The Hillman Group Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive peaceful workplace
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHMay 22, 2017
Work was actually easy I like how we had a food truck come during break times so we wouldn't have to leave to get a snack on such a short break give us time to actually rest our legs before returning to standing. The hardest part was the heat and not enough fans to support every employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 12, 2017
Great management - very accommodating to meet your schedule needs, work life balance. In addition, management encouraged you to explore future opportunities of advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work less pay
Stock and branch (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 11, 2017
I would work there but it not fair for any people from other countries. It's fun when you have friends there. I got to learn new equipment plus make new friends
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be a robot and have no life it's for you.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 1, 2017
Everyday is the same. Morning start up meeting(useless), how great the company is doing(wonderful), and we need to pick up the pace and by the way we're working this weekend again. You will have no life. Upper management cares absolutely nothing about there employees hence there revolving door employment. Enjoy the be lucky to be employed speeches also.
Pros
There's better jobs out there that appreciate and pay employees appropriatley
Cons
Pay raises are a joke and the way management changes over.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent Company
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 17, 2017
This company had some of the highest employee engagement I've ever witnessed. However the employees did not make much money. Management was going through a major changeover and things just weren't smooth from A-Z. Hopefully it has gotten better in that regards.
Pros
Excellent employee engagement, great hours.
Cons
Communications on the sales to production end were lacking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tools and hardware
Material Handler, Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 12, 2017
I've learned how to operate a stand up forklift, sit down for lift, cherry picker, and tugger. I loved the hours just need better pay.
Pros
i have learned alot while working there.
Cons
they dont appriciate a hard worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy company
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  North DakotaFebruary 4, 2017
The home office is in Cincinnati, OH....but could just as well be on the moon. As a sales rep you will get little help in the field. You are supposed to travel all day taking orders and then go home and do paperwork and administrative work at night. Rarely will the home office return a phone call and a lot of the paperwork could be done by them. The HR department cannot answer any question. The resets that must be done periodically are very taxing. Definitely a young man's job!
Pros
If you like driving all day you will be doing lots of it. District manager did not micro manage.
Cons
Long hours. So-so pay. Little support from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 18, 2017
Your working for an inventory company. Its okay. Didn't have any big issues. You'll like it if you like warehouse work. Great company though
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers, No Career Growth
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 6, 2017
The company has no desire to promote from within or provide a career path. The pay is ok and the benefits are great, but if you are looking for a career path forget it. Best to get some experience, certifications, and move on.
Pros
Free lunches, Christmas Party, Excellent Benefits
Cons
Marginal pay, lack of career opportunities, constant management changes
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Key Operator (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 23, 2016
Very easy work. The only warehouse that allows you to sit while you work. Fast paced environment, easy to do and get back home before 4pm. Easy to have your own life as well
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 9, 2016
Don't care if you have a job or not. The turnover rate here is notoriously high. The compensation is usually pretty good, but only get a raise after a certain amount of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very business sturcted and very fast paced company.
Packer (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 30, 2016
Work is very fast paced and time, as items are boxed and packed. A lot of bending and lifting items as they are put on a line.
Pros
pizza parties
Cons
very warm in summer...warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited advancement opportunity
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 16, 2016
Company worried about buyouts and layoffs every three years. Sales dept.needs better field support from marketing projects .
Pros
Company lease car
Cons
Started cutting benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop.
Order Processor (Current Employee) –  Shafter, CAApril 12, 2016
Be prepared to be constantly reminded with print out sheets of how fast you must pick. The pay doesn't compensate at all for the physical strain this job takes on ones body. Management lacks people skills. I have LITERALLY never worked for a company where I've seen so many people come and go.

No opportunities for growth within the company.
Pros
Leaving at the end of a shift.
Cons
Low Pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management group is in disarray
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 7, 2016
The Management group have no idea what they are doing they are struggling to learn the business. The shop floor is full of temps and their turn over is more than 80%. Since there is no clear direction from upper management the work place is disorganized.
Pros
Employees are hard caring people
Cons
Long hours bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a hard working place.
warehouse (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 5, 2016
I have been with the Company going on 14 yrs. now and the company has been bought 2 times since then can keep people or managers,
Pros
free lunches here and then
Cons
benefits are somewhat good
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bottom line company
Label Maker (Former Employee) –  East Moline, ILSeptember 26, 2015
I made label for hardware displays. The company was bought out and the new company closed it's doors. The new company did not care about it's employees
Was this review helpful?Yes29No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile workplace
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHSeptember 23, 2015
There is no order at this company. They pick and choose their favorites, meaning no two employees are treated the same. Employees use street language in the business and only a few a punished while everyone else continues the negative behavior.
Was this review helpful?Yes33No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  OHIO CINN.August 28, 2015
The best company I ever worked for . Produce products for each lowes store five days a week. Produce all types of nuts and bolts in all silicon valley
Was this review helpful?Yes13No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company I've ever worked for, fair on every level.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 18, 2015
I loved working for this company and I loved my job. But, it just wasn't home for me. I had to live near where all of my accounts were and that was too far from home (Bakersfield) to commute.
Pros
Great benefit package, friendly atmoshpere, great bonuses.
Cons
Where I had to live for this job was not Home.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Hillman Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

45%
11 ratings
Add your rating