The Continental Group Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property Manager
Property Manager (Former Employee), Florida/ New Jersey EmployerMay 2, 2015
I have been a Property Manager for over twenty years. I have managed residential high rises, HOA’s, condominiums, office buildings, a mobile home park, shopping centers and industrial properties. My strong – more... skills are in resident relations, rent/maintenance collections, maintenance-(EPA certified), budgets and long range financial planning. Personally involved with training security, maintenance and leasing personnel, including all the eviction work for multiple properties. I was a Supreme Court Certified County Mediator which has been very helpful in the property management field. Please review my resume, as I am looking for a position as a Community Manager, or Regional Manager in the residential or commercial industry. After working for a large New Jersey developer as well as New Jersey board members for the last 20 years in Florida, I have permanently relocated back to New Jersey. I look forward to meeting with you in the near future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Esplanade on the New River
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FloridaFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: no pros.
Cons: would not allow meal's breaks.
Working as Front Desk Manager it was a good experience with the residents at the property. It was not a good experience with the
management of the property. I would say 50 % of co-workers were
very enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong & Independent
Company Courier (Former Employee), Hollywood, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: coworkers, benefits
Cons: no advancement or ethics
As I worked here at the Continental Group I made many friends, I met and interacted with many great coworkers and It was a privilege working with such a large group of friends and workers. The company's – more... condo managers were all outstanding and great to see each and everyday. The hardest part of my job was the long drives and the most enjoyable part was the human interaction and freedom and independence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good support
Property Manager (Former Employee), Aventura FloridaMay 5, 2014
Pros: good support
Cons: to much corporate policies
Had a very supportive and helpfull district manager. Had worked very close with all the Boards and attended ALL Board meetings. Supervised concrete restoration project with a cost of 7 million dollars. Oversaw housekeeping and maintenance staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an OK Property Management Co
Community Association Manager (Former Employee), Hollywood, FLFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: property management job
Cons: management
The really don't take care of the employees needs very well.

