Find companies:
The GEO Group, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

The GEO Group, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work but would not recommend to friends and/or strangers
CORRECTIONS OFFICER (Former Employee), Lovejoy, GAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: pay is great.
Cons: 6 day weeks, forced overtime, lack of mgt support
Working 6 days on and 2 days off is hard. Management not too supportive. Sometimes it feels like inmates run the prison. Pay is great. Stress is high due to fights, attempted suicides, attacks on officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Food Service Clerk (Former Employee), Eagle Pass, TXJuly 10, 2014
One of the experiences people have known is talented and hardworking, one of the best virtues to achieve the goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay sucks but lots of over time
co officer (Former Employee), phx west prison, ArizonaJuly 6, 2014
Pros: over time
Cons: healthcare
Good place to start off at but not so good to stay at. The employes are very friendly and nice. But if you really want a good co job go to the state prison DOC start off pay 16.50 pluse over time just call the rush number thats on the co website its that easy geo, mtc are all privately owend prison witch means the pay sucks ALWAYS GO FOR STATE PRISON – more... IF YOU HAVE A OPTION. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You quit managers not jobs.
Intake officer (Former Employee), Karnes cityJuly 4, 2014
I worked 22 days straight 12 hrs no breaks. Always answered my phone, helped the facility out on hallways and breaks, stayed late when asked, arrived early when needed. Was written up on my day off bc I couldn't make it in.
Applied for the recreation position and didn't receive the offer. (By the way I have a degree I Kinesiology) I asked HR why and – more... they replied you where the best candidate and we don't know why they chose another. Well, the chosen candidate was asked to take a urinalysis, he walks out and quits.
The warden , asst warden, major and my lieutenant make me go to the warden office and tell me they have plans for me that's why they passed me up.
Horrible higher ups, all worked together elsewhere so they can do know wrong. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is awful and no one knows who is actually in charge
worker (Current Employee), Lawton, OKJune 24, 2014
Pros: hours are not bad
Cons: pay, management and colleagues
Pay is horrid and the turn over is dreadful. Stay away from this place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Recreation Specialist (Former Employee), Taft, CAJune 19, 2014
Bad job culture working with nearly 2000 inmates daily
Handled a lot of responsibility
Broad knowledge needed and utilized
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place EVER
Case Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaJune 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Run away. They don't care about clients or employees. Only money. I had to give it 1 star on the overall rating because it was required. I would give this place (negative) -stars if I could.

