The Doctors Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
Member Advocate (Current Employee) –  East Lansing, MIMay 2, 2017
Office Setting
Great Bonus Structure
Call Center Atmosphere
Hardest Part of Job is working alone without much co-worker interaction.
Co-Workers are friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great upper management and spectacular co-workers
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 30, 2017
One of the best places I have ever worked for.
Management listened and all work for the same goal.
Learned to work not just with my department but every department. Whoever needed helped just had to call.
The most difficult part of the job was all of the different programs to learn but it kept me on my toes.
The most enjoyable was the satisfaction of helping our doctors with their questions and guiding them through the different processes.
Pros
Great peolpe and benefits
Cons
Time difference with the home office. Hard to get used to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are dedicated
Operations Consultant (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAApril 4, 2017
Good place to work if you live in the area. The grounds are beautiful so when the weather is nice, you can take a walk around the campus.

There is a very nice gym on-site too!
Pros
3 dollar lunches, Chef on-site
Cons
No real advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work, good benefits
Senior Medical Malpractice Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Southwestern USAMarch 6, 2017
Average to better than average pay. Management Structure is changing and while upper management is solid, middle and lower management were all hired from within and have little to no claims experience.

Good bonus, average work environment, fun coworkers, Depending on your responsibility, commute and work area can be anywhere from a 50 mile to 250 mile radius.
Pros
Healthcare, bonus
Cons
long work days, more work for 1 employee than should be expected
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but conservative corporate culture
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAJanuary 3, 2017
This is definitely an old boys type of place. They do offer great benefits and excellent time off. You have to be here for a lifetime to get promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits--poor work-life balance
Decline to state (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAJanuary 2, 2017
The CEO is wonderful and really seems to care about his employees. Unfortunately, some of the people at the AVP to SVP level are poor leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and detailed environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAJuly 25, 2016
Great employees and constant assistance with Personal Development and growth within the company. I learned how to be a better worker.
Pros
Discount lunches prepared by a personal chef, nice benefits
Cons
Support for outstanding issues
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice location, not so nice job
Member Advocate (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAMay 13, 2016
I worked as a Member Advocate. It was extremely stressful. Although teamwork and promotion were advocated by management, they were not put into practice.
Pros
Beautiful building and grounds
Cons
No chance to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great teaching company
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MIOctober 15, 2015
Great company to work for with on the job training. Always encouraged team work. Time sensitive work making working together a necessity. Supervisor support always available.
Pros
Team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job where you learn and grow in your career as well as personally.
Claim Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 3, 2015
This is a fast paced working environment with lots of opportunities to learn new things every day in the medical, legal and insurance environment. We work with healthcare and legal professionals who are interesting and sometimes challenging to work with. There are good opportunities to grow with this company and continue learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about The Doctors Company?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management in a financially tough environment
Director of Business Development, Northeast Region (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MISeptember 8, 2015
I worked with exceptional management during my fellowship. I enjoyed the experience but a combination of factors led me to consider other options.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Document Scanner
Document Scanner (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 11, 2014
• Prep work required to the documents before scanning.
• Scanning documents into system
• Renaming Document into (P
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leader in Professional Liability Insurance
Senior Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Napa, CAFebruary 12, 2014
The Doctors Company is a great company and the industry leader in professional liability insurance. The insurance product sold is medical malpractice insurance.
Pros
$2 lunches, great medical.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely wonderful company to work for.
Asistant Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 28, 2013
A typical day required interacting with claims specialists, physicians and attorneys to resolve claims. I learned how to research medical procedures, claim handling procedure, and to work with a diverse group of people. My co-workers shared knowledge. We worked as a team to meet tight deadlines. The only reason I do not worked there anymore is because they closed the Cleveland office.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Napa, CASeptember 4, 2012
Great place to work, great management, great benefits and competitive compensation.
Pros
gym, $2 lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful place to work....money is the bottom line....SURPRISE
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  East Lansing, MIJuly 6, 2012
The Doctors Company is all about not paying people and working them until they drop.
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes41No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stable Company
Sr Reinsurance Accountant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 17, 2012
A very stable company to work for. Great benefits. Always room for improvement and advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Doctors Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8