Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,008 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our Mission
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Pharr, TXDecember 22, 2014
Pros: business management training
Cons: employee turnaround
"Our mission is to be the most customer focused, cost efficient vehicle and equipment rental / leasing company in every market we serve. We will strengthen our leading worldwide positions through a shared value culture of employee and partner involvement by making strategic investments in our brand, people and products. The focus of everything we do – more... will be continuously improving shareholder value.” – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stubborn and non-receptive management
Driver (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLDecember 20, 2014
Pros: a few interesting co-workers.
Cons: poor wages, employees not kept informed, long shifts without break.
During my 10 months with Hertz, I made numerous suggestions for improved efficiency and customer service. Virtually all my suggestions were rejected or ignored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Sales/Business Development (Former Employee), Muncie, INDecember 20, 2014
Pros: team environment. managers get company vehicle and fuel is paid.
Cons: no work/life balance. lack of upper management support.
Manager at the Muncie Hertz Location.
-Focus on customer sales (insurance, up-sell vehicles, Fuel)
-Manage employees (Manager-in-Training and car transporters)
-Open/close branch
-Make all necessary monetary deposits
-Account Management
-Time-management
-Vehicle utilization management
-Performed outside sales calls (started 2 agencies while I was there. – more... My branch was the only one in the state of Indiana with 2 agencies)
-Managed agencies and make sure all reservations were met
-Fleet Management

-I learned a great deal about sales, business management, time-management, and customer service.

-The most enjoyable part of the job was the satisfaction of seeing your employees succeed. Making sales was very enjoyable, as well as satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother working here
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Danbury, CTDecember 19, 2014
Pros: car
Cons: hours, healthcare cost, culture, leadership, training, complete lack of recognition
Loooong hours...poor pay. Benefits are decent but the culture will burn one out...they hope to get a few years out of you before they move you out. The HR people promise the world...they churn employees like nothing...always a fresh batch willing to endure. Company is run poorly...inept managers....real lack of leadership and zero Corporate vision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much hard work for a low wage
Management Trainee/Management Assistant (Current Employee), NJDecember 18, 2014
Pros: my branch manager, health benefits
Cons: hours, working conditions, cleaning disgusting vehicles all the time, unreal expectations of selling, depleted fleet, bad area management, lack of proper staffing.
This corporation is very hard to work for, they consistently shoot themselves in the leg by making up lies that we have all these cars when we're always scrambling for cars. So be prepared to deal with customers who are typically in a bad mood when they show up and there's no car available for them. This job requires a ton of hours, but you may have – more... some downtime to sit down and apply for other jobs like myself. The area manager has been next to useless and has watched me struggle firsthand with the computer system and practically refuses to help me. His "I don't care attitude" is horrible, and hurts my branch managers location. The conditions are just not worth the low pay, if you have allergies like myself you should avoid this place. I constantly have been getting sinus infections and have also been getting sick as well, this place doesn't care about their employees. They push you to sell gas, better models, and insurance. Here's what they don't tell you: there's no time to fill cars up, so the gas levels are usually extremely low; the better/higher end models are usually never on the lot because you will be always scrambling for vehicles. And also the insurance part of selling is nearly impossible because most of the customers are mad when they come in because you're making them wait. Everything is last minute here, which is so unprofessional but they obviously do not care enough to fix up this company. The car fleet is always at a minimal level, I usually have to turn down a ton of business per day. Fortunately I'm quitting this job very soon, because I want my life back. I don't have any energy for life itself, I used to be in better shape. Now I'm just run down in my early 20's in nearly 3 months of working here. Oddly enough this corporation is promoting a weightloss program, but who has the time when your day is 10.5 hours on average. Avoid this place unless you have low standards, then this is for you. My manager is great guy too so I feel bad for quitting but at the same time I need my life back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was hoping for more
Branch Manager in Training (Current Employee), baton rouge, laDecember 18, 2014
Unfortunately, Hertz has not been everything that it seemed it would be. The advancement structure is in place but is not adhered too. Customers can also prove to be difficult and the lack of employees has been cumbersome at times as well. I did enjoy my co-workers and there were some great times but they were few and far between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Branch Manager Associate (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 17, 2014
Long hours, fast paced and the opportunity to make sells and earn some commission. Need to take care of their employees better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place for hands on training and learning how to run your own business
Managers Associate (Current Employee), Norristown, PaDecember 17, 2014
• Cleans and services site facilities to ensure professional appearance and positive customer service.
• Ensure vehicle has no visible external dirt, inside is vacuumed and no trash from previous occupants, seats are clean of debris and stains, and fuel tank is full.
• Supports achievement of location sales and margin goals by working closely with Location – more... Manager on assigned tasks and develops management skills to qualify for promotion to the next level by successfully meeting daily challenges with hands-on experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Clayton, NcDecember 16, 2014
The company is great, however there is a severe lack in organization within the Raleigh 'pool'. The company offers great benefits and has more positives than negatives in my opinion.

