do sometimes have issues with some, but no matter where you go their will always be issues. I would say the hardest part would be having the older employees respect me because I am so young and some are older than me and they take me as joke instead of as someone above me. I love when I get to see my customers everyday and that I know exactly what they want. I love that I can put a smile on their face by just saying "Hi" and asking them "How are you today?". it gives this feeling where I'm happy I can make something and put a smile on their face just because they got something they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for studying and making friends
Barista (Current Employee), Peoria, AZNovember 17, 2013
Pros: great customers, amazing friendships, free dinner from time to time
Cons: clashing personalities, bad tempers, occasional mean customer
A typical day for me at The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf consists of customer interaction, serving pastries and/or bagels, making hot, cold and/or ice-blended beverages, washing dishes, cleaning the lobby, patio and counter tops, cleaning the bathrooms and sweeping and mopping the floors. I have gained a vast knowledge of coffee and tea. I have also learned – more... how to handle a wide variety of personalities from both customers and employees. Most of the shift supervisors were very hard workers and great at their job. This made it easier to work along side them because we would know what tasks needed to be done without being acknowledged. The general manager is an outsanding individual who would award my hard work and dedication with dinner. I enjoy my co-workers because I have built great relationships with them. We are able to joke around, have great conversations and still complete our tasks. The hardest part of my job would have to be to smile and make the best visit possible for our customers when you are feeling a little under the weather or blue. We all have our bad days, but we should never relay that to a customer with our attitude, body language, or words. The most enjoyable part about my job would be the connection I have made with customers. I have my own style of interaction with customer that we are always having a good time laughing/talking while taking their money in drive-thru or making their drinks at the bar while they wait. I've been able to build trusting relationships with my customers to where we discuss our troubles, personal problems, etc. and we help each other with our opinions/life-experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,but busy workplace with lots of wonderfully crafted coffee available for my consumption.
Barista (Former Employee), Del Mar, CANovember 11, 2013
Management was wonderful, lower management was flexible and listened well.

Workplace was positive, encouraged hard work and rewarded it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, quick pace, energetic crew
Barista (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 2, 2013
A fun environment with a friendly staff who loves coffee and customers. A quick flow and a lot of traffic creates for a fast day.

Have been trained as a Trainer, giving me the responsibility to train our new baristas, which I enjoy and am very often given the responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barista
Barista (Former Employee), Studio City, CAOctober 23, 2013
made drinks for customers
ring up customers orders
clean work area/organize work area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Barista (Former Employee), Burbank, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great people. free parking
Cons: a block away form starbucks.
Having been with this company for two years or so, I never had a dull day at this job. The people were great to work with. The customers were mostly regulars and it was great to easily pick up a conversation with them. I had a couple of co-workers who were a bit difficult to work with, but that didn't hold me back from doing my job. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job was making the customers drinks and seeing their faces happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 17, 2013
Learned a lot about managing and dealing with customers fast and with great service. Loved working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Bakery
Bakery Driver (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: bakery goods, cb card with money on it to purchase goods from cb
Cons: compensation, management
Sorting/Organizing, loading truck. Start route, delivering product promptly but safe. Unload product, put product away in store, continue for up to 20 stops. Return to bakery, finish up paper work to end the day.

1 2 3

About The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf® is a fast growing premium specialty retailer with over 900 locations in 28 countries around – Read more

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Photos