Find companies:
The GEO Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
154 reviews

The GEO Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Productive care for those reentering society
Human Resource Specialist (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 17, 2014
Pros: rewarding, positive place to work.
Cons: can't think of any at the moment.
GEO Reentry Services is a positive step in the right direction for people that will be re-entering society. The knowledgeable and dedicated employees that supply these services are caring and proactive in helping these individuals solve some major changes in their lives. They help with everything, from coaching for interviews, resumes, clothing, job – more... searches, saving money and planning budgets, apartment hunting, appropriate counseling, the list goes on. They are never tiring of making a positive influence on these residents of our facility that are returning to society.
I have learned more of the HR functions, outside of just the WC arena, and I have found it very rewarding to be able to help ALL the employees rather than just the injured ~ they are included in this job as well. So I get to help them all now. I have learned a great deal about myself and just how dedicated that I am in making sure all the employees are happy and healthy. I have found my calling, I believe, as it brings me great joy in just helping at least one employee get ahead in a day. That is the most enjoyable. The hardest part is when I find that I am not able to assist an employee with their request and have to deliver the bad news. A typical day is fast paced and multiple tasks, makes the days fly by.
It is a great and rewarding place to work and the employees all treat each other like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company w/ plenty of room for advancement
Lieutenant (Current Employee), Big Spring, TXAugust 17, 2014
Pros: ot available, like to promote from within, quality training
Cons: vary based on personal situation, but company does try to accommodate.
After reading other reviews, it seems as though the reviewers weren't willing to take initiative to get the most out of their job. In my experience, the GEO Group has been a flexible and rewarding company to work for. No company with plans for growth is going to give away money and opportunities like candy at a parade. If you show up for work every – more... day on time, care, and try, then your efforts and loyalty will not go unrecognized by the GEO Group. They offer rewards for safety, and also frequently reward employees for being positive and productive members of the team. If you possess a solid work ethic, good people skills, integrity, and some common sense, then a career with the GEO Group will only be limited by your own ambition. Please read between the lines when reading many of the other reviews and ask yourself if that person sounds like someone you would want to work with. It is safe to say that the majority of them are not, and had bad experiences because they had bad attitudes from the start. Those people will write a negative review for any employer who gives rewards for hard work and dedication instead of handouts for nothing. The GEO Group is a great company to work for. Don't be deterred by those who expect rewards for mediocrity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overtime
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Lawton, OKAugust 8, 2014
we had our briefing what happened on the previous shift
i learned how to manage inmates
my co-workers are good to work with
getting them to lockdown for the night
you can have as much overtime that you want
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Corrections Job
Correction Officer (Former Employee), Pearsall, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great pay
Great work environment.
Easy work flow.
Hardest part of the job was getting pepper sprayed in the face during training.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the 5 man team for take downs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing in a Correctional Setting
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, VAJuly 27, 2014
-Performs all tasks with a patient-centered focus while seeking opportunities for improvement of processes and treatments.

-Accurately documents all elements of nursing assessment, treatments, medications, discharge instructions and follow-up care.

-Develops patient care plans, including assessments, evaluations and nursing diagnoses.

-Pharmacological – more... and non-pharmacological management and treatment of various disorders and diseases according to protocol.

-Sound, ethical and independent decision-making ability consistent with medical protocols.

-Works with security to help maintain the safety of staff, offenders, and the facility.