They do care about their employees' and they offer incentives and rewards and recognition.

This is a company where it is easy to progress and grow with ample knowledge – more... within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace work
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 15, 2014
Pros: free car and gas
Cons: understaffed
hard work will take you to the top. You have to be able to sell to work for Hertz... If you can not sell you shouldn't apply
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
branch manager trainee
Branch Manger Trainee (Current Employee), Eagan, MNDecember 14, 2014
Cons: loong hours, bad pay, poor manegement
Horrible place to work, manegment is horrible no structure to this company, pay is bad, no room for growth in the company they base it all off of sales witch you can't sell protection on a car everyone has insurance already. Hertz is very very unorganized and always runs out of cars. Customers yell at you on the daily for running out of cars even though – more... they had their resavation 3 months in advance I work 730 to 530 every day and I'm not allowed to take a brake longer than 10 mins, there is no work/life balance all you do is work. Hertz is not a good place to work!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I thought it was a secure job
Reservations/Sales (Current Employee), Mobile, AlDecember 11, 2014
I've worked for Hertz for 2 1/2 years and there has been some very drastic changes over the past few months. The most recent change was earlier this week when the entire domestic sales dept, the dept that answers when u call to check prices, make or change a reservation, or just for general questions, was being transferred to an overseas company and – more... the entire call center in Mobile, Al and OKC will not have their job as of January. They said we can APPLY for jobs in other Dept's but there's no way to place everyone so a lot of us will no longer have jobs. They roadside service dept was transferred to them a couple of months ago. I am very disappointed. I can understand if the company went bankrupt or something but to just give our jobs to someone else for cheaper pay, I'm talking 1,000s of people just isn't right. Honestly I don't know if I even want to apply for another department. That trust is gone and I don't want to work for a company that does things like this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
vehicle service attendant .Full time (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 9, 2014
this company need free person to work up to 16 hours every day especially in the busy season. the work environment is busy all time and the managers try to push the workers all time to attend the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with new cars to drive everyday
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CADecember 9, 2014
Pros: drive new cars, get paid overtime
Cons: required overtime and car washing
The CSR position is fairly predictable when it comes to the duties of the car rental salesman with a couple additions to the requirements. The CSR will be expected to wash cars in their mandatory dress clothes as well as work anywhere between 10-20 hours overtime.

The overtime stacks up pretty easily though, especially while driving to different locations – more... to open/close.

If you are driven by making easy up-sales as ad-on services and don't mind working a moderate amount of overtime then Hertz Car Rentals may be the perfect fit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast pace work environment
Rental Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 8, 2014
Cons: facility needs improvement
Great staff, wonderful management, and good company to grow with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertz
Virtual Sales Representative (Current Employee), AT HOMEDecember 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits and flexability
Cons: need open availablity and no life
Great job and benefits however must have open availability. Shift changes often and hours do not allow you to have a life even with your spouse. If you are single or retired this is defiantly for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
B-Tech
B-Technician (Former Employee), Newark, NJDecember 8, 2014
Followed checklists to verify that all important parts were examined. Examined vehicles to
Determine the extent of damage or malfunctions. Specialized in servicing brakes and fuel
systems. Operated pneumatic tools and air compressors. Removed and replaced tires, shocks,
struts and brakes. Organized work records and filed reports. Complied with state – more... vehicle
requirements, including engine safety and combustion control standards. Ordered accurate
amounts of parts and supplies to maintain necessary inventory. Guided mechanics with decisions
concerning repair and replacement of parts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very low paying for the work you would do
Manager In Training (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 7, 2014
this job is good to have but the pay is very low for the work they make you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MODecember 7, 2014
Environment was fast paced and friendly. Customers were always pleasant to work with. Co-workers and Supervisor extremely friendly and always showing concern.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible place to work
Car Transporter (Current Employee), Newark, NJDecember 6, 2014
This job is very flexible which gives me the chance to do other things during the week. Everyone that I work with is pretty much down to earth and fun to be around.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos