The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work as a second job
Special Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Thornton, COOctober 18, 2017
always flexible with hours and listen to you, most of the staff is awesome and fun to work with, sometimes there are customers that you just cant lease but thats everywhere you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK for retail weak overall
Merchandise Execution Team (MET) Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kitty Hawk, NCOctober 18, 2017
Overall a poor place to work but I understand it is not bad for retail. High expectation for a supervisor with very low pay. In my case not worth it. They try to make the culture cult like to compensate for low pay.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
District Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDOctober 18, 2017
Nothing really bad, just fast paced. Management turn overs are huge. Seem to want to promote minorities even though not qualified. We always said they promote all managers one day be customers. Every manager, minoroty I worked with was eventually fired. Seems like a cycle to keep from paying anyone retirement benefits.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Stalinist Leaders / cult like
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and demanding
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 18, 2017
Working for a division of The Home Depot was a bit different. When they bought out the company I was working for they changed our entire work environment. My job went from a degree required to a HS diploma required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back, work is average
Fork lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Enfield, CTOctober 18, 2017
average day moving freight, management is average. co workers are nice. there really isn't anything hard to this job. they provide training operating equipment. the most enjoyable part of this job was the ability to work third shift
Pros
equipment training
Cons
little hours during off seasons poor benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an okay place to work
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAOctober 18, 2017
It was an okay place to work before we got new management and then it go to stressful and the management didnt really seem to care much about the associates
Pros
Lunches, the pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced workplace may be a little stressful at times
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Watchung, NJOctober 17, 2017
While working here I have learned numerous ways of customer service. There were trying times but working for this company wasn't bad at all. The hours were flexible the pay was ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work to start your career.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Oregon City, OROctober 17, 2017
Work load changes daily from easy to overwhelming requiring overtime to meet goals. Working on freight team means you work at night with a set schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cashier, Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Providence, RIOctober 17, 2017
Managers and other co-workers were actually very pleasant to work with ! Customer were usually always awesome and we had out regulars that knew you by your name.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very diverse
Greeter/Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TX 77550October 17, 2017
Good place to work for. good benefits they will fit you for the best position .like any job there will things like one does not like but over all a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Flooring Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pottstown, PAOctober 17, 2017
I worked in two locations as a part-time flooring associate. I enjoyed working in both and my supervisors were all great. I would like to go back into the Flooring Department again if I had that option.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough job to make some money
Sales Specialist, Lead Generator, (Former Employee) –  Atascadero, CAOctober 17, 2017
If you have a hard time being hired by people, don't worry home depot will take you.
I worked with some of the most amazing people but the turn over rate is crazy. Pay is lousey, customers can be horrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow as a individual
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  IllinoisOctober 17, 2017
Home Depot is a great place to work and I have never worked at a better company than home depot. As soon as you walk through the doors there is a sense of belonging and the people there make you feel better about yourself and that your part of something that is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not what it used to be..
Pro coordinator and contractor salesman (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAOctober 17, 2017
The company was VERY good to its folks back in the "Bernie-Arthur days".. Now just slightly a step above Target.. 2 steps above Wal-Mart.. Better than average tho -
Pros
Solid company
Cons
No longer "a big family".. Just a greedy corp. machine now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAOctober 17, 2017
Working with other associates is great. Can joke around but have to work aggressively too. Fast paced warehouse work. Management expects a lot with the day to day workload,
Pros
Monthly luncheons
Cons
long hours, 4 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail management can be cutthroat. It is NOT a professional environment. Rewards are at the expense of others.
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2017
Associates in most retail environments are thought disposable and typically not for lack of any commitment on their part. It is a business "philosophy" that gets reflected daily when company management interacts with its associates. It sets up a stressful environment of never knowing if today will be your last,

Obviously this is tolerated in a State with an "at will policy". It is perfectly acceptable if the company "does the right thing" and pays that employee's unemployment benefits
Pros
Its Associates
Cons
Its management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 17, 2017
I learned many things in the years employed at the Home Depot. I was able dot help train others as I took the time to learn each and every department. I enjoy making customers smile and learning new things to benefit me in my future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Garden Associate (Former Employee) –  Festus, MOOctober 17, 2017
work was fun i learned a lot the managers were all really supportive i didnt like working till 11pm then having to come back in the next morning and every weekend
Pros
days went by fast
Cons
worked every weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & quiet place to work.
Overnight Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Windham, MEOctober 17, 2017
Worked the overnights, store is quiet and big, fun when everyone's gone. The work is pretty straight forward and easy. Lots of lifting, and bending. Great job if you love staying up all night long.
Pros
Great benefits, company really cares about its employees.
Cons
Lots of lifting, walking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 17, 2017
one of the best hourly employers out there in the market place. At the time I worked there, raises came often and were better than average. Advancement was difficult at times, but it was always available.
Pros
stability
Cons
stress can be high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 30,069 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7