The Family Place Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job for Good
DIRECTOR OF FUNDING & COMPLIANCE (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 13, 2017
I worked at The Family Place over 12 years. I worked in finance and indirectly was able to help our clients. That is the best feeling. The staff and management are passionate about the mission. The future is so bright now with the opening of the first men's shelter and the new building with an additional shelter. The new building also has a kennel for clients with pets. I will miss working at TFP.
Pros
Helping clients feel safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Student Intern/Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 7, 2017
Strong agency outreach in community with diverse clients and job opportunities. Agency serves clients on several levels such as crisis hotline, discrete shelter residential services, free counseling, social services, resale store, and coordination/referrals to community services.
Pros
Good opportunity to serve diverse clients
Cons
Location, agency changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division within the Organization
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 2, 2017
There is a clear division within the organization. Internal advancement is based on who you are liked by not ability to do the job.
Pros
Board Designated Holiday
Cons
Obvious discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Volunteer Classroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHDecember 13, 2016
i liked the work environment. it was a great place to work. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful. I was treated as one of the team even though i only volunteered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization helping low-income families and their children.
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 29, 2015
My position at The Family Place has allowed me to develop skills in a variety of areas, ranging from administration to development to volunteer coordinator.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 14, 2015
Very happy to work with this agency. The supervisor is a knowledgeable, helpful and fun to work with.
The Counselors are all very professional.
Pros
Time off when need it
Cons
Always had a dateline to finish certain tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, Tx.May 12, 2015
A very fun, loving, and productive work environment. Organization is flexible with hours and has great benefits. I learned a lot from this organization and what it fights for and I am very lucky to have had the opportunity to work with great people.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
not so great raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and excellent place to learn and grow professionally.
Be Project Educator (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 13, 2015
I've been working with the Family Place for the past six months and I really feel that I have learned a lot about myself personally and professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great contract work
Visit Supervisor/Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 7, 2014
Allows you to work with families and children. Very flexible hours. Great pay!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Independent Contract Worker (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 5, 2014
did volunteer work for events for the community and children.
Pros
good experience
Cons
outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fabulous crew of colleagues
Family Educator (Former Employee) –  Norwich, VTJanuary 3, 2014
Never experienced such a close, cohesive group of impassioned workers.
Pros
The greatest supervisor
Cons
lack of success
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy everyday I am in The Family Place
Volunteer Literacy Teacher for Spanish (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 13, 2013
It is my volunteer job. I help latino people to learn how to read and write in Spanish.

My reward is to help people to integrate in a new society.

The most enjoyable part is when the students are proud of their learning advances .
Pros
I learn about different cultures, values, attitudes, ect
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The time spent with the children in recreation period.
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 11, 2013
The building of a new school which better facilitated the classrooms. The most important part of my job is when I
enteracted with the students and in the classroom and at recreation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, Tx.October 23, 2012
A typical day involved interviewing clients and assisting with personal, and family issues: completing intake, making
assessments and referrals to appropriate agencies.
I learned how to work with people from all ethnic groups and backgrounds, helping them to make decisions for their future.
I helped manage and supervise volunteers.
I always worked well with co-workers and was an avid team player.
The hardest part of my job was to work within a very limited budget. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the clients excel and move from the victim role.
Pros
a great place to work: i love what i am doing!!!
Cons
not enough funding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 23, 2012
Answer phones promote sales Provide prompt and courteous service to all customers
Pros
nice co-wokers
Cons
no work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Family Place. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.3
Culture
4.1

The Family Place Reviews by Location