Find companies:
The Container Store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

The Container Store Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, Respectable, Financially Viable Work Experience
Merchandise Processor/Visual Merchandising (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 8, 2014
A wonderful place to work that offers great benefits, good pay and hourly flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Visual Merchandising Lead (Former Employee), White Plains, NYJune 16, 2014
People are great and company treats you very well. Reccomend for stable part time work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work.
Sales Trainer / Sales Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great pay and friendly environment
The company is still privately owned to this day and rightfully so. The company was named "Number One" company to work for by Fortune 500. Has a feeling of a small business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicative and fast-paced work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 14, 2014
Pros: communicative and supportive environment
Cons: shift in culture to sales focus
The culture of the store supports communication, including communication with customers and with other team members. Emphasis is placed on assessing customers' needs through asking open-ended questions and providing complete solutions rather than short-term piecemeal quick fixes. Coworkers are energetic, communicative, and a pleasure to work with. With – more... the company going public much more emphasis has been placed on sales and sales goals rather than on creating connections with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fun and amazing place to work.
Store Assistant, Cashier (Current Employee), Paramus, NJApril 30, 2014
Pros: benefits, flexible schedule
Cons: heavy lifting
I really love this job! The job culture is amazing and they really do care about their employees. My co-workers are amazing people and come from every path of life. I've learned so much about myself through this company and I hope to keep learning.
The hardest part of the job for me is heavy lifting. The most enjoyable part are the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We love our employees
VISUAL SALES/MERCHANDISING (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FloridaApril 30, 2014
Cons: no hours, little pay, no advancement
We love our employees is the slogan for The Container Store, but with my experience, this only holds true for managers and full timers. As a "Prime Time" employee, not only do you get very little hours, double the work, and practically no pay, but you're also expected from the store manager to have no life outside the store. Forget about trying for – more... an education or a second job (you can't live on a paycheck from there) because you'll be fired if you do. Advancement is a joke as well. In order to get noticed, you must pucker your lips to the biggest butt you can find. It doesn't matter how hard you work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products and great people
Creative Designer & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: deep discount
Cons: retail - standing all day.
If you have to work in retail, this is the place. And who doesn't want to be organized. Our customers came in looking for solutions to their challenges and we are solution driven so it's a win-win.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not your average retailer
Part-Time Associate (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 19, 2014
Pros: schedules 3 weeks in advance, company culture
Cons: occasionally demanding hours
I felt well-trained and equipped for all that was asked of me. I felt not only energized and comfortable with my co-workers, but also supported and loved. Management seeks the best for their employees as people, not just extensions of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time Review
Sales, Cashier, (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARFebruary 6, 2014
The Container Store is a perfect place for a mom wanting to work part time, or a college student who has very specific hours they would like to work. They are very quick to give you whatever hours you request. The only drawback is how many people they hire. Though they do hire wonderful people who are very easy to work with, they hire too many people – more... which means if you need more than 20 or 25 hours as a part timer, you won't be getting any. On a good week you will work 20 hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced working environment
Visual Merchandiser/ Stock Associate (Former Employee), new york new yorkJanuary 30, 2014
The container store was a very fast paced working environment. Unfortunately i was not there long enough to provide much input.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: great people, supportive community, family friendly
Cons: if you need full-time hours, it may not happen overnight.
I've been part-time with The Container Store since 2007 (with a break in between when we moved where there was no location). Not only the people great that you work with, but you truly feel the love from all throughout the company. An excellent fit for a stay at home mom or someone looking for something on the side.

Full-time positions are treated – more... almost as management, so it can be confusing for people coming in looking for full-time hours-- pretty much everyone starts out part-time. But you can work your way up! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for everyone
distribution - Fulfillment (Former Employee), Coppell, TXJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: 40 hours/week, overtime throughout the year, fun events throughout the year
Cons: working weekends, no bonuses, lack of advancement
For me, TCS was not all that it is hyped up to be. In the environment they have, if you want to advance into an area you want, then you have to suck up to the bosses. And there are some people there that do for sucking up than actually work. Working hard won't get you advanced, it will get you more work. This is the only place i worked at where the – more... employees wrote their own review, twice a year. And the review document is multiple pages long, front and back.