Low salary

Job placement at properties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Property managers are tyrannical. Seem trained to make you hate life itself.
Maintenance (Former Employee), Dade countyDecember 20, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: not enough for the abuse you have to take.
Everything is working like clock work, until the manager arrives. Then the tension is thick. Get called into the office 20 times a day for nonsense. Get yelled at and verbally abused at least 4 times a – more... day maybe more depending on how the manager feels.i worked on two different properties and both managers were rude, condescending , abusive and unprofessional. Bullies. Constantly changing rules or procedures then forgetting and yelling at you for not following the instructions that they forgot. Tyrants that expect you to read there minds . Bombard you with a bunch of unnecessary tasks then nail you for some minor oversight that most likely was someone else's job to do. Tie you up with 4 or 5 unnecessary meetings every week then again nail you for some minor oversight while forgetting that the wasted sometimes 9 hours a week on meetings that weren't necessary. You can't count on having anyone to talk to at corporate for help. H.R is there to protect them , not you. The two properties I was at , each had replaced the person in my position a minimum of 8 times in 4 years. ALL due to foul treatment by the manager that went ignored. And goes ignored to this day. Bottom line is, retaliation is the game at Continental, / First Service. It seems like the managers try to push you to the limit just for. Fun. To see how far they can get. If you dare speak up , you're done. Probably in the most damaging way possible. Playing with people's lives and careers .from the top down, not a lousy company, lousy human beings. Avoid working for these people, unless you enjoy being treated poorly. Everyday. Multiple times a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career opportunities for experience
Front Desk Manager (Current Employee), West Palm Beach FlDecember 5, 2013
Pros: good experience
Cons: work holidays rude property manager
I am a current employee and it isn't a bad company but if you work on site at a property its pretty much the luck of the draw on your personal experience due to the fact that every property has a different – more... property manager but I've worked in 3 condos and 2/3 I've worked the property managers will do everything they can to overwork you. If your apart time employee they won't give you benefits but will have no problem giving you fulltime work hours they just try and avoid paying medical insurance and payed holidays. It is a good company to work for while going to school – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new highrise experience
Assistant Property Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLNovember 5, 2013
The Continental Group is now FSR. Started with Continental in November of 2010 with a new luxury construction project in Miami. Office momentum was extreme being that we started from scratch. Created directives, – more... protocols and applications to make the association run internally and externally. Hiring staff, executing sub-contracts for security and maintenance services. The days were long but got shorter as order and routines were sent in place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room For Improvement
Front Desk Area Specialist (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: benefits, christmas
Cons: little incentives from corporate, poor communication.
Great benefits - poor communication and employee incentives. Met wonderful residents at many locations. Good overall, just stay out of the politics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was not to fond of the way this company did business
Part- time Front Desk Manager (Former Employee), Hollywood FLSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: it is a pacheck
Cons: but you will not feel valued
I would not recommend this job, unless it was the only offer. There is no room for growth, During the time I was there, I never as much got an evalution. Also,the treatment of valet staff was unfair in my view.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Company
Front Desk Team Supervisor (Current Employee), West Palm Beach, FLAugust 24, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: dont loose the contract of the building you working in they will not keep your pay the same
The job is a wonderful job the company is very good to work for also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Front Desk/Concierge (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLJuly 29, 2013
Greet residents and guest. Annotate and update resident database.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will cut your job . to get a new contract in condo's
maintenance/hsk manager (Former Employee), gulfport /st.petersburg fla.May 13, 2013
Pros: staff doing the best they can. with a 20 yr.employee secratery calling the shots
Cons: back stabbing management.will lie cheat and.. to get new management contract
I worked there 4 yrs. no complaints. new contract was up a couple of board members wanted a change in managment. (sterling management then. Now continental group)st.petersburg fla.!st. a new maintenance – more... man is hired by the secratery of the gm. not the maint. supervisor. when ask why they said to help me out. that I was too busy.B.S.
I already had 6 maint men I interviewed all. then the write ups started out of no where. never had been written up prior to that.New maint. said he say ad on craigs list for new maint. suprvisor
denied by gm. and secratery of cource. OLd manager went to another proprty managed by continental. new manager wrote me up again for B.S.they got there new contract I got unemployment.for being let go for no reason contenental sucks esp.in st. petersburg fla. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
front desk floater (Current Employee), miamiApril 28, 2013
Pros: good salary
Cons: isn't worth it
I had the worse experience ever working with them,the front desk team leader at Akoya Condominium in miami beach she is like the owner of the building and the general manager is just a puppet beside that – more... they take money under the desk and do personal favors to special residents that is not professionalism and valet parking smoke weed and they know it but they dont take any action because what happens in akoya stays in akoya.Is that the company you want to work for? Thanks god i was just a floater and i will never work for them again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Complaints
Treasury Analyst (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLApril 21, 2013
Love working at TCG. Relaxed but professional work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great work experience
Front Desk Manager ( Team Leader) (Current Employee), west palm beach floridaApril 4, 2013
i loved working with my co worker and i had a great day to day job while in school. the residents always took care of you while working at the desk and were so sweet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOOK TO WORK SOMEWHERE ELSE
Worker Bee (Former Employee), The Continental GroupJanuary 29, 2013
This place is a joke. Middle management spends so much time overworking their employees, you have no time to take a lunch and if you do you are looked upon as a non team player. No use telling the Executive – more... Team, they've heard it all and don't care. If you're not happy don't complain, find another job.
This company isn't loyal to anyone and it's all about CYA (cover your a**) and it doesn't matter if you work hard or not it's never hard enough, not to mention they never give you the tools you need to perform you job but expect you to do it anyway.
Take my advice, keep looking but don't come here to work. I don't know anyone here that is happy. Everyone is always looking for another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inept Management - The Cover Your Rear Squad - Dania
After Hours Emergencies (Former Employee), DaniaDecember 29, 2012
Pros: my check cleared the bank every week
Cons: the usa operations are moving to the philipines and everyone there will be out of a job
Worked Christmas, because no one showed up for the 12am to 8am shift. Management "forgot" to schedule someone. Worked New Years, because everyone else called in sick and I felt sorry for them. Worked a – more... crazy shift schedule to help them get over "employee issues." I was new, what did I know. Then they hired a large woman that has no experience in management to manage, rather than promote from within. Then she hired an even less experienced person to handle after hours, again instead of promoting from within, as she was most likely having an inapproriate relationship with him and she knew him from a previous job they both got fired from. He never even was trained for the job, then started making changes that over rode years of well thought out protocol and rules. Then the large woman decided that I should come in even earlier for day work as well as many employees had left the company because of her. Upper management didnt care, because unbeknownst to her, she was just a thing that was to be fired at any moment when stuff hit the fan. This is how management protects themselves. I quit without a days notice because I have other options. If you work here, it is because McDonalds is not hiring and you have no other options in life. I feel sorry for you. Work here, and you will be a "King or Queen Loser". You've been warned! If you do work here, most employees only last a few months. Thats how the "trainer" protects her job with endless training. The Owner should be aware of this, but from what I heard, he doesnt much care either as this company is not profitable and the call centers in the USA will most likely be moved to the Philipines and everyone will soon be out of a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty to employees in Customer Service
Lead Agent (Former Employee), HollywoodDecember 5, 2012
There is no employee loyalty from the management in in customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale at Las Olas Grand CondominiumNovember 5, 2012
* I never had any typical day being working there
* I had learned how to solve residents's issues
* I had good working relations ship with The Property Manager
* I got alone with my co - workers
* There – more... had been no hardest part of the job I could not handle
* The most enjoyable part of my job knowing that the residents
issues have always been met.

* If I had another chance to rehire, I would be very enthusiastic continue working this Company once in for all. – less
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Firstservice Bldg.
1140 Bay St., Ste. 4000
Toronto ON, Canada
Revenue
$1B to $5B (USD)
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
The Continental Group website