Find companies:
The Container Store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

The Container Store Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not your average retailer
Part-Time Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 19, 2014
Pros: schedules 3 weeks in advance, company culture
Cons: occasionally demanding hours
I felt well-trained and equipped for all that was asked of me. I felt not only energized and comfortable with my co-workers, but also supported and loved. Management seeks the best for their employees as people, not just extensions of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Review
Sales, Cashier, (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 6, 2014
The Container Store is a perfect place for a mom wanting to work part time, or a college student who has very specific hours they would like to work. They are very quick to give you whatever hours you request. The only drawback is how many people they hire. Though they do hire wonderful people who are very easy to work with, they hire too many people – more... which means if you need more than 20 or 25 hours as a part timer, you won't be getting any. On a good week you will work 20 hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working environment
Visual Merchandiser/ Stock Associate (Former Employee), new york new yorkJanuary 30, 2014
The container store was a very fast paced working environment. Unfortunately i was not there long enough to provide much input.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: great people, supportive community, family friendly
Cons: if you need full-time hours, it may not happen overnight.
I've been part-time with The Container Store since 2007 (with a break in between when we moved where there was no location). Not only the people great that you work with, but you truly feel the love from all throughout the company. An excellent fit for a stay at home mom or someone looking for something on the side.

Full-time positions are treated – more... almost as management, so it can be confusing for people coming in looking for full-time hours-- pretty much everyone starts out part-time. But you can work your way up! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for everyone
distribution - Fulfillment (Former Employee), Coppell, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: 40 hours/week, overtime throughout the year, fun events throughout the year
Cons: working weekends, no bonuses, lack of advancement
For me, TCS was not all that it is hyped up to be. In the environment they have, if you want to advance into an area you want, then you have to suck up to the bosses. And there are some people there that do for sucking up than actually work. Working hard won't get you advanced, it will get you more work. This is the only place i worked at where the – more... employees wrote their own review, twice a year. And the review document is multiple pages long, front and back.

Of course, this is retail, so expect to be working weekends. Even though it seems like the same people get the weekends off every week, and every time they change the schedules. Of course, they won't let those will small kids off on the weekends so they can't spend time with their families.

And if your department (for warehouse people) is slow, they will send you to a different department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales & Merchandise Processing
Sales Person and Merchandise Processing (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJDecember 27, 2013
Pros: amazing corporate culture
Cons: not enough hours
- Assisted customers by resolving home/office organization issues with innovative products and exceptional customer service, and creating an “air of excitement,” selling complete solutions
- Cash register – Actively provided customer service at the checkout counter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top of the retail food chain. The best of the best.
Visual Sales/Merchandising (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule. good management. good pay.
Cons: limited advancement potential due to national size/scale.
Can't imagine a better place to learn high end retail. Good communication. Great work environment. Surrounded by good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent retail company
Retail Sales Provider / Visual Sales (Current Employee), Corte Madera, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: unparalleled staff, understanding management, healthcare.
Cons: limited room for advancement. short shifts.
The Container Store tries to treat their employees like they matter. Like they are intelligent, responsible adults capable of making decisions for themselves. The Corte Madera store, in particular, has the kindest, most supportive staff I have ever worked with. I am continually amazed at the integrity and kindness of their employees. We work hard to – more... find solutions to every customers unique needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy workplace with great employee comradery.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 16, 2013
Helped customers one on one. Helped team members unload delivery trucks.

Team work.

The managers worked well together to support and teach new and experienced employees on a daily basis.

Co-workers more than helpful to me when I joined the team. I was a worker among workers.

Unloading the trucks, once or twice a week, was the most difficult part – more... of the job because it was late at night and an intense workout for four hours.

Being in a clean, happy work environment was the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-energy, employee first, positive workplace.
Elfa Designer / Inventory Coordinator Backup (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 2, 2013
The Container Store claims to be an employee first retail workplace and it lives up to this regularly. The management is very flexible and does an excellent job balancing the needs of their employees.