Of course, this is retail, so expect to be working weekends. Even though it seems like the same people get the weekends off every week, and every time they change the schedules. Of course, they won't let those will small kids off on the weekends so they can't spend time with their families.

And if your department (for warehouse people) is slow, they will send you to a different department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales & Merchandise Processing
Sales Person and Merchandise Processing (Former Employee), Cherry Hill, NJDecember 27, 2013
Pros: amazing corporate culture
Cons: not enough hours
- Assisted customers by resolving home/office organization issues with innovative products and exceptional customer service, and creating an “air of excitement,” selling complete solutions
- Cash register – Actively provided customer service at the checkout counter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top of the retail food chain. The best of the best.
Visual Sales/Merchandising (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule. good management. good pay.
Cons: limited advancement potential due to national size/scale.
Can't imagine a better place to learn high end retail. Good communication. Great work environment. Surrounded by good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent retail company
Retail Sales Provider / Visual Sales (Current Employee), Corte Madera, CASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: unparalleled staff, understanding management, healthcare.
Cons: limited room for advancement. short shifts.
The Container Store tries to treat their employees like they matter. Like they are intelligent, responsible adults capable of making decisions for themselves. The Corte Madera store, in particular, has the kindest, most supportive staff I have ever worked with. I am continually amazed at the integrity and kindness of their employees. We work hard to – more... find solutions to every customers unique needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy workplace with great employee comradery.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 16, 2013
Helped customers one on one. Helped team members unload delivery trucks.

Team work.

The managers worked well together to support and teach new and experienced employees on a daily basis.

Co-workers more than helpful to me when I joined the team. I was a worker among workers.

Unloading the trucks, once or twice a week, was the most difficult part – more... of the job because it was late at night and an intense workout for four hours.

Being in a clean, happy work environment was the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-energy, employee first, positive workplace.
Elfa Designer / Inventory Coordinator Backup (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 2, 2013
The Container Store claims to be an employee first retail workplace and it lives up to this regularly. The management is very flexible and does an excellent job balancing the needs of their employees.

My coworkers are the best part of the job. Every person hired on carries an air of excitement and works well in a team. Retailers could learn a lot from – more... this company's hiring practices.

Training is consistent and in-depth. Each worker is given all of the tools required to succeed in their position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Sales Person (P/T) (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: pay is better than minimum wage, benefits, flexible schedule
Amazing customers, and even better co-workers. Focusing on 1=3,one great person is better than 3 good people, they hire the best when it comes to customer service. Everyone is nice, helpful and so knowledgeable. All the managers are employee oriented, putting us first and making sure we are taking care of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and exciting
Sales Representative (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 5, 2013
Pros: employee driven, excellent flexibility and training, friendly staff, good pay
Cons: minimal full time positions
The Container Store is the best place I have ever worked. This company is all about keeping their employees happy while driving customer satisfaction. I have learned so much from the training provided, constant updates, and regular coaching sessions. This company allows you to bring your personality with your uniform. My co-workers and the management – more... staff are great. A typical day consists of assisting customers with organization stresses, giving customers realistic and positive feedback on ideas and goals set for their organizing needs. The hardest part for me is not being able to produce a solution for those who need them. The most enjoyable part is seeing smiles and building rapports with customers as I assist them in finding ways to become more organized and clutter free. The Container Store is a great place for all types of people to work and a great place to meet, greet and find new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment with an employee first culture!
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 3, 2013
The first thing that struck me about working at The Container Store was their emphasis on employee culture. They treat every employee like a leader and if you ask them a question they ask you first, "What do you think should be done?" They are constantly offering opportunities to get involved with different roles in the store and make training fun and – more... very involved. – less

1 2 3

About The Container Store

The Container Store is an innovative company that sells more than 10,000 unique storage and organization solutions. We are employee-first – Read more