Find companies:
The Hertz Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
831 reviews

The Hertz Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't let the title trick you
Branch Manager Trainee (Former Employee), UnionMay 14, 2014
Pros: get to drive different cars
Cons: everything about it is a lie
it was definitely long hours from 7:30 to 6, with a 30 min lunch break. All I learn from this Branch Manager Trainee job was driving, driving and driving. I did not learn anything from the system but driving and picking up customers. I am not from where the Hertz location but within two days I am totally familiar with the place and still no clue about – more... the whole computer system. The branch manager were nice but one of the trainee that was there before me give out this nasty attitude to everyone that came in after her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader & Great Opportunity for Professional Growth
Territory Operations & Sales Manager (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMay 9, 2014
The best in the industry with great opportunity for growth and career advancement.

Room for improvement with pay on all levels of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs work
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Bellevue, WAMay 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great co-workers
Cons: long hours
A typical day was 11 hours a day constantly moving, coworkers were very helpful in getting use to the daily environment. Hardest Part of the job was the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management and Pay
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee), Marble Falls, TXMay 7, 2014
Pros: there are no pros, this company is horrible
Cons: horrible management, dishonest supervisors, horrible pay, all around just a horrible place to work
Do not work for this company!! This company does not care about its employees, their lives or family. You get paid peanuts for doing management's job. When you need management the most to help you out, they are MIA. I have been with this company for over two years and from day one, have had my integrity questioned by my manager and Area Manager every – more... day. You will not get time off unless your manager feels that it fits into his schedule.
This company expects you to sale with integrity, yet it encourages its employees to cheat the system. If you don't hit your numbers and you are one of the unlucky saps that are not in the "in crowd" of the company, your terminated. No questions.
Also, this company looks for any reason to not pay you a bonus. In this business, you eat or starve by your bonuses and commissions. Personally, I have not gotten a bonus in three months because Hertz has changed their bonus payout structure and failed to tell their employees until after the fact.
I would give this company 0 stars if I was able to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly place towork
Express Rents Agent (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OkMay 7, 2014
busy operation for high energy people. Very hard to advance within company with degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Sales and Service Associate (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 4, 2014
Pros: my work hours
Cons: no raises
It's ok, not really stressful, except for days when there aren't any cars or close to enough cars to accommodate reservations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to strengthen management, multitasking and customer service skills.
Management Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 2, 2014
Hertz is a good place to start for a recent grad. There are opportunities for growth, but it is definitely based on self motivation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company
Analyst (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMay 1, 2014
Solid company with opportunity. Ability to work with all levels of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Driver (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FlApril 30, 2014
There is teamwork compliance responsibilities and work under pressure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Location Manager (Current Employee), McAllen, TXApril 30, 2014
Customer-focused company that has a worldwide reach. Day-to-day operations can present challenges, due to fleet issues, but overall good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hertz is worse the catching a brick to the face and being lit on fire
Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Poughkeepsie, NYApril 29, 2014
Pros: did have some awesome coworkers and manager, but awful upper management
Cons: everything about the job. regret everyday spent there. waste of life.
Worst job I ever held. Was a "manager trainee" yet I felt more like the company slave. They treat their employees like garbage. Even my branch manager was fed up with their garbage. Worked 12 hour days...if I was lucky most time it went longer. Never had enough cars for customer needs. How does a car rental company never have enough cars? Why would – more... they continue to take reservations if they don't have the ability to meet the demands. My building would flood when it rained, had black mold on ceiling tiles, the building was literally falling apart. No matter how well you do, it isn't good enough, their way of not having to promote you. The best part of working for them though is when they ask you to quit because they don't want to work around your school schedule, but they can't fire you because you still work close to 50 hours a week, if not more, and they don't wanna pay your unemployment. Joke is on them though because the day after I quit I landed two jobs which paid more and were way more fun. Oh yeah, hertz pays garbage wages with no raises unless you get promoted and even after that maybe happens your raise is a joke. And their insurance packages they offer suck. Hertz is rated the 3rd worst company to work for for a reason. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Shelton, CTApril 29, 2014
you have to be able to multi task high turn over with new employees .Which leaves managers short staff regularly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Career Growth Opportunities
Area Manager (Current Employee), Greenville, SCApril 28, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities, training programs, car privileges
Hertz is an outstanding company to start your career. Their Management Trainee program gives every employee the tools and training needed to be success with the company. They provide an environment where your hard work and success is recognized and rewarded. The ability to rapidly advance is the top benefit to working with Hertz.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Manager Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 26, 2014
Pros: flex hours
Cons: overworked, stressful, under appreciated
I am currently working at an off airport location and I hate it. I feel so over worked and under paid. The management sucks. Upon being hired, they did not explain the "sales" aspect of this career to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Place for Growth!
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 25, 2014
Working at The Hertz Corporation is a great place for growth and development. With it's Manager Trainee program, one would learn the basics of the industry and grasp the concepts of the day-to-day operation. As part of the development, a Branch Manager works closely with you to identify areas of strengths and improvement to prepare one to become a Branch – more... Manager and above. After this one-on-one trainig, the opportunities start to flow. Within a year, I was promoted and after that only 6 month promoted again and currently am a Branch Manager myself! Of course, the buck doesn't stop there. There are greater potential to be promoted further in operations as well as coporate. Hertz not only offers the opportunities for growth but provides constant development. It spends a great deal of time and efforts to send it's employees for training and one would have options to select different courses to further develop oneself. Hertz sees the potential in giving back to its employees by developing them to be even greater leaders within the company. Working for an establishment such as Hertz will constantly challenge you but will give you the tools to become a successful leader. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Area Manager (Current Employee), Silver Spring, MDApril 25, 2014
Pros: you can go as far as you want if you work hard.
Cons: very fast pace, hard to complete all tasks in one day have to be good at time managment.
Hertz is a great place to work. They offer amazing benefits, great bonus plan and 401k.

