Find companies:
The Fresh Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
359 reviews

The Fresh Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the fresh market is curupt
Deli (Former Employee), woodbury N.Y.April 28, 2014
Cons: there are to many to list
they promise you everything and give you nothing but stress. They expect so much from you and don't give you the proper hours or staff to do the job they want done. if you happen to work passed your scheduled hours they either tell you to go home or take a longer lunch to make up the difference in the time you worked.They change your schedule with out – more... notice. They are not honest at all. Corporate treats you like your below them ,they talk to you like your a moron they degrade you and belittle you..I have never worked with so many unhappy employees. The rules only apply when it benefits them.They suck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A caring place to work
Produce Clerk (Current Employee), Charlottesville, VAApril 28, 2014
Pros: very friendly enviroment
The Fresh Market backs up there name by carrying fresh products. Coworkers are very friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work environment
Sales (Current Employee), United, LAApril 25, 2014
The department I worked in was not run very well. Breaks are nt given in a timely manner, the employees were rude and not willing to help each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with advancement opportunities
Front End Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 24, 2014
Cons: healthcare
Great atmosphere with returning customers, friendly management and flexible scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, plenty of room for advancement.
Department Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAApril 23, 2014
Pros: fast paced work environment, free coffee
Cons: noncompetitive compensation
Days at The Fresh Market are the same as any retail environment. How you set your routines will determine the ease or difficulty of each day. If you are looking for growing company with plenty of advancement potential, this is the one. They love promoting from within, and will pay to have you relocated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, really bad management
Assistant Produce Manager (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 20, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: over confident corporate leadership
The most enjoyable part of this job are your coworkers, that is it. A great job for a teenager or something temporary, year or two.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Workers were great to work with.
Deli Department Manager (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 17, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: corporate
High turnover, not a lot of pay, awful corporate support. The store level is pretty good, and I like who I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good job but I no opportunity for promotion.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Spartanburg, SCApril 16, 2014
Pros: coworkers and pay
Cons: breaks, lack of hours
On a typical day I run the cash register and talk to all customers. The management is OK but with anything things could be better. I like my coworkers and they are part of the reason why I have not quit. The hardest part of my job is the unfair distribution of hours. I would not say anything about the job is "enjoyable" per say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for. District and Regional Managers defiantly had their favorites.
Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee), Orlando AreaApril 16, 2014
Pros: discount on all your personal purchases. 20%
Cons: poor work environment.
This company comes across as very professional and up and coming during the recruitment and hiring process. However, upon starting at the company you will notice a lack of training, professionalism, and overall chaos. The Regional Manager for the Florida Market has his favorites ( the people he personally hired ). There is no recognition for hard work – more... and they do not perform reviews or give raises as the promise to. They have recently shut down stores in California and Texas as well. This is a publicly traded company, so job security is very low. I would highly recommend finding another company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all about customer service
Assistant Front End Manager (Former Employee), Vienna, VAApril 16, 2014
This job was easy to learn. Everyday was all about keeping things clean and keeping customers happy. The people I worked with were very friendly. I found myself as well as other people there found it hard to deal with the scheduling. The constant rotating of new management lead to constant struggles with the schedule. Not being able to spend time with – more... the family, as well as not being flexible to people taking public transportation made for not so happy workers most of the time. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing regular customers and making them happy by going above and beyond. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter job for college student
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Southern Pines, NCApril 14, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: very busy
Its a very busy and demanding job. Customer Service is the number one priority. Must have great people skills. Management friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED IT HERE
Cashier (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAApril 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: lunchtime rushes
I cannot express how much I LOVED my job at The Fresh Market! Typical day was me ringing up customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is everbody and no body in charge
Deli clerk (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: concept is wonderful
Cons: but poorly executed. i fear for customers health.
training is nearly non-existant. Behind the scenes is filthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Too Quickly
Employee (Current Employee), ILApril 7, 2014
The Fresh Market is probably a great place to work for on the east coast. If you work anywhere else, the infrastructure is not there to support its growth. Every store needs to be the same as every other one, but they do not care about regional differences, preferences, or even selling tactics to different markets. That has to be hardest part of the – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energizing, family atmosphere
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Roseville, CAApril 7, 2014
Pros: 20% discount!!!
Cons: store closed.
The Fresh Market was never the same day twice! It was fun and challenging. It was an open, honest, teaching environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work. managers had their favorites
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Westport, CTApril 4, 2014
Pros: none(well you got a check every two weeks)
Cons: listed in my review
Didn't like the environment, way to much drama. There was a lot of favoritism going on. They let almost everyone do what they want. there wasn't any control. When it came to raises they found any excuse not to give you one. They need new management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
assistant Grocery Specialist (Former Employee), Peoria, ILMarch 26, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: bad scheduling
ordering products, working daily loads, checking in vendors, checking daily emails. I learned how to have good customer relationships. Co- workers were friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My expeirence was very bad.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), The Villages, FLMarch 26, 2014
Pros: food is good
Cons: just about everything
It was pretty terrible. In the beginning I had high hopes, but at the end of my time here I absolutely despised the company. They save a lot of money by under staffing their stores by allowing so many hours for each department, so you're generally doing the work of 2 or 3 people. I can't stress that enough, they just keep working you harder and harder, – more... and don't recognize your accomplishments or give you constructive criticism. Managers lead by fear. Do yourself a favor and try not to work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team, customers, and store to work at
courtesy clerk (Former Employee), elk grove, caMarch 25, 2014
i learned how to work in grocery and cashier, had a great team, everyone was helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Meat/Seafood Clerk (Former Employee), Center Valley, PAMarch 23, 2014
Pros: great management and easy job
Cons: a few bad customers
A good job and learned good customer service skills. Excellent managers that you work with. Most customer were pleasant to deal with but some were terrible.

About The Fresh Market

When it comes to food, it's good to get fresh. The Fresh Market operates about 100 full-service upscale specialty grocery stores – Read more

The Fresh Market Photos