The Container Store Employee Reviews

Found 194 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 15, 2017
great working place and culture. Excellent customer service as well as excellent employee feedback. I enjoyed my time there and managers really cared for the employees who worked for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Pay and Benefits for Part Time Employment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLAugust 8, 2017
This was the opening of a new Container Store in Palm Beach Gardens. I made it clear during the interview that I had no experience in retail, but the manager liked me very much and we both agreed it was worth giving it a chance to see if I might like retail. As it turned out, it was not at all the right line of work for me, however it was an ideal work environment for anyone who enjoys retail sales. Very fast-paced environment. Excellent management!
Pros
Outstanding pay and benefits
Cons
Extremely fast paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 7, 2017
Working at the container store was very slow at times. Great store , amazing pay but it was times when the store was really slow and gotten boring. . . .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 24, 2017
The Container Store is a good place to work. Coworkers really make it an enjoyable and safe place you want to work at. The company has a good employee culture. They give medical, dental, vision, and 401K to all their employees.
Pros
Healthcare benefits, product discounts, coworkers
Cons
shortage of staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  AZJuly 21, 2017
It's a fun place to work at, a lot of new things to learn, and procedures for everything. I enjoyed working here, it was a pleasure to have worked here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing Times at TCS
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 20, 2017
Over the past year since Reiff has taken over as CEO a lot has changed. The culture that made TCS a great place to work has faded and many of the incredible employees who have worked here have left. Their pay which used to be on the higher end for retail is now on the lower end and their benefits have decreased significantly.
Pros
Good employee discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed co-Workers and customers
VISUAL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85016July 18, 2017
Going to work was always a pleasure. Salaries were lower than expected and there were no raises over a perior of 2 years due to a raise freeze. I believe in the products carried and enjoyed providing solutions for customers.
Pros
Great Co Workers & Customers
Cons
Low pay for what is expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very boring place for a Contract Worker
Contractor (Former Employee) –  SmalPakJuly 17, 2017
Great place if you are hired directly. But horrible place if you are a temp. My whole life there, I was not given the required 40hrs/week. They always find an excuse to send Contract Workers home. In reality they do not need new personnel per say. occasionally when they have too much work, yes that is when they bring on contract workers. but careful, before your 3months are up, they will likely fire you just to keep their effective constant and come up with whatever excuse suits them for that.
Pros
they play for 10mins before work on second shift
Cons
first place i worked at where breaks are not paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT company that made a mistake in going public
Inbound Receiver, Trainer (Current Employee) –  Coppell, TXJuly 15, 2017
This has been a GREAT private company over the years. The company has looked for employees who were willing to the extra mile, and the company has responded to their employees in kind. They have recently taken their company public, offering public stock. Now they have become beholden to their shareholders, not so much their employees. The stock has plunged, wages have been frozen, and the fate of a once great little company is in serious doubt.
Pros
They still do care about their employees
Cons
They now have to do "what is right" for the stock holders, which is not always right for the employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Visual Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 15, 2017
-9 hour days, 8 work and one hour for lunch if your are full time.
-If you are part time expect 5-15 hours a week for some weeks.
-If you are trained in more things you will get more hours as a part timer
-you have to be very adaptable and fast paced. you will be pulled in many directions. Their mantra is 1=3, 1 great person equal 3 good people... well it's more like 1=5.
-People are friendly, it's not catty like other retail work environments.
-You must know there is not "real" HR
-Benefits are good
-Pay raises can be ok...depending
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great products
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILJuly 13, 2017
Great products, Great guests, hard working teams. Very physically demanding job. Latest technology available. Focus on training. Culture is a bit over rated. High end guest.
Pros
Great products
Cons
uncertain future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time associate-Beachwood, OH
Part Time Employee (Current Employee) –  Beachwood, OH 44122July 12, 2017
Dont drink the kool-aid, this is not a nice or fair place to work. Not sure how they have been rated one of the best companies to work for 17 years in a row.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Container Store
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 10, 2017
The company continues to change and grow, but is leaving its core values by the waste side.
They always talked about an Employee first culture that now has become an investor first culture.
Pros
good full time pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee first culture
Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXJuly 1, 2017
An amazing company! I started in the stores and transferred into distribution. The company has always maintained an "employee first culture"...until the layoff.
Pros
Gumby Cafe
Cons
Public company with pressure from stockholders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate philosophy
Retail sales (Current Employee) –  Hallandale Beach, FLJune 28, 2017
Working here is mostly very rewarding. Most employees are qualified, friendly and competent. The management cares about the employees, and even part-time workers are offered benefits. Flexible scheduling is also a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Container Store
Customer Service/ Visual Sales Department (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 26, 2017
It's been over a decade since I've worked for The Container Store, so I couldn't really speak to what the culture is like there now.
The people I worked with seemed generally happy- but it is retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people work there
Middle Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 23, 2017
TCS hired talented people that you can learn a lot from. The best part of TCS were the friends I made throughout my employment. Going public was the hardest part of the job as such a great culture shifted when they had to answer to the board and stockholders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Energy/Atmosphere/People
Merchandise Processing/Register Sales Person (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COJune 22, 2017
This company is so awesome to work for. They pay their employees over minimum wage; so by taking care of the employee first, the employee will take care of the customer. This has been the best atmosphere I have experienced in all of my working years. If you like organization and cleanliness then you will be with like minded people; we all think the same, to organize and create stress free/time saving solution.
Pros
Great atmosphere/people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Sales and Merchandising Associate (Current Employee) –  White Plains, NYJune 21, 2017
One of the best retailers to work for as indicated by industrial reviewers and employees. The retail culture of inclusiveness and openness is unlike any other professional experience that I have had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work until they went Public.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 20, 2017
Tremendous learning opportunities, flexible work schedules, awesome team to work with. Once they went Public it was a downward spiral. People began to leave and not get replaced. Schedules became tighter, less flexible, advancement/promotions stopped. Situation became even worse when executive management changed hands. Company was on a pay freeze last 2 years to save money to build new stores. Focus used to be on the employee - happy employees make for happy customers. Focus has become the share holders and the bottom line. So many gimmicks (e.g., POP! program) have been introduced to get customers in the stores to make more money. Change can be a good thing, if done properly.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Pressure to increase sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Container Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 195 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0

The Container Store Reviews by Location