Find companies:
The Fresh Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
409 reviews

The Fresh Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, underpaid, horrible management--run!
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), VirginiaOctober 28, 2014
Pros: free samples, works with your schedule, discount, travel
Cons: expensive insurance, sloppy training, poor management, low chance of advancement, lack of leadership and accountability
The Fresh Market doesn't just sell groceries; it sells hopes and dreams too. If you just want a job then this may be the place for you. If you are looking for advancement, prepare to be frustrated with poor management, little to none training, and inconsistent corporate standards.
The saying hard work pays off does not apply to this company.Raises are – more... minimal and not timely. The theory of their corporation is great but day to day operation does not live up to expectations.
Standards change depending on who you are and who you know. Laziness is rewarded here. For example, a person was promoted to asst. manager of a dept, they could not handle the job & store management knew it so what do they do?? Swap out that person with another asst manager in a diff. dept., they keep their title & get a raise for not being able to do their original job.
Overall, it's an average job with potential for better but it needs to start at the top of the ladder and trickle down. Company lacks strong leadership. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashiering and bakery clerk (Current Employee), Delray Beach, FLOctober 28, 2014
very busy
always active and working
great co workers
best customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good concept but not managed correctly at the top for growth and outdated technology.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), FloridaOctober 24, 2014
Pros: good concept.
Cons: very poor pay. not comensurate with industry at the store level. managers are constantly quiting.
The company has a pseudo-culture. It talks about putting out a good working environment for managers and hourly staff but does not live up to it. Also, it is set for tremendous growth, but utilizes outdated technology at all levels which will hamper the growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free lunches and snacks
Cons: no cons
Greeting Customers
Opening Cash Registers
Cleaning work areas and Lunch rooms
The Management is the best management ever
Co-workers are hard working and very friendly
There is no hard part at The Fresh Market
The most enjoyable part at The Fresh Market is being at The Fresh Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A departure from the normal
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 17, 2014
As a teacher and musician, I am constantly wrapped up in a small world. Working at The Fresh Market helps me to realize working in a different environment with adults is an enjoyable way to de-stress from a normal 40 hour work week. A typical day is an 8 hour day with serving and preparing fresh foods in a grocery store environment. Management is enjoyable – more... to work with and provide a fun environment for serving customers. The hardest part would be safety around the cutting blades in the deli. The most enjoyable part is serving the customers and getting know new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a up and down Company to work for
produce (Current Employee), VirginiaOctober 16, 2014
Pros: travel to open new stores, great coworkers
Cons: department managers (the lack thereof) hindering of job advancement
Overall my time at the Fresh Market has been a interesting one. I am a self-driven person and people like me can handle this kind of high pace job, but if you aren't then I don't recommend working here. Management expects too much out of their employees and is sales driven. Minimal training, either you sink or swim. Broken promises are a sad reality – more... here. Real hard to get an advancement here unless someone above you quits. A lot of new faces and untrained employees always set you back, but my coworkers are the best part of the job they are great. Company has potential if management wouldn't be so set on sales and focused more on customer demands and fairness to every employee. Also they don't hire the best department managers. Usually half are good managers but the other half lack a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun environment to work in.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Wichita, KSOctober 13, 2014
Pros: fast pace and great co-workers.
Cons: n/a
On a typical day I would start work between 5:30 am to 6:00 am with morning preparation and cold salads and raw meats for the morning cook. Throughout the day I would interact with amazing customers who enjoyed a day of relaxing grocery shopping. This was my first time ever working around food, so I would have to say that everything I learned there – more... was something new and an interesting experience. My manager was amazing. He was very shy, but he kept the team working together even during the holidays and staff was unexpectedly low. We got along great as well as other management. My co-works all brought something different to my attention and it was great working with them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the snacks and taste testing we were able to do with new products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucky place to work
Asst. Produce Manager (Former Employee), Florida & New JerseyOctober 12, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
The only nice thing I could say about this company is if you needed or wanted a transfer they would try to take care of you other that that go work some place else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
grocery specialist (Former Employee), Myrtle BeachOctober 12, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: local district manager and store manager are not engaged
The District manager and store manager think all employees are beneath them. No communication ever to employees as to what is going on with company. with the daily waste that stores throw away or give away I cant believe the stores make any profits. If you want to move up company makes you relocate and if you dont relocate you are let go.
Stay away – more... from this company Myrtle Beach DM could care less about his people really bad – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assigning tasks to employees & assuring everything is operating properly.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Rogers, AROctober 11, 2014
Assigning tasks to employees & assuring everything is operating properly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy workplace
Bakery Specialist (Former Employee), Spanish Fork, UTOctober 11, 2014
Pros: breaks and lunch breaks
Cons: breaks were short
Decorated cakes and cookies, took orders and made sure everything looked full and nice. I learned how to decorate and work fast. I had a lot of good co-workers who made work fun. Hardest part of my job was making sure all the customers were happy. I loved making cakes and putting a smile on our customers face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work
Assistant General Manager (AGM) (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 9, 2014
Pros: customer service commitment
Cons: salary and advancement
My overall assessment is that the company is a good company to work for
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fund and good work place
hand bread the chicken (Former Employee), Suwanee GAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: go where you want to lunch and sometime free lunch for the whole store
Cons: you sometime in the freezer longer than you want to be
I enjoyed my time over at the fresh market very professional, good to their customers and their workers and a relax enviroment and still make all there sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible tratment to employees
Grocery Store Clerk (Current Employee), Annapolis, MDSeptember 25, 2014
Managers are unintelligent and not business savvy. no formal training is required. I've seen prisoners treated better than they're employees. Also quite sexist. They subliminally try and give woman power positions even if they are under qualified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment.
Cashier (Former Employee), Toledo, OHSeptember 15, 2014
You can definitely learn a lot about the company and customers in regards to their needs and expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Grocery Manager/ Key holder (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: lots of room for advancements.
Cons: shut down our store and gave us two days notice.
Overall a pretty good company to work for. The stores are very well managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very great place to work
Front End Cashier (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLSeptember 11, 2014
i loved working for this company. the customers, the employees, and the overall expierence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Managers, Not Many Leaders
Deli Manager (Current Employee), Midlothian, VASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: quarterly bonuses, yearly bonuses, free gourmet coffee
Cons: long work days/weeks, inconsistent management, insufficient hiring/firing practices, deficient managerial communication
The company has great potential but lacks direction. There are very few clear goals for department heads to chase except for the ever-present "Let's increase sales." Creative marketing is minimal and relies primarily on sales to maintain a consumer interest. Individual store distinction is missing and a cookie-cutter model is applied to pretty much – more... every store. I wished for the longest time that I could customize some of our popular dishes to match our local consumer base, but there is little room for innovation and creativity on the departmental level. Over my course of management, I built a hard working, satisfied, and productive team, but those that held a viewpoint outside the interest of the department and the company were held onto by upper management despite issues regarding their ethical or health related work issues. Hard work and high success is passed off and often goes unnoticed. Those that don't do enough work are ignored while those that do most of the work are often the target of managerial frustration. There's a lack of individual accountability. Lastly, there's little vertical potential for internal candidates. The company generally chooses outside candidates over internal candidates. This often lead to the installation of managers into positions they were not capable of handling.

