The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 26,687 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Start Working
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Wasilla, AKSeptember 20, 2017
Home Depot is a great employer. At my store, the management team is pretty understanding and flexible to your needs, and listens to any issues with earnest and tries to solve them. I have worked there for 3 years now, and have done a variety of jobs since I was hired. Advancement, however, is limited to the advancement or departure of those already in higher positions, which is scarce... and a surprise.
Overall, I enjoy working here, but am really just looking for something new.
Pros
Great management team and coworkers, flexible schedule, good pay.
Cons
Scarce advancement opportunity, not the BEST pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent enviroment to learn household improvements
Head Cashier-Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXSeptember 20, 2017
A consistent flow of customers. A good environment to learn diy projects and home improvements. Both men and women can learn everyday household improvements with their knowledgeable associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
laborer (Former Employee) –  Jeannette, PASeptember 20, 2017
your basic job in retail , people are nice and management isn't bad nice place if your looking to stay there forever but all in all not a bad place i still liked work at lowes better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment that feels like a family
Sales Associate/Paint Dept (Current Employee) –  Bethesda, MDSeptember 20, 2017
At Home Depot you never know what to expect when you walk through the doors of the store. Some days you could be swamped with orders, and questions, whereas there may be others when you the store is a drought. However working with people who offer a since of family makes the days better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Iwilei, HISeptember 20, 2017
working in the receiving dept was very busy....deliveries came in constantly and containers needed to be unloaded every hour taking final counts to match packing slip and distributing to dept pallets preparing to take out to the floor for stocking. ive learned to also input all deliveries into store system and to assure special orders are placed in its appropriate place. Customer Service Managers were always asking for ways to better our depts, feedback to better store and customer service.
Pros
enjoyable co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice break room good people and nice work enviromenent
Service Desk Associate (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, OHSeptember 20, 2017
working at the home depot is interesting and fun the employees are great, most major holidays they are closed which is a huge benefit and the pay above what most other jobs doing the same thing pay.
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Sales Associate promoted to Coach Associate (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WASeptember 20, 2017
Home Depot is a great place to work, and learn. Can be very stressful. It is a great place to sharpen your skills. People skills. Work with others. Build friendships. Learn how to drive all different types of forklifts.
Pros
You get to work with a team in your department. Build friendships.
Cons
Scheduling. Hours always change. Hard to have a life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
GardenRecovery/Storage (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 20, 2017
Rung up customers item also help customers find items for there homes did stock and lift garden items and answer customer questions about certain sales and items also call stock help when customers needed help with there heavy items.
Pros
Working around new and formerly customers.
Cons
Not having an unplesant customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Rockland, MASeptember 20, 2017
I love working at the Rockland Home Depot. They are very good and respectful to their employees. I am leaving because this job is not directly related to my field of work.
Pros
lots of benefits for full time associates and career advancement opportunity
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick paced environment with great salary and benefits
Sr Manager, Operations Process and Analytics (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 20, 2017
It has been a lot of fun working here at the home depot - there is a lot of change at the company due the changing business requirements and online competion. But Home Depot has top senior management
Pros
Great compensation and benefits
Cons
Internal job placement is cumbersome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
special project team member (Former Employee) –  South Riding, VASeptember 20, 2017
awesome place to work great management everyone takes care of each other great place to learn on all aspects of home improvement as well as management skills and customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work for
Lot Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNSeptember 20, 2017
great atmosphere when your there.

i learned how to use the saw they use.

the managers were nice

hardest part for me was when peaple would call in sick. then it would be me all day doing carts
Pros
free food during promotions and succces sharing
Cons
other peaple would take breaks when there not suppose to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service desk
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 20, 2017
answering about 200 calls a day. Checking placing orders. Dealing with customers attitudes. Dealing with the lack of professionalism from fellow coworker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Sales Associate/Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canton, MISeptember 20, 2017
It was a stepping stone for me. Would like to have a set schedule but it changed every week. Most co-workers were a joy to work with. Some days were longer than others
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Not a set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family style environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXSeptember 20, 2017
I enjoyed working tremendously. I had personal problems that required I go away for some time. The regulars come in like clock work and you get to build a rapport with them and they become family as well. I learned the importance of teamwork here. Management is very cool as long as you do your job. Home Depot strives on taking care of home. The incentives offered from them to their employees is best I've seen in my working days. Most enjoyable part is the appreciation shown to their employees. They make you feel like you make a difference.
Pros
flexible schedules, teamwork, station rotation
Cons
garden center in the winter. lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't like it
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Springfield Gardens, NYSeptember 20, 2017
I worked in the garden department, and i'm minorly prissy, so long story short i hated it. The only thing that was good was that you could call out often
Pros
You could pick up shifts in different departments
Cons
Once garden season is over, i would get like 8 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company!
Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasSeptember 20, 2017
Started as a part time associate and now a Manager. That alone shows how The Home Depot desires to cultivate talent and promote from within. Hours are long, and inconsistent making work/life balance difficult, but the culture is second to none. The empowerment to give back and drive amazing customer service is what I love the most about the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, Family culture
Head Cashier (Current Employee) –  Tehachapi, CASeptember 20, 2017
The Home Depot was founded on the principles of respect, community, and people first. The Home Depot does all they can to ensure that their people are well taken care of. They provide monetary grants to associates in need, they are flexible with scheduling, they are compassionate when personal issues arise, and they are willing to work around personal issues that may affect your performance otherwise.
Pros
Great Benefits if used to the fullest, annual raise, great vacation policy
Cons
Full-time is hard to get if you have schedule restrictions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Survival job
Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 20, 2017
Good company with very good people. Limited advancement potential. It's retail so you need to be able to work with the public, which is not always easy. Getting a full-time position can also be a challenge but can come with time and experience.
Pros
Coworkers are great
Cons
Working with the public can be a challenge sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and employees are nice
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MissouriSeptember 20, 2017
Good work schedule. Good managers and everyone did their job. Advancement within work place was a thing just had to work hard for it. Forklift training and much more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 29,029 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7