The Educational Alliance Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different experience
Camp Counselor Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 8, 2015
This job kept me on my toes when working with young children. It gave me the opportunity to put together lesson plans and learn more about each student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping People
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2014
Teachers really care about the children and Families of the program.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
lack of supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much of a productive day
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 30, 2014
I worked 3 months for this agency. I have to say that I had a horrible experience. I tough that leaving my first job for this one was going to make a difference, in terms of helping children. I had bad encounters with the lead teach, she used to scream at the kids and the agency had a lot of uncompliances. On my fist day, the lead teacher never stop to tell me the rules of the classroom or at least to tell me my responsibilities. She spent most of the day out of the classroom than inside. I encountered other problems that i won't mention because is not worth it. These three months were very hard for me in my professional and personal life, because it cost me a lot of patience to deal with this teacher who also was hired with no experience from the agency. However. I also have to say that the other staff members treated me with respect and were very helpful.
Cons
low salary, no health insurance after 3 months, no scholarships for my education after i had 1 year, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant Environment
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2014
Diverse, vibrant environment. Definitely get to experience the culture of the Lower East Side.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Flexible to work/family balance. Understanding supervisors and competitive pay.
Pros
work/family balance
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interactive
Secretary for Director of Curriculum and Education (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2014
The typical work week were Monday to Wednesday and Friday, with Thursdays off. I started at 9 in the morning and ended around 4:30 PM when the children would start leaving. My entire day was stationed at the desk, writing memo's, updating content, and answering phone calls. Depending on what event is going on, the days are usually long and slow.

My co-workers were very polite and helpful whenever I needed assistance and the management I was under was quite well organized.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with the children when they had their free time to play as well as being able to read to them and seeing the amazed reactions on their faces.

Usually the hardest part of this job, however, was maintaining time to get everything done, considering my boss also had me working in the classrooms sometimes as a substitute if one of the Teachers was coming in late and the Head Teacher needed an extra hand.
Pros
interaction with children, independent work
Cons
long, slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented, Team players
Facilities Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 6, 2013
This position tought me alot about city and state regulations. I work alot with insurance companies and capital projects. I had a good relationship with the asst Director and Director of the facilities department. The maintenance team was great. We worked together as a team.
Pros
great team, comp time, vacations, personal time off, visiting other sites, laison with companies/vendors
Cons
my position being retrenched
Was this review helpful?Yes24No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community based organization.
Director of Evaluation and Planning (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 11, 2012
The Alliance is dedicated to serving low income in Lower Manhattan.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with dedicated, sincere staff
Grant Writer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2012
I worked at the Educational Alliance as both an HR Generalist and Grant Writer. Both departments required me to be a multi-tasker while remaining focused. Overall I improved my writing skills. There is no time to become flustered or impatient. The most enjoyable and beneficial part of my job were the insights I gained into human nature and my co-workers, the hardest part of my job was having to deal with the capricious side of human nature.
Pros
great benefits & compassionate management team
Cons
80% of funding comes from city, state, & federal grants, job security can be precarious
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3

Want to know more about The Educational Alliance?

Ask a question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4

The Educational Alliance Reviews by Location