Find companies:
The Kroger Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,074 reviews

The Kroger Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start Not Long Term
Assistant Customer Service Manager, Lead Clerk (Former Employee), Lake Orion MISeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: poor hours
Give up your nights, and weekends, fight for hours, 17 years with advancing all the way to the top hourly position, not worth it in the long run
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cashier (Current Employee), Chester, VASeptember 12, 2014
They don't really appreciate anything you do. The pay sucks because they want so much out of you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps my bills paid.
Assistant Manager of Subway (Current Employee), Calhan, COSeptember 11, 2014
A typical day starts off with lots of prep work to do, cleaning and handling orders and transactions. As the day goes on its continuous cleaning and dealing with customer orders. The hardest part, is always being put down no matter what you seem to do. The most enjoyable is meeting some of the customers who enjoy talking to you, that makes the day better – more... and goes by faster! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat every employees as a slave
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: good work envirnment
Cons: work and pay not balanced
This company is big but they don't care lower level employees.
I like the work environment but I have to spend a year to get 25 cent pay raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Covington, GASeptember 11, 2014
:Typically day of work can be very calm or very hectic,
: Everyday gives me a new way how to handle different situations, even tho I have been there for 7 years I learn different ways to handle things which I like to look at is as a great thing,
:I love my coworkers, I am very much a people person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Clarksdale, MSSeptember 11, 2014
Constantly learning, building new professional relationships and meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Deli/ Customer service (Current Employee), Bradley, ILSeptember 11, 2014
Nice place to work get to meet new people, department manager works with us to complete task, co-workers (sum a little difficult) are fun we make the day go fast by working together and learning each other and our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama town
Cashier (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: seeing old friends daily
Cons: drama
I had a good time at Kroger except for all the drama that was going around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They care about the customer and the associates
Manager PMO (Former Employee), Blue AshSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: inclusive, they care about keeping good resources
Cons: mid-range pay compared to the market
Great company from a culture perspective. VP's listen if you aren't whining but make valid points for improvement. Managers are pressured to deliver. Overall a really good company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Starbucks Barista (Former Employee), Sugar Land, txSeptember 11, 2014
The overall salary didn't fit well with the other Starbucks employees at the main stores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good benefits
Customer Associate (Former Employee), Rainelle, WVSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: health benefits without being full-time
Cons: short shifts
Kroger is a very good company to work for. They have many positions that you can try. You are given the chance to work in different departments, so you're not stuck doing the same thing all the time. Most of the employees are friendly and management will work with you if you have home life situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for high school
COURTESY CLERK (Former Employee), Tucker, GeorgiaSeptember 10, 2014
Great job if your in high school just to keep some little money in your pocket.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long-term career.
Cashier (Former Employee), Laurel, MSSeptember 10, 2014
They don't seem to care for their employees as much as they should. Hard working employee's are unrecognized. They only notice when you do something they don't like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place for summer job
Courtesy Clerk/Day & Night Stocker (Former Employee), Keller, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: discounts on certain items
Cons: same problems every day
Kroger is a grate place to work for a first job or a summer job. I started as a bagger, just getting carts from the lots and bagging custimer items, also helping them to their car if needed. I was then premoted to Day grocery, just reciving kroger brand items and putting them on the shelf. After that i was shortly premoted again to Night stalker witch – more... instead of just stalking and reciving kroger brand item i was then reciving all items in throughout the store. Demands was to know where 90% of all items and brand items where located throughout the store at all times. After a while i was then moved to help Frozen section with stalking and conditioning items as well as grocery items. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seniority will always rule here.
Cashier/Customer Service/Barista (Former Employee), Grosse Ile, MISeptember 10, 2014
I was sexually harassed here, filed a complaint, and instead of the harasser being reprimanded, I was targeted and then fired. I had to grieve the write-up and essentially proved it was a wrongful termination. Still, the harasser, did not get even a warning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice Job
Cashier/ Bagger/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 10, 2014
Had fune everyday, fun environment, just had some mean managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Lexington, KYSeptember 9, 2014
It Was Ok I was not getting paid enough though. I enojoyed the work just wasnt for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Block
Co-Manager (Former Employee), AtlantaSeptember 9, 2014
Manage overall store departments daily to ensure all standards are being met. Maximize profits while maintaining appropriate loss levels. Strong group of dedicated employees that would benefit from betterupper management guidance. Great starting block for a career in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced enviornment, great experience.
Bagger (Former Employee), Toledo, OHSeptember 9, 2014
This job was the greatest experience of them all. It helped me build character and people skills being that it was my first job and I started as a teenager. Its a very fast paced environment and helped me learn what great customer service is,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and hot days
Cashier (Former Employee), Dickinson TXSeptember 9, 2014
too many hours not enough food options for lunch we always went to the same convient store everyday I hated working 6 days a week because I never got to spend time with my daughter