Find companies:
The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place
dietary (Former Employee), fennimore wiFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: residents
Cons: everything else!
Bad workers,low pay, no job security,too much drama.non fair to everyone,singling certain people out,bad communication
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Job
CNA (Former Employee), Luverne,MNNovember 13, 2013
Pros: working with residents
Cons: horrible benefits, always short, low pay, horrible management
Always work short, company burns out employees, management has no respect for staff, low pay for amount of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN! Don't work at Waconia, MN location
RN (Former Employee), WaconiaOctober 15, 2013
Pros: patients
Cons: management, staff, negativity
Where to start.... I started as a nursing asst. worked there for several years, left when I became a nurse and then came back. Talk about going down the proverbial drain. Management lacks interpersonal communications skills and are hypocritical. No room for advancement unless you go to the bar with the Administrator or DON. Co-workers were mostly unreliable – more... and the ones that were excellent were treated very poorly. When someone didn't like you and complained enough it would be a witch hunt by the management to ask other employees what they hated about you and then they would tell you how everyone hates you and how you were lucky they let you work there. There is a major lack of caring on managements part and among other staff. Constantly short staffed and they do not hold the staff accountable when they do not do their job making their partner (NARs) responsible even if they did all the work. Another thing is they never tel the staff thank you or that they are doing a good job. Woud never work for this company again unless I was management so I could clean house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible stuff
Visitor (Former Employee), PeoriaSeptember 14, 2013
The front desk and Black assistant are horrible!How can they hire such people who assault you by eyes and words...
The environment is fine.
Some senior sleep on the wheel outside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
CNA (Former Employee), Louisville, KyJuly 25, 2013
Pros: the residents
Cons: work short all the time, the pay is not great
To far from were I live. Work shoort all the time. The residents I miss. Don't miss the work .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Good place to work
Nurse (Former Employee), ArizonaJuly 9, 2013
Pros: free drinks, snacks
Cons: no lunch breaks, no work/life balance, unsupportive management
This job turned out to be the worst place I've ever worked. There is no support staff. They hire new nurses, but provide no resources to support them. They are very good about telling you to take your lunch and to not work overtime which is a joke, because the work load is too high to do that most of the time. I was told I would work 40 hours a week – more... but worked more like 55 to 60 hours a week. The work load was so high, that charting couldn't be done until the end of the shift since there was no one to delegate tasks that could have been delegated. Sometimes there were no supplies to carry out orders such as starting an IV. The patients and their families were awesome, but the facility did not provide enough staff to give them adequate care. Sometimes the patient load was over 20 patients to 1 nurse. Does that sound safe to anyone? The call lights did not make any noise so if you were split on two hallways, there was no way to know it unless someone else happened to see it and let you know. The coworkers were great. They did what they could, but they were in the same boat as me. The hardest part of my job was leaving my patients. I would not recommend this job. Hopefully they have improved since I worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile and unsafe environment for staff and residents. Do not work here. youll only set yourself up for failure
nurse (Former Employee), st. croix falls, wiJune 28, 2013
Pros: no pros while nursing management still there
Cons: little to no breaks, short staff always, poor management, hostile environment, unsafe conditions, only christian part of facility is pastors there talk and pray with residents and staff, management dont even talk to their residents, pay is on low end of surrounding facilities
This really truly, used to be an enjoyable place to work until "new" nursing manager took over the entire place literally, leaving the other "new" admin, as well, to pratically doing anything she said without taking his authority into any consideration. Sadly, she lead the whole place to think we had gotten a new management leader that would make any – more... flaws of the company, flawless. Approximately 1 month later management started firing employees left and right, nurses and cna's that had enjoyed their jobs and felt at home with these elderly patients and co-workers. And above all these employees had put years of service and dedication into making it one of the best and most well known nursing homes in the entire county! Almost all new cnas and nurses who came to serve and dedicate themselves to the Good Samaritan Society, who'd had previous employers within a long term care facility, had said Good Sam was the cleanest and most caring place they'd ever been to or worked at. That is no longer the case, to say the least. The work load, kindness to others, appreciation, cleaniness, faith, and most importantly, the ability to care for residents in the way youd want your family members taken care of has now completely diminished and/or gone away indefinately.
After serving this center for around a decade and watching co-workers/friends get terminated week after week, following the intrusion of this new management, Good Sam employees have lost any faith and hope of making Good Samaritan any better than it was...Its sad to know I had encouraged any families to allow good sam and its employees to take outstanding care of their loved ones at this once, well known and liked, facility. I would never suggest Good Samaritan to another family under this management.
Also in spite of new management, supervisors and coworkers have been forced to "go with management or get fired" supervisory skills, rather than team leading/teaching skills the remaining staff were accustomed to. There really isnt anyone to go to at the facility when concern arrises or that person may simply get fired. (Yet another con to the new management)
Needless to say, theres a high turnover rate of all staffing type, making it extremely difficult to get all tasks done throughout an entire day due to lack of training new staff properly, while short of staff, stress of not knowing from day to day, hour to hour, if youll be repremanded for things not done, or if your own family gets sick and its your last time to call in or arrive late and are terminated with lack of any type of sincerity or concern.
