Find companies:
The Hillman Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

The Hillman Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work
Technician/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Ozone Park, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks, barely any healthcare coverage, opportunity to grow limited
Worked various machinery
Inventory Management
Conducted company reports
Management of store's and personnel
Implemented Planograms
Merchandising
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi learning trade experience
Shipping (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: short breaks, harsh inside heat conditioning
A full cycle of production from one department to the next that finishes into shipping out to worldwide customers. Learned to drive a cherry picker machine and distinguish different types of metal used for home improvement projects. Management was strict and usually handled any problems very quickly. The hardest part of the job was uncontrolled climate – more... it could easily reach over 100 degrees inside. The greatest part about the job was switching job position daily to kill a repetitive work routine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and fun place to work
ORDER PULLER (Former Employee), Shafter, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: free lunches and sometimes employee barbeque's
a typical morning was to clock in and start working right away, I learned many productive things such as assembling boxes and learned to be a team player. Unloading the heavy boxes unto the conveyor was one of the hardest part of my jobs but rewarding because it kept me busy throughout the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable engaging with all types of people.
Outside Hardware Representative for SW Washington (Former Employee), Cinncinatti, OHJuly 7, 2014
Pros: all expenses paid.
Cons: occasional very long hours.
Self-driven and organized, scheduled position with sixty national account stores providing them with scheduled merchandising, new product sales and stocking. Company auto averaging 200 miles per day and 12-16 hours of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Sales (Current Employee), Houston TxMay 14, 2014
Pros: company car
Cons: alot of hours in the field and the office
Most of the time Hillman is a great company with great benefits.
As large as the Company is they are very accurate with shipping.
Back office work(POG, Reports etc...) can be confusing sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for the single man/woman.
Order Processor (Former Employee), Shafter, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: occasional catered lunches/potlucks.
Cons: constantly being on the clock having a quota to meet.
If you don't have any kids, are single, aren't married, then this is the job for you. If you have a good amount of bills and/or more than one mouth to feed then I suggest you look elsewhere. The pay doesn't by any means fit the labor. You start off at 9.75/hr and then move up to an even 10/hr if you make it past the probationary 90 days. The job itself – more... isn't very difficult and the people that work there are fun and energetic people to be around. However, advancement, or lack thereof, is a real issue. Overall I would give this job a A-. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management that cared about employees
Account Manager (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: helping the customers to succeed selling hillman products
Cons: extensive travel. i was away from my family 5 days a week.
My job was as an Account Manager. I interacted with retail accounts such as Cal Ranch Stores, True Value stores and Ace Hardware stores. I was responsible for all aspects of caring for the customer such as: ordering product, sale of new products, displays and promotions. There was extensive travel involved throughout eastern Idaho, western Wyoming and – more... northern Utah. When I took the position the territory had never produced more than $267,000.00 per year in sales. I was made aware that if I was unable to succeed in raising sales in the area the company was going to split up the territory and merge sections into other existing territories. Through much hard work visiting my customers regularly, resolving issues and negative things that had occurred with previous representative of Hillman, acquiring new customers and retaining customers Hillman was in jeopardy of losing I built the territory into a successful area. In my three years with Hillman my sales in that territory were $902,000.00 the first year, $1.077 million the second year and $1.22 million the third year. I did not do this completely by myself. I had a great manager that helped me along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
something different
Puller and Shipping (Former Employee), The Colony, TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
The best thing about this job is that there was a basketball court to play. co-workers are great. management just need more skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant small company to work for.
Accounts Receivable Rep (Former Employee), Tempe, AZOctober 16, 2013
Pros: very good small company to work for.
Cons: can't really say there were any.
I enjoyed my time working at The Hillman Group also. It was a smaller company and it had a very friendly work environment and the technology was very up to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable company and has compensation/Benefits package. Lots of great people.
Technical Service Representative (Former Employee), 8990 South Kyrene Road, Tempe AZ 85284August 19, 2013
Pros: we get treats everynow and then especially on challenging days, we get to have potlucks within departments, & lots of friendly and upbeat and supportive co-workers
Cons: not much room for advancement.
Most days the Technical Support and Customer Service Depts. are always busy with multiple incoming & outgoing calls from both internal & external customers, dealing with very heavy call volume. I learned to listen well and deliver service to customers via telephone quickly and precisely with quality customer service. Learned how to deal with lots of – more... different types of personalities and how to cope with really challenging customers. Most importantly, I learned to prioritize work and use time management wisely. The hardest part of the job is being in confinement in a cubicle, but due to heavy call volumes, time goes by quickly, anyway, so it's not that detrimental. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting together with your co-workers and sharing and learning techniques from each other how to deal with some challenging customers and at the same time deliver quality customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay to work for
