Find companies:
The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pased environment serving the community
Barista (Former Employee), westlake, caJuly 10, 2014
Pros: short shifts
Cons: low wages
Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf is an overall fun job for a young adult looking for part time work. Growth with this type of industry is very challenging. The co-workers are what make this worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere where you can have fun
Store Manager (Current Employee), Wailea, HIMay 9, 2014
Pros: benefits, family atmosphere, upper management support
Cons: wages vs cost of living
Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Hawaii is one of the best companies I have Managed for. I get to make daily decisions and run it like it's my own business. Hiring is a challenge in the demographic area with the cost of living and general work ethic.My team members and customer make each day an enjoyable challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a typical job
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee), Goleta, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: work alone, discounts, tips
Cons: in the review
When i worked here, i didnt receive full training like i was told i would get. the cappuccino/espresso machine was broke the whole time so i was always losing customers due to that.

If i had received full training and the machine was working, the job wouldnt have been half bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Barista and Cashier (Current Employee), Riverside, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: co workers, one free drink, employee discount.
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work mainly consists of helping customers, Making Hot or Cold drinks, and stocking and cleaning the store. Not every customer is easy or as kind but I respond and try to help them with a positive attitude. I recommend drinks that best suit their taste.

Working at The Coffee Bean and Tea leaf helped me come out of my comfort zone. I – more... was a very shy person when I started but I received help from my experienced co workers.

Every person i work with is different. no one has the same personality or interest, but we do treat each other with respect and friendliness. Every one at the Coffee bean pretty much gets along with one another.

There is really no hard part about the job.

The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to our regular customers and meeting new people who never been to the coffee bean. Also meeting new people whom are not from this country or city. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, get to meet new people everday, socialize with alot of diffrent customers.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Kapolei, HIDecember 5, 2013
I'm a Shift Supervisor at the Kapolei store. I usually do some ordering, Invoices, helping in scheduling when needed, I am able to close and open my store. I've learned to work with people. I've honestly have gotten better and learned how to talk to customers and employees in a proper tone to which they still take me serious. I've also learned how to – more... manage a shift on my own and how to do orders and invoices. the management is wonderful, the co-workers are ok for most. I do sometimes have issues with some, but no matter where you go their will always be issues. I would say the hardest part would be having the older employees respect me because I am so young and some are older than me and they take me as joke instead of as someone above me. I love when I get to see my customers everyday and that I know exactly what they want. I love that I can put a smile on their face by just saying "Hi" and asking them "How are you today?". it gives this feeling where I'm happy I can make something and put a smile on their face just because they got something they wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for studying and making friends
Barista (Current Employee), Peoria, AZNovember 17, 2013
Pros: great customers, amazing friendships, free dinner from time to time
Cons: clashing personalities, bad tempers, occasional mean customer
A typical day for me at The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf consists of customer interaction, serving pastries and/or bagels, making hot, cold and/or ice-blended beverages, washing dishes, cleaning the lobby, patio and counter tops, cleaning the bathrooms and sweeping and mopping the floors. I have gained a vast knowledge of coffee and tea. I have also learned – more... how to handle a wide variety of personalities from both customers and employees. Most of the shift supervisors were very hard workers and great at their job. This made it easier to work along side them because we would know what tasks needed to be done without being acknowledged. The general manager is an outsanding individual who would award my hard work and dedication with dinner. I enjoy my co-workers because I have built great relationships with them. We are able to joke around, have great conversations and still complete our tasks. The hardest part of my job would have to be to smile and make the best visit possible for our customers when you are feeling a little under the weather or blue. We all have our bad days, but we should never relay that to a customer with our attitude, body language, or words. The most enjoyable part about my job would be the connection I have made with customers. I have my own style of interaction with customer that we are always having a good time laughing/talking while taking their money in drive-thru or making their drinks at the bar while they wait. I've been able to build trusting relationships with my customers to where we discuss our troubles, personal problems, etc. and we help each other with our opinions/life-experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,but busy workplace with lots of wonderfully crafted coffee available for my consumption.
Barista (Former Employee), Del Mar, CANovember 11, 2013
Management was wonderful, lower management was flexible and listened well.

Workplace was positive, encouraged hard work and rewarded it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, quick pace, energetic crew
Barista (Current Employee), San Diego, CANovember 2, 2013
A fun environment with a friendly staff who loves coffee and customers. A quick flow and a lot of traffic creates for a fast day.