I dont see this Good Sam staying open much longer with all of this being said. Time will tell. Too bad an angel hasnt flown down to touch this facility or perhaps it will sometime in future and keep the doors open and residents safe. This isnt an effect of the government. Just lack of a good management team we once had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good work place
cna cma (Former Employee), west union iaMay 14, 2013
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: pay sucks management is horrible all in all a bad place to work
The worst place I have ever worked. Cna's are treated horrible especially if the Don doesn't like u. They work u to death. Dont appreciate a thing u do. management is HORRIBLE!!!!! Pay is horrible. If u say hi to a co worker u get in trouble! They get a high writing u up all the time!! I could go on and on but that would take forever. I wouldn't advice – more... my worst enemy to work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there a few years ago
no comment (Former Employee), daytonaApril 5, 2013
Pros: patients
Cons: horrible mgmt
I won't give details except to say that they keep the staff to the state minimum per the census vs the acuity of the patients. The only time they staff adequately is if they are in their state "window" for inspection. They work the cna's to death. The director of nursing only hires personal friends or people who know her socially or who are relation – more... to her such as someone dating a family member or niece or nephew or whatever. If you try to report anything about the treatment of patients or anything you get retaliation bigtime. If they got rid of a select few corrupt employees it would be a great place to work. Otherwise its just another typical nursing home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hypocritical Christians at their finest
Confidential (Current Employee), ArizonaMarch 29, 2013
Pros: the pot lucks and employee gathering
Cons: human resource dpt. and lack of concern for their hard working employees
Daily, weekly scrutiny from HR and lack of training for management. Expectations and rules are developed daily to fit their needs. Lack of concern for TEAM. And an abundance of secrecy the usually results in dismissal of employee without support to staff left to pick up the pieces.. Started out a great place to work till adjustments in staffing and – more... dismissal of employees on a dime. Now the worse job ever. Rather make tacos than put up with the daily negativity that is hung above us.. Don't consider the employment potential you'll be sold a basket of gold that turns to pile – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Horrible Job.
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee), ArkansasMarch 27, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: everything especially the pay rate.
I do not agree with a company who flat out refuses to follow State law and guidelines. I also do not agree with a company who takes pride in covering things up so state wont find out. Employees are disposable, not just the nursing department. The housekeepers and kitchen that I spoke with all felt the same way as me. Its really sad to see the sweet – more... little residents having to take the hit from poor management. Several family members even moved their loved one to a different home. Such a high turnover, even before I started there, they brought in the big wigs to try to find out why. But then they dont listen to anything you have to say. It doesn't matter which department you work, everyone can bring something to the table in terms of improvement and quality ideas. That is just something they werent willing to listen to. I do not recommend this company to anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management & supervisors!
cna (Former Employee), ellsworth, ksMarch 19, 2013
Pros: the residents
Cons: supervisors
Worked there twice and both times I was disatisfied with the local good samaritan. The administrator doesnt know up from down and the director of nursing isnt any better. The turn around in aides is terrible. They can never keep any workers, because NO ONE is happy with how things are done out there! They move you around to every shift and never really – more... appreciate all your hard work and time you put into your job. Stay away!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If You Enjoy Being Used Work Here
Supervisor (Former Employee), Prescott Valley AZMarch 10, 2013
Pros: residents
Cons: management
What a nightmare this place has become
It is hard to believe what GSS is allowed to get away with
This was my dream job and I was back stabbed and treated
so poorly in the end it is unreal. I think management
needs to pray. The founders would be horrified
with what is happening. In Gods Love???? Really????
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Not telling (Current Employee), Loveland ColoradoMarch 3, 2013
Pros: better than starving
I work at a Good Sam and I thought we were the only one's with issues. It seems the whole organization is bad by the reviws I've read. Been with the company several years and has been lousy. Don't know if I have a job from one day to the next. Management is self-serving and people are disposable. I've seen several managers verbally abuse employees and – more... neglect resident's needs. People are afraid to blow the whistle because of reprocussions. I'm gone as quick as I find another job. Working for this organization is better than starving but don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible! Dont waste your time!
Cook (Current Employee), Prescott, AZJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: overtime (paycheck), but 12 hr days often 6 or 7 days a week!!!
Cons: horrible management, horrible co-workers, dishonesty, all around phony cheats!!
Horrible place to work, management is wildly unpredictable and no body is there to help you or the residents which is a horrible environment to be in. Ridiculously understaffed, huge turn around, No body is held responsible for their actions and it's just a constant source of gossip and backstabbing even if you try to stay out of it all they make up – more... lies. Hiring maNader will promise the world but once hired give you nothing but trouble and yell at you for the stupidest things! I can't say enough and hope you'll honestly stay away! It's a MISERABLE place! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just say no for employment!
CNA (Former Employee), KeosauquaSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: the residents
Cons: everything
It's unfortunately a very bad place for staff and residents. Stuck in a fake religious bureaucracy and department heads who cannot relate or care less it was a tragedy working there. Low wages, constant short staffing, huge turnaround a red flag of evidence for anyone. The worst part is the residents suffer. Horrible no wonder they are constantly in – more... trouble. Protect your license and stay away and definitely do not put your family there! – less