-Disciplined, responsible, and dependable employee who quickly establishes rapport with patients and colleagues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all Costs
Case Manager/CO (Current Employee), Milledgeville, GA.July 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: everything else
Underpaid and overworked!!!!! Raises only got to the top guns (management). Management looks down on staff and incentives and rewards stay up top. You really have to pucker up to get somewhere here. Everyone else is treated like peasants. The only good thing is free lunch and they will feed you. To be a multi-millon dollar corporation, it is unorganized. – more... It's like these people deviate from standard morals and are from another planet when it comes to ethics and morals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geo Group
Case Manager (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: great training, weekends off.
Cons: low pay, not treated like a valued employee
Case managers are overloaded and way underpaid for what they do and also compared to other case managers in other companies. Their training is great, but they train people and treat them bad plus give them low wages and workers go to other jobs where they can get paid more money with the skills Geo has taught them. Management doesn't acknowledge problems – more... but tries to talk around them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security
Senior Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLJuly 16, 2014
Pros: family oriented
Cons: benefits
You can have a long career if you are a productive employee. Managers are very flexible regarding scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work but would not recommend to friends and/or strangers
CORRECTIONS OFFICER (Former Employee), Lovejoy, GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: pay is great.
Cons: 6 day weeks, forced overtime, lack of mgt support
Working 6 days on and 2 days off is hard. Management not too supportive. Sometimes it feels like inmates run the prison. Pay is great. Stress is high due to fights, attempted suicides, attacks on officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Food Service Clerk (Former Employee), Eagle Pass, TXJuly 10, 2014
One of the experiences people have known is talented and hardworking, one of the best virtues to achieve the goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay sucks but lots of over time
co officer (Former Employee), phx west prison, ArizonaJuly 6, 2014
Pros: over time
Cons: healthcare
Good place to start off at but not so good to stay at. The employes are very friendly and nice. But if you really want a good co job go to the state prison DOC start off pay 16.50 pluse over time just call the rush number thats on the co website its that easy geo, mtc are all privately owend prison witch means the pay sucks ALWAYS GO FOR STATE PRISON – more... IF YOU HAVE A OPTION. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You quit managers not jobs.
Intake officer (Former Employee), Karnes cityJuly 4, 2014
I worked 22 days straight 12 hrs no breaks. Always answered my phone, helped the facility out on hallways and breaks, stayed late when asked, arrived early when needed. Was written up on my day off bc I couldn't make it in.
Applied for the recreation position and didn't receive the offer. (By the way I have a degree I Kinesiology) I asked HR why and – more... they replied you where the best candidate and we don't know why they chose another. Well, the chosen candidate was asked to take a urinalysis, he walks out and quits.
The warden , asst warden, major and my lieutenant make me go to the warden office and tell me they have plans for me that's why they passed me up.
Horrible higher ups, all worked together elsewhere so they can do know wrong. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is awful and no one knows who is actually in charge
worker (Current Employee), Lawton, OKJune 24, 2014
Pros: hours are not bad
Cons: pay, management and colleagues
Pay is horrid and the turn over is dreadful. Stay away from this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Recreation Specialist (Former Employee), Taft, CAJune 19, 2014
Bad job culture working with nearly 2000 inmates daily
Handled a lot of responsibility
Broad knowledge needed and utilized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place EVER
Case Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaJune 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Run away. They don't care about clients or employees. Only money. I had to give it 1 star on the overall rating because it was required. I would give this place (negative) -stars if I could.

Upper Management lives in an ivory tower. Under staff the facilities, cut budgets except Regional and up management salaries. Very hostile work enviornment from – more... the top all the way down. Nothing positive to say. Only negative comments and blaming all the wrong people-- don't hold incompetent staff accountable but throw them under the bus to CYA themselves.... I'd rather scrub toilets at McDonalds than work for this company. No, I'd rather beg for money on the streets than work for this company. Run away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
staff (Former Employee), FloridaJune 10, 2014
Fixed assets.
Import.
Excel Spreadsheets.
Input information in the software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security staff and most management are vindictive and have poor attitude towards inmates.
A/P CLERK/WAREHOUSE SUPER/ASST FOOD SERVICE MGR (Former Employee), Florence, AZJune 10, 2014
Pros: despite my issues with people there it is a nice pace to work, leaves you feelng like you make a diference.
Cons: poor facility management; some, not all.
The last year I was there was full of harassment and abuse by the officers assigned to my area. My supervisor and his manager did nothing to help my complaints. They did not seem to grasp the fact that the purpose of the correctional facility and its staff is to ensure the safety and well being of the inmates. Instead they treat them like dirt and judge – more... them every day of their incarceration. I don't approve of their crimes but I knew what my purpose was. My complaints against the officers and two management members were sustained by the corporate office, but did little to help my losing my job at the hands of these people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Assistant Shift/Intake Supervisor (Current Employee), Pearsall, TxJune 6, 2014
Pros: ok pay
Cons: leadership acts like children
This company would be awesome to work at but the leadership within needs to take interpersonal communication and management courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Racist Company
case manager (Former Employee), North CarolinaMay 29, 2014
Pros: good compensation and benefits
Cons: racist, and terrible management
I worked as a case manager in NC office and was treated like a second class citizen. Typical day at work was waiting to get nit picked by employees and management, always finding fault with things and finding someone to blame. I already knew how to do the job and was hired for my experience. One of my co-workers was great, and all the others acted like – more... they were holier than thou!! The job wasn't hard at all, management made it impossible to succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor very poor
correctional officer (Current Employee), Lawrenceville vaMay 25, 2014
The geo group is a horrible place to work you get drafted every three days they over work you they gossip everything thing bout you you can't even use the bathroom with everybody knowing the Draft you when about to be of n when you come off I hate working for them I'm trying to leave them so bad and im going for my career as a police officer but the – more... competition is so tough I did my test to become one its me vs 100 applicant's how do I even got a chance huh so I'm put it in God's hands I pray to God I get it and yea it's so terrible man if you can't stay anther 8 hours they don't wanna here it even if you got something very important to do its sad man n they are so unprofessional it ridiculous They will ruined Your marriage huh I'm so miserable there its terrible – less

1 2 3 4 5

About The GEO Group, Inc.

The GEO Group, Inc. (GEO) is a provider of government-outsourced services specializing in the management of correctional, detention – Read more

The GEO Group, Inc. Photos