The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 18,787 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Corporation
MET Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 30, 2016
They hire anyone, which says it all, but its an amazing place to at and the environment is usually cheerful and upbringing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  15740 shady grove roadSeptember 30, 2016
Lots of benifits...bonuses etc...the culture is great with different backgrounds and we all work as a family. The customer service is great with different kind of customers who speaks their minds and always wanted to get a discount.
Pros
Lots of celebration
Cons
2 fifteen minutes break per shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great people to work with
Cashier/Greeter/Freight (Former Employee) –  Ankeny, IASeptember 30, 2016
They provide a nice break room with a food pantry for those who forget lunch.

Employees are wonderful as are the customers
Pros
Food Pantry, competitive wages
Cons
get called in a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 30, 2016
Its just a great company to work for overall. the pay is great they take care of there employees they give their employees bonuses every 6 months and risies every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Front Desk Cashier (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IA 51503September 30, 2016
Greeting customers when arriving, asking if they needed any help with anything and directing them to the correct aisle or sales associate, up saling and providing excellent customer service.
Pros
discounted items
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jamestown, NYSeptember 30, 2016
You can feel a sense of family while working. Management for the most part work together as a unit, they do however have a tendency to neglect some of their important responsibilities and when it is addressed, the blame is usually passed on to another party.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
not enough advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging
home depot head cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Cruces, NMSeptember 30, 2016
Loved working at home depot great environment. Must have open availability if not they'll work with you. Hab0ve to be responsible. Have an outgoing personality.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYSeptember 30, 2016
This is a great place to start working if you are interested in becoming a manager of a major company the health benefits are phenomenal.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun envierment to work for.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ogden, UTSeptember 30, 2016
People were fun to work with, Management was not very good., Fun evierment just not very friendly management.
Waking up early was the hardest part of the job.
Meeting new people all day.
Cons
not very friendly management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Sales Associate/Paint Department (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 30, 2016
Great work place provided food for all holidays barbecue on the forth of July great management team and co workers. fast paced and good pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about The Home Depot?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Smithfield, RISeptember 30, 2016
Family oriented environment. Fast paced and at times stressful. Management played a leadership role vs. a boss role. Learned about cash handling and registers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Department Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 30, 2016
Great place to work and grow. It's a company that you can grow with, it's all up to you.

A family oriented company
The management is fair
There are only 2 holidays per year
Pros
Easy to advance
Cons
A lot of weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced friendly environment
MERCHANDISER/HEAD BIT (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, CT 06854September 30, 2016
Working at The Home Depot is definitely a learning experience. It is very fast paced and diverse. It is a place where you can learn about all aspects of home improvement as well as communication skills and basic life skills. Overall a wonderful company to work for.
Pros
Set schedules
Cons
5:00 am start time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Company
Appliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 30, 2016
The Home Depot as a company was excellent to work for. There benefits are amazing and the company strives to take care of their associates as well as help them in their time of need. I have learned a great deal of skills that I used not just in my home improvement but on a daily basis.
Pros
healthcare, benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment for customer service and sales experience
Lumber Associate (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 30, 2016
Job consisted working with teamwork to ensure a great shopping experience for the customer.Greeted every customer with a smile and offer to help any customer with any questions they had and provided loading to any customer who needed help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vauxhall, NJSeptember 30, 2016
My typical day at work consist of me checking and filling my paper goods department at walgreens. Then, completing my necessary four hours as a pharmacy technician.
Pros
clean environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad work, bad management
General Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSSeptember 30, 2016
The work was not bad in the warehouse as a general warehouse associate. The management was not the best and not helpful. Co workers were favored and not everyone seemed appreciated.
Pros
Pay and meetings
Cons
management, not much help, attitudes, not helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty cool for first job.
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2016
I enjoyed working there, but the management could have been better. The work environment was pretty relaxing, but some of the workers were laid back, which caused trouble for some of the customers. Other than that, I don't have any more complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned alot
Freight Team Associate (Former Employee) –  Lemon Grove, CASeptember 29, 2016
Home Depot is a very hard place to work if you work overnight on the freight team. I feel that they underpay there workers for all the labor we do. Not for all stores but i feel that the management was not fair about promoting the right people I felt like they would pick the ones who they know the best but not the best one qualified for the job. All in all I was thankful for the opportunity to work and I also learned a lot of skills and meant great people who I am still friends with today.
Pros
learn a lot of skills
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work,enjoyed interaction with customers and fellow employees,in all my years there....I can honestly say only 1 time was I annoyed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rome, GASeptember 29, 2016
everyday was busy...I get bored fast so I like to always be doing something..assisting customers with their projects,making lists of merchandise that needs to be ordered for DH, and in between assisting customers,cutting electrical wire,assisting customers who need to purchase items for their homes....also helping in other depts if I am knowledgable enough
Pros
detail oriented, want the customer to always have a pleasant experience and be happy with what they have purchased
Cons
I am a perfectionist!!!...really tears me up if I make a mistake...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20,411 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7