The Home Depot Employee Reviews

Found 21,002 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but poor schedule and benefits.
Outside Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLFebruary 23, 2017
The Home Depot has good customer service values/expectations, but poor pay and work schedule. This company has poor benefits. I loved working with plants and educating customers about horticulture- related topics.
Pros
enjoyed my specific job duties
Cons
poor benefits and work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 22, 2017
as a cashier i helped customers check out of the store i handled money and offered products or credit cards i helped them with any questions they had about products and directions and gave great customer service .
Pros
healthcare
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for motivated people
Electrical Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Helping people is rewarding.
Hardest part is dealing with rude customers. When you keep a smile and succeed in changing their attitude by helping them, it feels great.
Pros
Secure Job, breaks, benefits
Cons
Becomes mundane easily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse place to work
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Elwood, ILFebruary 22, 2017
The pay is good and the people are friendly but the management is not so great. The turnover rate is really high. There is no progression. No matter what job you apply for, they will put you where they need you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Easley, SCFebruary 22, 2017
Health benefits 401(k) savings employer match good pay easily promoted good set hours if you can get them excellent company to work for wish I still did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and management is awesome
GARDEN ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COFebruary 22, 2017
You are challenged daily and can use your abilities to succeed and excel. You learn new product info daily and get to show off your abilities of different areas of knowledge.
Pros
Fun work space, benefits, flexible works hours
Cons
Winter time they cut back hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Freight Team Associate (Current Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAFebruary 22, 2017
Same routine everyday, truck comes, unload and restock. coworkers are great, customers make the day fun. really enjoy working for this company.
Pros
flexible schedule, easy going co workers
Cons
distance of drive to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Encinitas, CAFebruary 22, 2017
Great company
Great People
You work hard and They show Appreciation
and its very rewarding.
The opportunity for advancement is
tremendous, just explain your
vision or direction, and they will
try their best to move you up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace overall
Delivery Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mountain Home, ARFebruary 22, 2017
I worked a lot in receiving and on the sales floor. I worked as a department manager a while in the Lifestyles department (music, video games, toys, clothing, etc). The best part of the job was the culture and my team. It was a fun place to work as nobody needed to buy anything from us. If they entered our store, it was because they wanted to. The hardest part of the job was trying to move up the management ladder. It wasn't possible to become a store manager unless you relocate.
Pros
Employee discount and ability to check upcoming release dates
Cons
Poor Benefits and under staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Measurement technician (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 22, 2017
Great Place to work great benefits awesome management and associates. I would recommend anyone work here.
I work alone goes to customers houses to take measurements, I've made some great friends and gain a lot of customer experience,
Pros
Great work life balance
Cons
Spend most of your day driving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling & Confirming Appointments
CONFIRMATIONS SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLFebruary 22, 2017
Call customers to schedule and/or confirm appointments. Management are friendly & helpful. I would say the hardest part of the day is when it's slow. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I'm able to help a customer resolve an issue with a 1 call resolution which makes the customer happy & come back to do more business with Home Depot.
Pros
schedule flexiability
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employment opportunities
Key Carrier Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Employment opportunities this company represents some of the failures of the retail field. counter productive management that is reflective of poor implementations of policies and procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too much work for such little pay
Merchandising Execution Team Associate (Former Employee) –  FLFebruary 22, 2017
I went into this position thinking I'd work hard, but that was an understatement. This job was 8 hours of non-stop exercise and within my 3 months, I lost roughly 15 pounds. The manager was terrible but is no longer working there, so there will hopefully be new, better management.
Pros
Hour lunches, 15 minute breaks every 2 hours
Cons
terrible pay, racing to meet quota at all times, not given instruction on Home depot products to help customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Flushing, MIFebruary 22, 2017
I really enjoy working with The Home Depot as a part-time employee. It's a great company to work for and the company offers great benefits to their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Millwork Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lisbon, CTFebruary 22, 2017
home depot gave a lot of hype as far as the profit sharing program went back in those days . the only people who really profited were the one's when Depots initially started. examples were given that some people in the New Haven Depots became millionaires. what they didn't tell the potential employees thereafter that going forward what those people had accomplished would never be seen again.
Pros
none
Cons
no consistancy in schudules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pruductive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  East Elmhurst, NYFebruary 21, 2017
typical day at the home depot will be customer service and packing down..alot of task to accomplish and also helping your co workers...working at the home depot i learn how to drive multiple machinery like the reach truck ,the forklift and the oder picker..the most enjoyable part about the job is making the customer happy to shop!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Home Depot
Inventory Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Forest Lake, MNFebruary 21, 2017
If you don't mind working retail it is a very nice place to work. They make it very easy to change your availability or request a day off so you can easily keep up with your personal life. They pay a fairly decent wage. They also provide vacation and sick time, even for their part-time employees. There are also opportunities to earn bonuses (usually $50 at a time) and regular raises (the amount depending on your performance review). There are plenty of advancement opportunities if you so choose. I was promoted twice in the three years I worked there. If you want to make a career out of it they make it very easy to make that happen. Overall, it is a very good place to work.
Pros
Advancement opportunities, regular raises, benefits for FT and PT
Cons
Works evenings, weekends, and holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofesional
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 21, 2017
My opinion is That Home Depot was a great company to work for but management and some of the staff made it very disappointing.
Pros
Bonuses, Christmas parties and awards and Employee appreciation
Cons
Poor Management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long nights in a warehouse
Garden Recovery Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawrence, KSFebruary 21, 2017
Working weekend 3rd shift stocking and using machines to preform job duties. Great management and co-workers. Just have to be willing to work long hours during the night
Pros
great experience
Cons
late night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workl place
Loader/Unloader (Current Employee) –  Pittston, PA 18640February 21, 2017
great job and great staff. good money. learned a lot of things. alot of chances to learn different machines and meet different people. very friendly people. just a lot of lifting and picking up
Pros
good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Home Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 22,823 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7