Find companies:
The Fresh Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
416 reviews

The Fresh Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production of bake goods and pasteries
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Ridgeland,MSJune 25, 2014
typical day of work
making the customers smile on their cake orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days, inconsistent scheduling, no work/ life balance
Store Manager (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 24, 2014
Great job security and a lot of room for advancement. Little opportunity for a work/ life balance especially after moving into management. Rewarding day to day work with my staff and ability to give back to the surrounding communities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service is key. having good communication with your co-workers brings good communication to your customers
Grocery Specialist (Current Employee), Mobile, ALJune 24, 2014
I assist and answer any questions brought to me by other employees; other stores; and any vendors that have questions or concerns about invoices. I consistently help in other departments when needed without hesitation. I am responsible to receive and check-in product from vendors. I breakdown product from pallets and work stock to the shelves for safety – more... and organized inventory. I am responsible for any special orders that come through the grocery department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job. It's not fun, or easy, but it's work.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 23, 2014
Pros: employee discount program
Cons: corporate, customers
After years with this company I have seen a lot of changes occur. As time goes on TFM is heading more and more into the corporate bureaucratic mentality. Management ranges from pretty good to awful, and that all depends where you end up. Corporate is just terrible. They constantly make mistakes and get involved in the store end of business when they – more... have very little idea about what goes on in the store, leaving the mess for you to deal with. Your coworkers are the main reason you stay and want to leave. If you work hard, you do most of the work. If you don't do much, you'll skate by far too long. Store management normally knows who's worth anything, but they can't give anything for it. Pay is good for clerk level, but department and assistant managers are not a big deal in this company. Also, you get a lot of customers who are rude, affluent, and entitled jerks who have nothing better to do than to treat you like dirt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my family away from home
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Normal, ILJune 23, 2014
I absolutely loved working for this company. on a typical day I would assist every department, as well as stock the floors. I learned all of my customer interaction skills through this company. my co workers often reminded me of my mom or dad, grandma or grandpa, even my brothers or sisters. there wasn't a whole lot of hard things to do. the most enjoyable – more... part of this job was arriving there each day to everyone smiling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and productive
Front End Office Assistant (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJune 22, 2014
Very nice atmosphere. I learned how to run the front end. There is a lot of room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest and not at all transparent
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), FarragutJune 21, 2014
Pros: salary higher than most grocery stores, generally friendly customers
Cons: see above, plus it's non-union which doesn't make your job very secure
The management at the Farragut, TN location is complete garbage that was picked off the side of the street. I had experience working in a deli before and they never took advantage of it by asking my opinion or treating me like a value to the team. Instead my first day they had me trained by someone who was, like half the store, mentally handicapped. – more... A week later I out-do the deli manager on my work, making food at a faster pace than her and making my area look more neat than hers. Soon after, she's talking about me behind my back to other co-workers and one day she even changes my schedule the day of. I was scheduled to work at 1 which I WROTE DOWN as I always did because I am organized. Because the store was stuck in the 70s and still wrote down the schedule on paper, (no electronics involved like Kroger took advantage of) she erased my time before I came in and claimed I was supposed to come in at 10 in a clear attempt to sabotage me. I was then moved from full time to part time without any notice. I took up the issue with the store manager and he never did anything, which I guess was a blessing because I used the extra time I had to look for a new job.

Shortly after Christmas my mother passes away. Because of how sudden it was and how young I was, I was told by a manager that I could have off the time I needed and let them know when I was ready to return. A month later I call back multiple times a week, only to be told that there was no manager available. When I finally get ahold of one and I get fed this BS story about how I requested day shift only which was completely untrue. My schedule was completely open. I leave them a note giving them my availability and thanking them for giving me time to grieve. Sure enough, I receive no response. I had no choice but to roll up my sleeves and find a new job, which I did.

It appeared that they used my mother's death as an excuse to get rid of me. I learned through this job just how low people can stoop. If you're in need of a job I strongly suggest you steer clear of this one. There are much better jobs out there that don't have managers that are unorganized at unethical levels and hold grudges against employees that surpass them in skill and intellect.

If either of the managers I mentioned in this review read this, I would just like you to know that one day you will reap what you have sown. I know I am not the only one you have played like this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management not hired within like stated
Meat Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 21, 2014
Pros: benefits, enjoyable co-workers, twenty percent discount
Cons: management, promotions, store culture
Employees always unhappy at many of the stores that I have been to across the U.S. Management typically hired outside of the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard for low pay and zero appreciation
associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga TNJune 21, 2014
Pros: employee discount.1 hour lunch break
Cons: understaffed. unresonable workload. disrespectful condescending unorganized management
A great store to shop but an absolutely horrible place to work. A very negative overall environment. I dont think all locations are this bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule
Meat Cutter (Current Employee), Center Valley, PAJune 19, 2014
IQE is an expanding company. The shift I worked on had a fun group of people. The work day goes by pretty quick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and fun workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Roseville, CAJune 19, 2014
Unfortunately this was such a short time I was working there, I didn't get the proper information to speak about this company.

Laid off after three months of working for the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISHONEST
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLJune 19, 2014
They tell you one thing at interview and pay you lower than promised, they play favorites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever
front end assistant (Former Employee), nyJune 18, 2014
Cons: everything about this place
Stay away from this place! Management is horrible, they dont know how to treat associates with respect. They know nothing about running a front end, literally do not know how to do a return. Worst company I've ever worked for. Customers act privileged as if you owe them. Stand there with arms crossed treating you like an idiot. Ugggg, cannot wait to – more... abandon this place – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Bakery/Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Spartanburg South CarolinaJune 17, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: low pay/weird hours
The managers were nice for the most part. The pay was pretty horrible and it was extremely hard to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place in the world
Cashier (Former Employee), Normal, ILJune 15, 2014
My typical day was greeting each and every amazing customer as they walked through the door, and then helping them with whatever they needed help with. I learned many things like how to bag properly, I learned to stock and how to work in the bakery. My co-workers were the best co-workers I have ever worked with, minus one. The hardest part was probably – more... working with that one co-worker and the most enjoyable part was that I could develop a friendship with my customers, and it was a good pace working job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team - Great Environment
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Columbus, GAJune 14, 2014
Pros: excellent management
Great place to work with excellent management. I greatly enjoyed my time working at Fresh Market. I was allowed autonomy and the opportunity to form a solid work ethic. For that, I will be forever grateful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Fresh Market
Produce Manager (Former Employee), Elk Grove, CAJune 12, 2014
Pros: career adavncement, benifits, good managment.
Cons: company does not advertise, prices on produce and product are to high.
Loved my job! Had a great manager who helped me succed at my job .Loved all my co-workers especially my produce team! Who worked so hard to make our produce department the best looking produce department that offered the freshiest produce possible while giving superior customer service.
I enjoyed ever day at my job. Sometimes getting orders just right – more... can be challanging but I never gave up! Once I had all of my duties done I got to enjoy working with my team which was my most enjoyable part of working at The Fresh Market! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FriendlyCustomers, Great Work Enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 11, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
Cons: short breaks
Greet Customers, Handle Cash and Credit Card Transactions,Going the extra mile to help customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 7, 2014
ring up the customer, always greet them, there always a contest to win prizes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work.
Assistant Manager Frontend (Former Employee), Roseville, CAMay 29, 2014
Pros: lots of training, rapid growth
Cons: went out of business.
I loved this Company. The Management and Co-Workers were great.

About The Fresh Market

When it comes to food, it's good to get fresh. The Fresh Market operates about 100 full-service upscale specialty grocery stores – Read more

The Fresh Market Photos