Upper Management lives in an ivory tower. Under staff the facilities, cut budgets except Regional and up management salaries. Very hostile work enviornment from – more... the top all the way down. Nothing positive to say. Only negative comments and blaming all the wrong people-- don't hold incompetent staff accountable but throw them under the bus to CYA themselves.... I'd rather scrub toilets at McDonalds than work for this company. No, I'd rather beg for money on the streets than work for this company. Run away! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
staff (Former Employee), FloridaJune 10, 2014
Fixed assets.
Import.
Excel Spreadsheets.
Input information in the software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security staff and most management are vindictive and have poor attitude towards inmates.
A/P CLERK/WAREHOUSE SUPER/ASST FOOD SERVICE MGR (Former Employee), Florence, AZJune 10, 2014
Pros: despite my issues with people there it is a nice pace to work, leaves you feelng like you make a diference.
Cons: poor facility management; some, not all.
The last year I was there was full of harassment and abuse by the officers assigned to my area. My supervisor and his manager did nothing to help my complaints. They did not seem to grasp the fact that the purpose of the correctional facility and its staff is to ensure the safety and well being of the inmates. Instead they treat them like dirt and judge – more... them every day of their incarceration. I don't approve of their crimes but I knew what my purpose was. My complaints against the officers and two management members were sustained by the corporate office, but did little to help my losing my job at the hands of these people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Assistant Shift/Intake Supervisor (Current Employee), Pearsall, TxJune 6, 2014
Pros: ok pay
Cons: leadership acts like children
This company would be awesome to work at but the leadership within needs to take interpersonal communication and management courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Racist Company
case manager (Former Employee), North CarolinaMay 29, 2014
Pros: good compensation and benefits
Cons: racist, and terrible management
I worked as a case manager in NC office and was treated like a second class citizen. Typical day at work was waiting to get nit picked by employees and management, always finding fault with things and finding someone to blame. I already knew how to do the job and was hired for my experience. One of my co-workers was great, and all the others acted like – more... they were holier than thou!! The job wasn't hard at all, management made it impossible to succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor very poor
correctional officer (Current Employee), Lawrenceville vaMay 25, 2014
The geo group is a horrible place to work you get drafted every three days they over work you they gossip everything thing bout you you can't even use the bathroom with everybody knowing the Draft you when about to be of n when you come off I hate working for them I'm trying to leave them so bad and im going for my career as a police officer but the – more... competition is so tough I did my test to become one its me vs 100 applicant's how do I even got a chance huh so I'm put it in God's hands I pray to God I get it and yea it's so terrible man if you can't stay anther 8 hours they don't wanna here it even if you got something very important to do its sad man n they are so unprofessional it ridiculous They will ruined Your marriage huh I'm so miserable there its terrible – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work place
Corrections Officer (Former Employee), Karnes City, TXMay 22, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: you will not be there long unless it is your entire life
No work ethic. Rank over works officers until they are literally sick. After they cannot work the hours they are asked to work, they find ways to write them up and push them out of the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company is dedicated to growth and offers a competitive salary in the Corrections field.
Sergeant (Current Employee), Panama City, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: free breaks, free lunch, dinner and breakfast.
Cons: health insurance, advancement oppurtunities
My typical day at work consists of me maintaining supervision of approximately 20 staff members while ensuring for a safe and secure environment for offenders. There isn't much learned at a this point in my career as I have been in the profession for 19 years. The management is fair and provides open communication for all. My co- workers have a team – more... oriented mindset and applies themselves on a daily basis. The hardest part of the job is maintaining focus as the job is very repetitious. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with various cultural's of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee), Ontario OhioMay 18, 2014
Cons: everything
Management are clowns. There is a reason they are always hiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another day in prison
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), Lawton, OKMay 14, 2014
Pros: good supervisors
Cons: bad environment
Working at Geo was not too bad, the supervisors were really good and helpful. It was dealing with the inmates day in and day out that was the challenge, it was a constant battle of arguing and standing your ground. It got to the point were I thought I was an inmate instead of an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Detention Officer (Current Employee), Pearsall, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Excellent place to begin your career as a correction or detention officer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to earn experience in the Criminal Justice field of work.
Detention Officer (Former Employee), Conroe, TXMay 13, 2014
This most enjoyable part of this job was building a family with my co-workers due to the nature and sverity of the job. I learned a lot about immigration at this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learnig enivorment
Job Developer (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 10, 2014
Pros: working with people with barries to employment
Cons: very long hours
Very high pressure job love it there people were great learn a lot learn to deal with all types of people and backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes stressful, but very productive
Correctional Officer (Current Employee), South Bay, FLApril 16, 2014
Pros: good working environment
Cons: benefits, salary
A typical day at work would be checking out tools to the Maintenance Department staff, while also monitoring the movements of the inmates at the prison. I've learned alot about inmates, as well as myself from working here. At first, I used to think that all inmates were the same and treated all of them the same way. But as time went on, and I matured – more... in the correctional field, I came to realize that some inmates are genuine and "were dealt a bad hand". They accepted their mistakes and are just "passing time". I use to be all for me and no one else. My mentality was "nobody has your back like you". But working in this field, you meet alot of different people that make things easier and more pleasant for you, as well as themselves. The hardest part of my job is the job security. Inmates get stabbed, beat up, and sometimes even killed. The most enjoyable part of my job is being around people who make me feel happy. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About The GEO Group, Inc.

The GEO Group, Inc. (GEO) is a provider of government-outsourced services specializing in the management of correctional, detention – Read more

The GEO Group, Inc. Photos