Find companies:
The Help Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

The Help Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-tasking experience
General Office Support (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: daytime desk job
Cons: little confusing software
I carried several responsibilities. I priotised what was needed first and let my supervisor know of what task I was at present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
understanding Behaviors
Autism Behavior Aide/One To One (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: fixing a bad behavior
Cons: no insurance
keeping your eyes and ears open.One thing ive learned working with kids with autisum is everyone has different levels of behavior you have ur low function and high function.Know with my case i had a hight function child but with very bad behaviors.what was rewarding is that i was able to control all of his behaviors that mom, theraphist and fam couldnt – more... like biting kicking and spitting that was a plus for me.But i can say one of my hardest parts was understanding why he wouldnt eat after taking meds.well as i did research i found out that the meds made him yper and goofy so he rather play than eat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you learn something every day.
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAJuly 28, 2013
The population, which is youth with autism, was definitely a challenge but rewarding at the same time. Every day we assist students get through a typical day, which consist of reading, writing and socializing. Management was not typically present when there were incidents with the students. My co-workers were very helpful and work felt like home due – more... to the tight-knit rapport we had with each other. When one student had an outburst, it became difficult to supervise other students. I truly enjoyed working with this population. They taught me so much about appreciating life and not taking things for granted. I would definitely work with this population again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking to really make a difference? Find someplace else.
Direct Care Staff Adult DD (Current Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAJuly 15, 2013
This place is ideal to work if you really need a job and healthcare or you really need experience, if you can spare the time and go out and accomplish your goals, do that instead. The hours are long and as an employee, your options do not account for much. While I understand that yes, it is about the clients, working so many hours with them (at time – more... spending more time with them than their own families do) should warrant for something. There is no growth for advancement. They're moving people around and out instead of just hiring new workers. Think of the term 'Cheaper to keep her'.

A typical day is over 14 hrs., depending on what facility you work at varies. You may work in a facility./house/home where they are very dependent on you, or one in which they are very independent, just depends. The organization is client centered for the most part, especially for the adolescents. The adult homes are kind of looked over, and not a 'really big deal' as I was told by a supervisor. Overall, management is ok. My immediate co-worker/partner is something else. They have taken cash from the facility, they have shown up to work hours after they were initially to report. Outside of them and two other co-workers, everyone is level-headed, but are not the type to speak up and out for themselves for the notion that nothing will get done, which has ultimately been proven more times than debunked.

The hardest part of this job is the personalities you have to work with. And honestly, when you have the up-most intention of doing something to change a clients life or adding new activities etc..., there's 10 other staff out for blood because you added 'more' to their work load. Not to mention that we are underpaid for the hours we put in ($8 an hr.) even with overtime and double time, it still equates to what someone who works 40 hrs. a week takes home (after the high healthcare and taxes)

The most enjoyable part of this job is the clients. Especially, when you can take them out of the rut that most of the previous staff have had them in and expose them to new things, and show them that a disability, is just a word, and should not be a barrier. It's the most amazing thing. You feel like you've actually accomplished something in your life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: sometimes free lunches, snacks and coffe in the office
Working at the Help Group UCLA Autism Research Alliance has been a great learning experience. A typical day at work includes scoring and verifying data, inputting data into excel, creating packets for future training programs, and recruiting for upcoming studies. The co-workers and bosses are all friendly and very sweet. They are well organized and – more... teach the Research Assistants with patience and are available anytime with any questions. There really is no difficult part of the job except if you chose to create your own abstract and apply to conferences across the globe, than that takes up personal time and commitment. Personally, the hardest thing that I have had to overcome was the public speaking aspect of working at the THG Alliance. The most enjoyable part of the job is that we are all a team which creates a friendly, fun, and enjoyable environment that makes you want to come to work everyday. It is nice to have a balance of hard work surrounded by knowledgeable and easy going peers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work enviornments
Life Skills Coach (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAApril 17, 2013
I enjoy working with clients in their personal space as it helps to build workable relationships with parents and clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Day Rehab Support Specialist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 10, 2013
Planning daily activities, music coordinator, providing a therapeutic environment for youth with significant
emotional, social, and behavioral challenges, overseeing transportation of clients, managing of daily reports
and weekly summaries for the Department of Mental Health (DMH)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Instructional Aide (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CAMarch 8, 2013
Everyday was something new. Everyday was a learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a stable job with opportunities to advance
Wraparound Facilitator (Current Employee), Van Nuys, CAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: job stability
Cons: expensive healthcare
The Help Group has many programs for which one can apply. The Wraparound program is similar to that of most Wraparound programs within large agencies. It is a high intensity program, so one's work day can suddenly change based on the crises that come up within cases. Co-workers at the agency are wonderful. They are supportive and easy to work with. – more... Management is average as the agency is large and supervisors have a lot of duties. The hardest part about the job would be the unexpected crises that come, but if you enjoy working with clients then it is also a very rewarding experience to help them get through the crises. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taught me good skills with jobs
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Van Nuys, CAJanuary 1, 2013
I was in a 3 month program. They were teaching the students how to keep a job and interview.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't think of it as a Permanent Job.
Prefer Not To Say (Former Employee), Sherman Oaks, CADecember 17, 2012
Pros: helping children with autism - if you care about them
Cons: awful management, stuck up people, have to address management by dr. such and such, low salary - while management buys houses and new cars, mismanagement of the nonprofit's money.
Was looking forward to this job, helping kids and be a part of a non-profit organization.

Several months later I hated this place and could not wait to leave.

Stuck up management. They only allow you to address them by their title such as Dr. Such and Such - god forbid you call them by their name - they get very upset and co-workers remind you not – more... to do that the next time!

Hiring of the other management is by "friendship only" - thus you get some crazy people you report to, who do not deserve or qualify to be managers.

People at the top buying new cars and own at least 2 houses, take months long vacations - I wonder how if this is a non-profit organization...

Very screwed up and dishonest - like a lot of non-profit organizations.

High employee turnover!

Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do this job while looking for another
Instructional Aide (Current Employee), Van Nuys, CAOctober 6, 2012
Co-workers are nice, management are indifferent. No annual reviews, no raises, barely make enough money to buy insurance. No 401K or vacation. High turnover among staff. Hardest part of job is knowing that if you go above and beyond, you still get the same pay as someone who just meets expectations.