Marsue – January 10, 2013

I was going to apply here and noticed your comment first. But then I saw that you are from out of state: what location is horrible? Please let me know, Thanks.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a nice place.
Nurse (Former Employee), Keosauqua, IowaJune 19, 2012
Cons: the management.
I have never felt so insignificant and treated as disposable before. since the new Administrator and director of nursing came it is a miserable place for the Residents and staff. DO NOT APPLY HERE!!

Mindraya – June 28, 2013

I agree completely. Just wrote a review for Good Sam in Wisconsin. I find it quite odd that there seems to be many Good Sams who have new administrators and director of nursing around the same time....??? June 2012?? and same exact complaints are being said....hmmmmm

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Restorative Aide (Former Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 3, 2012
In the beginning this a great place to work until the new Administrator came and laid off half the staff.

FTCNA – May 31, 2012

In Luverne? What half of the staff did we lay off?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has lots of opportunity for the right person.
Marketing Consultant (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 27, 2012
Pros: appears to be structurally sound, has great history, its intent is very good..
Cons: content with status quo, holds great emphasis on its hq, worships its founder.
Interesting organization that offers long term care services in various forms to many small communities in mulitiple states. However, it is hard to tell if it wants to be its own religeon, or is content to be the second-string provider of services in these communiities.

From a marketing perspective, the organization keeps to itself and thinks everyone – more... knows who it is. Each site is quite independent, yet contributes to the mother ship in Sioux Falls, SD without receiving a whole lot of financial support in return, i.e, no revenue sharing. This causes a great range of quality and uneveness in working capital. Some locations do very well and are excellent standing in their towns, while others suffer from low funding, and are a holding tank until an opening for residents occurs elsewhere in their town.

This is a viewpoint from my time with the organization 15 years ago, I doubt if much has changed in the operations, besides the closing of some facilities. – less

Marcelline – January 16, 2013

VERY IMPORTANT that you should know that Good Samaritan Evangelical Lutheran Society DOES NOT pay unemployement taxes, therefore if you are laid off or terminated, you will NOT receive unemployment benefits from the State.

Marcelline – January 16, 2013

BEWARE of accepting a Home Health Care position in Longmont, CO....any position. This small office's director actually looks for fault or invents reasons to fire someone, if they want to let a person go. I was told by others, that this happened with others....just not me. I was asked by other nurses to report this person to HR, "someone has to"....but at the time I feared retaliation from the manager, if I did that. The director depends a great deal on the other 2 office staff to do her own job, while expecting new staff to learn their own job quickly, and without error. She does not know the computer system well, but has no patience with anyone else, if they have problems learning it. Very little to NO orientation, and lack of direction and communication from the director. HHC staff is GREAT, but managment really brings this agency down. I had worked in Home Health two other states. Comparitively, the Longmont Home Health agency is hugely lacking direction. The organization itself is great, but the area HHC agency Director doesn't represent the Evangelical Lutheran Society mission statement....not very kind to it's own staff, lacking Christian values. Very sad....

About The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society

The Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society (TELGSS) strives to be a good neighbor to all, particularly to the elderly people – Read more