packer (Current Employee), cincinnatiAugust 9, 2013
Pros: productivity bonus
Cons: managers have no good people skills
I pack my product in a timely manner. My percentage is above average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Store resets (Current Employee), up northAugust 7, 2013
I loved the people i worked with. The work was fun. I would go there and slowly start working. Then we would go to lunch and come back and finish up what we had for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair and productive workplace
order processor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 5, 2013
extremely fast paste environment. good company, fair, good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
ORDER PROCESSOR (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 15, 2013
Pros: incentives
Cons: under paid wages and 1 break during an 8 hour day.
My work day is very productive. I able to make my weekly numbers and get my incentives. Management tries to work with most people. Co-workers are helpful and friendly. The hardest part of my job is making numbers on the 2nd floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing
Cycle Counter (Current Employee), Forest Park, OHMarch 31, 2013
Pros: i only work monday through friday
Cons: accountability within the company
A typical day at work involves me counting multiple locations and items throughout the facility. I've learned about inventory. Management is involved in day to day operations. My co-workers are easy to get along with. The hardest part of my job getting up early in the morning. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing issues corrected with inventory – more... and knowing you were a part of that process. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hillman Group
Field Service Representative (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLMarch 23, 2013
I'm a vendor I work Monday through Friday, 40 hours a week. I choose each store that I will go to the week before so I know what area I will be going to each day. My everyday routine is going into a Lowe's home improvement store because that's who I only service and basically down stock and zone only the areas of the companies products. I carry with – more... me a device or PDA that gives me surveys for each store that I follow. It basically is a To Do list so you know how you would plan your day out. I'm responsible for cycle counting, resets and ordering the product so that the shelves are customer shop-able. Everyday there is something new because every store is kept up different. Its a position that is left up to you to get the job done but you do need the help and team work of the Lowe's associates to keep up the displays. I would say the hardest part of the job is just getting the associates to keep up with putting the product away and having the shelves look full, if the shelves look empty and no product to be bought both the store and my company lose out. This is where the customer will either leave frustrated or go to a store competitor. The most that I enjoy about this job is the different people I meet everyday and different areas I visit. There's always something new and a different challenge to over come. Everyday is a challenge and the great part is figuring it out, solving it and the end result completing it all put together. I love when you take a before picture and after seeing what hard work you put into the display and how it looks after your done that's my day to day job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Job Security if you work hard
Order Processor (Current Employee), Forest ParkJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: good benefits, stable company
Good job security with a stable company. Come to work everyday, work hard, and you will always have a job. The best thing here is the benefits. Very affordable and you only have to wait three months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy co-workers
Order Processor (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 6, 2012
Pros: enjoy the people i worked with
Cons: do not appriecate employes
Working on line picking and packing orders Enjoyed the job but sometime hard on the body.Also incentive bonuses.Which made everyones jobs hard at time because alot of people out for the money .And the money would be had in certain areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place
Order Picker (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 23, 2012
On a typical day at work we would fill many orders then send the boxes down the conveyer belt for them to be checked by quality control then get shipped out. what ive learned from the hillman group was how to work in a fast paced production environment. Management and my co workers were friendly and helpful to one another especially when it was a very – more... hard situation we all pulled through. The hardest part of the job was when ever someones work station was backed up and it would stop the conveyer belt then it would slow everyone down. the enjoyable part of the job was when no body backed up the line and everything would go smoothly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treats employees like numbers and not people
Order Processor / Former Employee (Former Employee), Cincinnati OhioJuly 14, 2012
Cons: lack of job security
This job is all about the numbers with little regard of what the employees must go through to reach that goal set by the company, This is an organization that will walk you out the door at the drop of a hat with little disregard of what it may do to your life and the life of your family

November 6, 2012

They do not care about ther enployees and the problems that need to be solved.Your right Its all about the numbers.

November 26, 2012

I would agree with this reviewer. Don't even bother w/ this company unless your desperate and pathetic and want to be under paid and constantly harassed . Management and most of the employees should take some sensitivity training. Modern day sweat shop security cameras watch your every move perfect job for the Poor and Uneducated.