Have been trained as a Trainer, giving me the responsibility to train our new baristas, which I enjoy and am very often given the responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barista
Barista (Former Employee), Studio City, CAOctober 23, 2013
made drinks for customers
ring up customers orders
clean work area/organize work area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Barista (Former Employee), Burbank, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: great people. free parking
Cons: a block away form starbucks.
Having been with this company for two years or so, I never had a dull day at this job. The people were great to work with. The customers were mostly regulars and it was great to easily pick up a conversation with them. I had a couple of co-workers who were a bit difficult to work with, but that didn't hold me back from doing my job. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job was making the customers drinks and seeing their faces happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Supervisor (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 17, 2013
Learned a lot about managing and dealing with customers fast and with great service. Loved working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Bakery
Bakery Driver (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 8, 2013
Pros: bakery goods, cb card with money on it to purchase goods from cb
Cons: compensation, management
Sorting/Organizing, loading truck. Start route, delivering product promptly but safe. Unload product, put product away in store, continue for up to 20 stops. Return to bakery, finish up paper work to end the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual and friendly environment.
Barista (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: free drinks!
Cons: inconsistent work schedule
Every shift held a new set of duties and fluctuating customer volumes always keeping me on my toes. For obvious reasons, I was able to learn a lot about coffee which was fun and exciting yet challenging at times since I had no experience. While keeping a professional and respectable environment all of my co-workers, including uppers and management were – more... very friendly and social able; we all shared a few laughs when it was appropriate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mom and pop type of coffee shop with fun employees .
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 24, 2013
Pros: discounts, good benefits
Cons: short unpaid breaks, lots of negative reenforsment
Super fast paced coffee shop that focused on the customers needs. I learned how to be part of the management and was taught how to place orders and make deposits. Generally most of my co-workers were very pleasant to work with. My favorite part of the job was meeting and talking to people from all over the world. The hardest part of the job was placing – more... correct product orders. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great brand and products
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), San Juan, Metro Manila, PhilippinesJune 19, 2013
Pros: manager's meal, free fitness training
- It is a stable job due to fast turnover of people and promotion.
- The products are of high quality and maintains high standard of product quality.
- Management needs more warmth and for its people, especially consideration for working hours.
- The job itself is manageable.
- Co-workers are warm but, ethical practices need some improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, fun environment, and fast past working
Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 13, 2013
Interacting within a diverse work environment helped me learn and develop different perspectives of everyday life. The most enjoyable part of this job was being able to make someone's day with a good cup of java. Management was as good as the individual. Lastly the hard part was leaving my co-workers. My overall experience here was good, but I'm looking – more... for great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment that works around everyday life
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Palm Desert, CAJune 10, 2013
Pros: free coffee and tea, great benefits, awesome team
As a shift supervisor, I oversee the baristas, making sure they are proficient with drink making and getting cleaning tasks done. I, myself, make specialty beverages, prepare pastries, keep the store looking and feeling welcoming to our customers, administrative paperwork and POS proficient. The hardest part of my job is making sure our customers leave – more... happy and excited about the Coffee Bean. The most enjoyable part of my day is making someone else's day weather it be with just a smile or with a delicious drink! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Decent Job.
Barista (Current Employee), Pasadena, CAJune 4, 2013
Pretty Decent Job for a minimum wage. I would recommend it for a first or second job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was bad, everyday was just a constant headache.
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee), West Hollywood, CAJune 4, 2013
Pros: 33% off from all products, one free drink for every shift
Cons: short breaks, no benefits
I was usually the opener to the store so I would start work at 4:30 am each day. Most people freaked out when I tell them at what time I started but it wasnt that bad because my shift would end at 10:30 am. Ive learned a lot from Coffee Bean. I learned how to maintain my cool in tough situations like our morning rushes, and also when customers get angry. – more... I learned how to make some killer lattes and cappuccinos as well. Management wasnt all that good there. My boss didnt know much about her own store. She would always mess up the weekly inventory, so we would either be left out of an essential product, or we would have too much of something that we didnt need. Also, the way she would manage her coworkers wasnt very good. Most of the new workers have to be certified within a week or so and it would take her almost two months to have them certified. My coworkers were all mostly lazy with the exception of some. Most of them didnt want to work on hot bar ( which is were all the drinks were made) because they were too slow or they were just being lazy and wanted to work on register. I was usually the one making all the drinks for the store. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customers yelling in your ear about where was their drink. It wasnt something that I couldnt handle because I always did, but having to hear it everyday was what made it hard. Another hard part was dealing with the manager. The constant nagging and how she thought she knew how to run the store, but in reality she didnt. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing our regular and getting to conversate more with them. It didnt matter how long they,re drink would take but they always waited and never complained about it. I also got to meet new coworkers that I really enjoyed working with and who weren't lazy at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment with positive energy and benefits
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Austin, TXMay 26, 2013
Pros: unlimited coffee and tea, several locations in austin
Cons: no vacation rollover
All of the people I work with are fun, energetic employees with motivation to work. I work in an outdoor mall, so weekends are much busier than during the week, it can be a challenge. My job is to provide extraordinary customer service and beverages, while supervising small to medium groups of people. I love seeing everyone walk out of my store happy.

About The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf® is a fast growing premium specialty retailer with over 900 locations in 28 countries around – Read more

The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf Photos