Everyday is a new day so it keeps the job fresh and exciting. Plus you get to meet lots of nice new people.

Management does a good job with keeping everyone informed on current issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career opportunity with rewards for performance
Manager (Current Employee), FloridaApril 25, 2014
Pros: great benefits, ample vacation time, opportunity for advancement
Cons: allow managers to make more decisions and be responsible for them.
Overall a good company and good place to work. Anyone can make as much as they'd like so long as they perform. The job is strongly based in sales and customer service. For those who excel, advancement happens often.

While the day to day operation can seem routine, the bigger picture is that the branch truly owns their business and it's performance – more... through profit and revenue sharing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for Advancement
Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLApril 24, 2014
Pros: competitive, mobility, changes
Cons: technology is outdated
The off airport locations are constantly evolving to meet the needs of our customers. I love the change and improvement based culture. It's a competitive environment and room for advancement especially if you're willing to move around. This keeps the job interesting. This is not an office job. You are up, moving, active and getting pulled in many directions. – more... If you're up for the challenge this is the place to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and easy
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXApril 24, 2014
This job is simple to learn and is an ok place to work I work at the airport so it is fun seeing new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job with wide parameters for daily tasks. Enjoyed working on my own with supervision/counsel from management
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee), Santa Maria, CAApril 23, 2014
Pros: the freedom of outside sales and the use of a company vehicle.
Cons: often times i could not meet clients' needs due to the inavailablity of specific equipment.
On a typical work day I traveled to job sites in the morning. I met with project managers, superintendents, and foremen to discuss any of their equipment needs. My day also entailed extensive phone networking, documentation of sales calls, placing and calling off orders, coordinating the picking up and delivery of equipment. I grew in the knowledge – more... of dealing with interpersonal relationships, networking, trouble-shooting, willingness to be flexible in unexpected circumstances, and multi-tasking. Overall I had respect for management. I appreciated my co-workers. The hardest part of the job had to be not having equipment available to fulfill my clients' needs. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting face-to-face with clients and building relationship with them. I also thoroughly enjoyed the freedom of outside sales. – less

About The Hertz Corporation

Hertz operates its car rental business through the Hertz, Dollar, Thrifty and Firefly brands from approximately 11,555 corporate – Read more

The Hertz Corporation Photos