My coworkers are the best part of the job. Every person hired on carries an air of excitement and works well in a team. Retailers could learn a lot from – more... this company's hiring practices.

Training is consistent and in-depth. Each worker is given all of the tools required to succeed in their position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Sales Person (P/T) (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: pay is better than minimum wage, benefits, flexible schedule
Amazing customers, and even better co-workers. Focusing on 1=3,one great person is better than 3 good people, they hire the best when it comes to customer service. Everyone is nice, helpful and so knowledgeable. All the managers are employee oriented, putting us first and making sure we are taking care of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and exciting
Sales Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 5, 2013
Pros: employee driven, excellent flexibility and training, friendly staff, good pay
Cons: minimal full time positions
The Container Store is the best place I have ever worked. This company is all about keeping their employees happy while driving customer satisfaction. I have learned so much from the training provided, constant updates, and regular coaching sessions. This company allows you to bring your personality with your uniform. My co-workers and the management – more... staff are great. A typical day consists of assisting customers with organization stresses, giving customers realistic and positive feedback on ideas and goals set for their organizing needs. The hardest part for me is not being able to produce a solution for those who need them. The most enjoyable part is seeing smiles and building rapports with customers as I assist them in finding ways to become more organized and clutter free. The Container Store is a great place for all types of people to work and a great place to meet, greet and find new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment with an employee first culture!
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 3, 2013
The first thing that struck me about working at The Container Store was their emphasis on employee culture. They treat every employee like a leader and if you ask them a question they ask you first, "What do you think should be done?" They are constantly offering opportunities to get involved with different roles in the store and make training fun and – more... very involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
While in New York
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York. NYJune 26, 2013
Pros: meeting so many people.
Cons: can be overwhelming at times.
It was a very bright and colorful store. Lots of items. Lots of people. You meet all different types of people from across the world. I loved working there. I also met lots of famous and important people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Elfa Designer/Visual Sales (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 22, 2013
Wonderful atmosphere, the Container Store is fun and friendly and definitely organized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard working work environment
General Warehouse Employee (Former Employee), Coppell, TXMay 17, 2013
The Container Store is a very well managed company that treat everyone equally. The environment is a very fast paced and hard working one. The typical day would consist of stretching and putting out the plan of the day, then we would get our assignments and go to work. I would be assigned to various warehouse equipment such as a stock picker, reach – more... truck, or a rider. I would then go and pick up skids from the docks and put them in their location in the warehouse, or move items from one part of the warehouse to another location to help with inventory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag
Material Handler (Current Employee), Coppell TXMay 14, 2013
Pros: stable, never cut hours. flexible, especially with part timers.
Cons: raises based off personal friendships not business related performance.
Stable and flexible, overtime is usually available, however management plays favorites and raises are solely based on politics not on work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Transition Team Member (seasonal) (Former Employee), Natick, MAApril 8, 2013
Always doing something new.
managment was on the floor working with you and great to work with.
co-workers were all great and got along.
crazy hours durning holidays.
the greatest part was the work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working there
Visual Sales (Current Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: fun to work here. great hiring process, good training program
Cons: can be a little clique-y at first, but that is the exception not the norm and as time passes it fades as people get to know you.
This is my first gig in retail/part time. I look forward to going to work and enjoy the first-rate crew of people I work with. The hiring is selective and they train us so we can succeed and/or have a good time helping customers. If you show some drive and client focused savvy, the company will continue to develop you and give you more responsibility – more... or chance to advance. And to boot, I love the products. There are roughly 65 part time employees at the store I work at, and I can say I know probably 60 by name (the others may work times I don't) and like 99% of them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and place to work. Happy and fun environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Broomfield, COMarch 11, 2013
Pros: great employee benefit, better quality products
Cons: not enough room for advancement or promotion.
Working part time at the Container Store, allows me to use skills from all aspects in my training and experiences to excel at any task given to me. It allows individuals to use their skills, talents and thoughts to be expressed and utilized to its best capability.

1 2 3

About The Container Store

The Container Store is an innovative company that sells more than 10,000 unique storage and organization solutions. We are employee-first – Read more