The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 20,406 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Strickland Crossroads, NCJanuary 21, 2017
Great atmosphere, I enjoyed going to work. Great coworkers and management was always professional and helpful. Pay was great and work really well with family life; scheduling was the best very flexible.
Pros
Friendly staff great company to work for.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok, i'm in controll of my happiness. I make my day pleasant by being positive.
Customer Service Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Austell, GAJanuary 21, 2017
Interesting work place with many friendly team mates as well as customers who sometimes, just want some one to talk to. One gets to know these folks and often times true lasting bonds are forged.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Part time, no benifit. I was told i would get an increase in about 6 months, still waiting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible plave to work
Customer Service Representative/Sales (Current Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJanuary 21, 2017
customer relations sales inventory stocking shelves helping customers to find what they need try to up sell helping other departments with there needs
Pros
none
Cons
horrible management team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping the customers
LOT ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GAJanuary 21, 2017
The one thing I learned at this job is the importance of the customer. At Home Depot, their goal is to satisfy every customer's needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
paint associate/ freight team associate (Current Employee) –  Winter Park, FLJanuary 20, 2017
Good work environment, Good employees, and good customers. It is a great place to work and be apart of a work family. The store definitely has a family dynamic to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Line Manager (Former Employee) –  Daly City, CAJanuary 20, 2017
Able to talk and walk with different people.. Learn about home improvement and plants. Able to move within different departments in order to grow with in the company
Pros
able to move to different departments
Cons
Health care benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Major appliance specialist (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTJanuary 20, 2017
Treated me like family, great company, loves their employees, good pay, good benefits.

Got to work, got on the phones, helped customers with orders and appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and calm place to work, easygoing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2017
A typical day at work was clock in, find your register and help customers by cashing them out and answering their questions. I learned about different products and services offered, to work efficiently as a team. Management was easygoing and helpful. Hardest part was working the returns desk. The most enjoyable part was the breaks, and the crew.
Pros
Good lunches and breaks, Good team members
Cons
Lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Merchandise Executive Associate (Former Employee) –  Goleta, CAJanuary 20, 2017
Patrons were great. Most associates kept to themselves. Fantastic place to learn about home construction. The hardest part of the job was ordering the correct and right amount of a certain product for consumer needs.
Pros
N/A
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employess
Lumber associate (Former Employee) –  Austell, GAJanuary 20, 2017
Great customers, find out there needs and figure out solutions, stocking and front facing items. Clean and help customers take there items to there cars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Cashier Columbus Ohio (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 20, 2017
I feel as though the home depot in Reynoldsburg played favoritism when it came to making the schedules. The management was okay, depending on the day. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the management as far as flexibility and departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work.
Service Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Portage, MIJanuary 20, 2017
Good placw to work. Many volunteer opportunities. Hands on demos. Training is simple and easy to comprehend. Most coworkers are in the teamwork frame of mind.
Pros
Coworkers and manage!wnt easy to get along with.
Cons
Most positions are part time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is terrible.
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Algonquin, ILJanuary 20, 2017
There is no sense of direction at the store. No policy or rule was ever followed, even by corporate. It's as if they said "f*** the rules we preached to new hires for two weeks straight, who gives? " don't work there if you want job improvement.
Pros
Health benefits that you had to work for
Cons
Management, no employee discount, minimal help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJanuary 20, 2017
Working nights, the culture is a little different than day work. Everyone is comfortable doing their own work and also comfortable helping each other out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is a blessing
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 20, 2017
being able to meet and greet with others. learning new skills that will be helpful in the future . being to make someone day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vey friendly work environment
MET Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAJanuary 20, 2017
7am we clock in and log into a first phone scanner then walk to our start point in the store usually in the beginning of the aisle scan into the bay holding the product or merchandise i identify the price tags and labels on steel beams remove and re-lable as needed.
Pros
friendly employees and customers
Cons
not much room for hours or career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Overnight Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 20, 2017
It was a fun friendly clean work environment, and would work there again. The management were very helpful in my training and overseeing my work. It was one supervisor there that always smiled and made me feel good about coming to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, and the benefits are tremendous
Department Manager/ Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Pompano Beach, FLJanuary 20, 2017
Home Depot is a company that knows exactly what directions it wants to go and the expectations are set from top to bottom. I learned that Store Appearance means everything and management there wants you to succeed. Culture isn't bad, the hardest part of the job is that everyone doesn't quite understand the hard work that is put in overnight and the most enjoyable part the benefits & discounts.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big expectations
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYJanuary 20, 2017
Home Depot seeks to create a huge customer experience with little to none employees working the floor. Those in management are mandated to learn each and every department.
Pros
Endless possibilities
Cons
Long Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAJanuary 20, 2017
This job out of my job was the most productive. I learned many new things and it was fun because the customers were great. The hardest thing here was learning how to cut all the different types of wood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22,189 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7