On the plus side, the demographics and customers of the area are pleasant to interact with and many of them find great enjoyment in the interaction with our more personable employees. Many products in the store are of high quality, especially the meat department. Sales are often on popular items that customers already love and that drives a sense of satisfaction. The store is laid out well and looks pleasing to the eyes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have lost faith in the company as a whole...
Department Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: 20% discount, vacation days for full time employees, co-workers
Cons: high healthcare premiums, little middle management support, lower raise percentages, favoritism
I have been with the company for many years, and I have seen a drastic decline in the company as a whole. I am sorely disappointed with the management aspect- especially in relation with company wide percentage cutting of yearly raises and bonuses. These have gone WAY DOWN these last years. Also, management support has gone down, the quality of middle – more... management is much lower as of late- the assistants that are being hired on are not setting good examples for other employees. This is bringing morale down in situations where department heads are often working longer hours to compensate for lower hours being available, and overtime is not being offered to hourly employees who are willing to work extra to take up some of the slack. Human resources is also lacking- if complaints are made against management or a favorite person of management- these complaints are not addressed or ignored- brushed off and made light of, even though several people have witnessed these events and have come forward with complaints about the same person. For example- one employee walked off the job- cursed out a manager, and was rehired by the Regional Manager the next day to work in our other store in town. I moved up through the company to get into the position that I am in, but I can not work for this company any longer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Baker (Former Employee), Ridgeland, MSSeptember 8, 2014
I learned how to bake and i learned how to manage. It also was an interesting workplace.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Fresh Market

When it comes to food, it's good to get fresh. The Fresh Market operates about 100 full-service upscale specialty grocery stores – Read more

The Fresh Market Photos