Find companies:
The Cotton On Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

The Cotton On Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assistant Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee), Irvine, CASeptember 5, 2014
8 hour workdays. Company allows you to make changes that you see fit to your own store. This helps boost your business by having the freedom to change presentations for your customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Lead cashier (Former Employee), Torrance, CASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great company
Cons: wish i could have stayed longer
I enjoyed Myself and the time while i was there, work was always exciting and eventful. great fellow empolyees and a great boss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with great co-workers
supervisor (Current Employee), San Diego,CaJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: rude customers
a typical work day in retail, helping customers and keeping the store standardized, I learned a lot while working with Cotton On i was able to manage a store by myself and problem solve customer issues. The co-workers are great people, very easy to get along with. The most difficult part of this job keeping the store standardized when there is a big – more... sale. But for the most part the whole job is very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviroment with great clothes
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNJune 17, 2014
Pros: clothing discount
Cons: organization
A typical day at work would be going through shipment, answering questions regarding the clothing and its styling. What I learned from that position was patients, some customers can be indecisive of course. Management was not as good as I would have liked, it was kind of unorganized in a few areas. The hardest part of my job probably would have been – more... the commute, just getting to work was a bit of a hassle. The most enjoyable part of my job was the fashion, Cotton On has very trendy clothing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company Taking the US by Storm
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 27, 2014
Cotton On is a great Australian retailer. It came to the US with great ideas, strategies, and awesome executive teams! The store teams are hard-working and sociable. The management team is great at what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Allocation Analyst (Former Employee), La Mirada, CAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: terrible management
no work/life balance--I do not recommend working in corp yet. Maybe in a few years when they can break off from international involvement in amercia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun merchandise
Sales Associate, Customer Service (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: discount on clothing!
Cons: it was only seasonal
A typical day of work at cotton on was to put the clothes from the dressing room in the correct place, ring up customers, help customers find outfits and keep the overall store looking presentable. I learned how to do inventory and present shelves and display clothing. Management was friendly and helpful as well as all of my coworkers. The hardest part – more... of my job was finding where things went because they changed the store around every week. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to help people find what they were looking for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company
Seasonal Sale's Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), CAFebruary 27, 2014
I really enjoyed working for this company i learned a lot about, i would love to work here again, also it was exciting fun place to work i did a lot of stocking and sales which i really enjoyed. Also meeting many different people and used my social skills here the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun hip atmosphere. Down to earth co workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Concord, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Recovering store. Greeting the customers. Always busy stocking the new products. Co workers were fun and very helpful. Management needed some better organizational skills. The hardest part of the job was standing for long hours. I enjoyed meeting and greeting all new patrons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Welcoming environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXFebruary 9, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of unloading backorder boxes and dealing with the register. The manager was really nice and hands on but the environment between the co workers were not as friendly as it could be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funplace to work
picker/packer (Former Employee), La Mirada, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: healthy snacks, and water
Cons: not enough hours, seasonal
Picked and packed orders, stacked orders on pallet, worked at a fast pace. I learned how to ship and pack online orders. Management was good. Co-workers were fun to work with but also serious about meeting the requirements of items pulled per minute. There was nothing hard to do there, it was pretty much common sense. I enjoyed working at a fast pace, – more... and with a good group of workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcoming enviorment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), El Cajon, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: employee dicounts
Cons: several hetic shifts were short staff
Daily, I learned how to check in-and-out of the computer database, cashier activities, and up-sales/ cross-sales.
The hardest part for me, when I first started, was making each product seem essential and fit each customer. Through time, I learned how to change each approach to each customer. This also turned into the most enjoyable part when I noticed – more... that my actions where satisfying the customer , which insured a loyal customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers WERE FUN!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Camarillo, CANovember 15, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Cons: assistant management
My days Cotton On were fun! the Start of my day was to clock in, get updated with what needed to be done that day, and where I was placed, and I was off to fulfill my duties. My co workers were an awesome team, very outgoing. No disrespect to management. The main manager was very professional with what she did, very flexible with our schedules, and – more... fair. assistant managers needed a little more work in their communication skills with co workers, but other than that they were fine. the Hardest thing I experienced there was fitting rooms. My job was to open fitting rooms, and once the customer was done, I had to make sure they were clean, and put go back on the rack, then back on the floor. This doesn't sound bad, but in busy days, you get a line at the fitting rooms and customers tend to just throw their cloths at the go back rack. there were we had Piles of clothes. After about a week I became a pro and developed my technic. The most enjoyable part was at the cash register.I enjoyed Ringing up Happy satisfied customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clothing
Keyholder Manager (Former Employee), Newport News, VASeptember 4, 2013
This was a new company to the East Coast that originated in Australia. After being offered a management position, I was tasked with opening another store for the company in a neighboring city. The clothing was trendy but the hours were those of a mall. I do not want a career in retail so this was not a longevity choice for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience...
Assistant Manager / Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee), Arcadia, CAJune 20, 2013
Through the several ups and downs I quit and found my self leaving a better person and leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment needs to get their act together.
Key Holder (Current Employee), West CoastMay 25, 2013
Pros: smoke breaks, good team
Cons: awful schedules, no chance for promotion, dead end career
Over four years of retail experience, hired as a Key Holder and treated like a new associate. Promise growth within company but that is not going to happen. Management does not know how to make a schedule. Either you are given hours and then they are all cut or you aren't scheduled at all and they call you every day to come work. Always understaffed. – more... I love the team I work with and the traffic we get in the store, but you will be under appreciated. Upper management is always changing so don't except your hard work to go noticed. They said they would do performance reviews/raises in May and we just so happened to get a new Store Manager/ District Manager in May so raises were delayed. How convenient.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Pasadena, CAMay 22, 2013
Pros: discount and friendships made
Cons: management
I loved my job and the work was fun. But my store manager was horrible. She cut my hours because I was pregnant and even asked when was I going to quit! Other stores within the company loved me and knew I worked hard but my manager was horrible. She has been let go!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as cashier
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gilroy, CAMay 21, 2013
Pros: comfortable dress code
Cons: short lunch
It was a fun place to work at. I cleaned the store and ringed the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexable work place.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Temecula Ca.May 18, 2013
Pros: pay; and weekends off once a month
Cons: n/a
- opening and closing of store
- ensuring daily sales are made, KPIS are maintained.
- learning visual merchandising on a daily basis.
- management is great very upbeat and flexable schedule.
- My co workers are very respectful, and joyous to be around.
- everyday I have a new learning experience.
- I enjoy all my job duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Key Holder (Former Employee), Austin, TexasApril 27, 2013
Pros: great music and awesome clothes
Cons: poor management
Perform opening duties, clean store, merchandise, customer transactions, up sale, promote charity items, perform EOD duties, balance registers

I learn how to manage others and how to run a retail store. The management was lacking, my co-workers were very hard working and always positive. The hardest part of my job was not having enough staff and not – more... being managed well. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to make visual merchandising decisions. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About The Cotton On Group

The Cotton On Group is a retail powerhouse renowned for its winning combination of globally relevant fashion at affordable prices. – Read more

The Cotton On Group Photos