The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 47 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 18, 2016
upper management is very inexperience hiring make no sense
went to work one day and someone we passed over as a bus-boy was running an outlet as the manager no wonder this property has just started to make money. The F&B is staffed with people that worked in their moms restaurant that is what makes-up the leadership from the director down The food side does well because the are good landlords the house owned outlets are at best poor
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
bellman (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 2, 2015
day starts with a pre shift letting us know what is going on through out the day, assisting guest with luggage check-in delivering amenities as well as luggage, answering guest question or concerns

management is hands down one of my favorite group of individuals. Coworker are easy to get along with the hardest part I would have to say is guest and the best part about the job Is pretty much everything very proud to be working at the cosmopolitan
Pros
interacting with different people from all over the world
Cons
noting i can really think of all aroud great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Friendly Worplace
Guest Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 22, 2015
This place knows how teamwork is suppose to happen and they love doing it. It was very positive work environment. The Supervisors were all helpful and wonderful. Everyone helped everyone through tough situations and supported each other.
Pros
Not on the strip call center, friendly people, teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capable of working in a fast-paced working environment
Cage Cashier (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 8, 2015
Easily trained personnel, friendly, works well with fellow co-workers. Hardest part of being a cage cashier is balancing my money drawer consisting of $150K.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positve culture for employees
COO (Former Employee) –  Las VEGASJune 30, 2015
Best place I ever worked, great work /home life balance.
Great opportunity to be creative and be recognized for your efforts
Pros
Great team spirit
Cons
That there is only one Cosmopolitan
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Family
security (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 7, 2015
Imagine coming into work, and working/playing with some of the best most creative people ever.

I loved it there, and I miss it every day!
Pros
Free meals
Cons
no showers
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential but lacking in so many ways
Bar Porter (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 9, 2015
Complete lack of communication from leadership and so many corners cut for such a popular place. I would have left much sooner if it wasn't for the income.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun involved workplace
Conference Concierge (Current Employee) –  Las VegasMarch 6, 2015
Great place to interact with fellow employees, get involved in the community, and develop & learn. Fun environment with excellent benefits.
Pros
great employee dining area
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, horrible company, even worse HR and management
Cosmopolitan (Current Employee) –  CosmopolitanMarch 1, 2015
I worked here almost since opening, they say they value their employees being innovative and bringing new fresh ideas to the table, but they only value that if you're drinking the koolaid. You are not allowed to have an opinion that differs from management and god forbid you suggest something that works better after management has made up their mind. They will fire you if you are a good employee with an opinion, but as long as you act like a sheep and do only what you are told, you will have no problem. They keep employees who should have been fired - kidnapping hookers, forbidding people to leave, punching people in handcuffs, managers sleeping with employees and getting promoted while the employee got fired, stealing from lost and found, higher ups lying about their project and then firing the entire investigations team for following orders, a dispatcher using the casino cameras to stalk his girlfriend , management sits in the office and plays on YouTube all night while report writers and dispatchers control the shift.

HR is the worst I've ever seen. They are judgemental and never have the employee's best interests in mind. They will keep you if you are a horrible employee who harasses and sexually harasses others and make racial comments, but you will be let go for "using your phone". HR will also lie to the unemployment office so you cannot get unemployment. Make sure if you ever work here, you keep copies of everything, because they miraculously "don't have it" once you get fired since they know it will get them in trouble. Also if you are military, get ready for a fight
  more... because HR is awful at following USERRA and will most likely suspend your medical benefits if you go on orders because they don't understand the laws. Can we say illegal and military discrimination?

As far as the place and the people - there were some great people who worked there. It used to be a great place to work until the only people who started getting promoted were people who kiss up to management, and not the people most qualified. Sad to see such a promising company get overrun with high school drama. It will continue to go downhill too because of the lack of leadership in management as well as the cesspool of snobs they call HR. Disgusting.
  less
Pros
$8/day for food, good hours, decent crowd, good pay
Cons
management, hr, no opportunity to advance unless you suck up
Was this review helpful?Yes49No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working Work environment
Housekeeper/ Lead Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 16, 2015
Maintain cleanliness of guest rooms
Manage fellow co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes10No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 5, 2014
The atmosphere is great! Management is easy to talk to, simple job, goals easy to attain once you understand fully what needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company No longer exist.
WAREHOUSE INVENTORY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 5, 2014
Company No longer exist, Went Bankrupt back in the mid 2000's. No management.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No26
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A concious community for Co Stars
Small Groups and Celebration Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 28, 2014
Senior Management takes the time to care about all levels of employment. Great place to work, honorable community intiatives.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a unique and different daily bar experience
Bartender, Mixologist, I (Current Employee) –  las vegas nvOctober 3, 2014
Daily commence with a lot energy at the bar. Non stop drink serving,
plenty of people movement, music non stop. There is always a way to make a drink. Is fun when you can be open to create new drinks as requested from guest. There is nothing hard, there is always something to do at the bar and every one get along quite well. Hate seems to disappear at work. There are always new managers coming in and out, it almost seems as: is a job the requires rotation of new manager very often.
Pros
free lunch, 2 for 1 concert tickets, morriot hotel discount card
Cons
no opportunity for advancement, limited full time staff
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Employer
CoStar Relations Specialist (HR Generalist) (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 21, 2014
Great culture!

The organization is a blend of a hierarchical and decentralized method. The CoStars are empowered to be innovative/creative and this allows them to feel free to express themselves, give their buy-in on new processes and ideas. A wonderful organization to work for and grow!
Pros
decentralized, innovative, creative, young organization
Cons
none at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture
Catering and Conference Services Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 7, 2014
At The Cosmopoitan we have a great culture from Senior Leadership to entry level positions. We work together to create a environment that is employee, guest, and community focused. We regularty volunteer in the local community focusing on our elementary eduacation systems and local food banks. It is one of the most rewarding aspects of any company I have worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Consultant - Software Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Badura RdJune 28, 2014
Nice place to work. People are friendly. Technology used is generic but efficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cosmopolitan
FF& E Manager - Owner's Representative (Former Employee) –  Las VegasApril 28, 2014
Enjoyed my pre-opening construction time at Cosmo, great group of people in the construction department.
Pros
people
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benifits
Guest Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 22, 2014
What i liked the most about working at the cosmopolitan is because of the benefits i have. The hardest part about working here is making double beds especially when their all check outs. but always manage to finish rooms in great standards. I feel very satisfied when i do great work because knowing you've made guests happy because of making their room look nice and spotless and a very good thing to them!. Other than that i'm very satisfied being an employee here but i want to work else where.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place with diversity and culture
Learning and Development Manager (Former Employee) –  3400 S Las Vegas blvdJanuary 26, 2014
I really enjoyed working for The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
non union
Was this review helpful?Yes14No23

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture