Find companies:
The Kroger Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,408 reviews

The Kroger Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy store. Had to stay on your toes!
Cashier/Fuel Attendant (Former Employee), Plymouth, MIDecember 11, 2014
It was the busiest store I have ever worked for. My co-workers were all really nice. The hardest part of the job was keeping up the speed. We were tested on our ringing speed. They were very busy all the time. I learned they are the #1 store in Michigan!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger
Overnight Stocker/ Drug Gm (Former Employee), Houston, TexasDecember 11, 2014
Well typical day at the place break down pallets, and sorting them to what aisle they belong to. and trying to finish everything under certain time limit. I've learn that multi-tasking is very much the key on how to get the job done, interact with customers and stocking shelves. some managers are okay others.... my co-workers are awesome helping me – more... out much as I can to be able to get my part of the work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great envioment
Cashier (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: higher advncement
Clock in and see the floor manager where you need to be. Great co workers, and learnded how to work in a fast pace environment,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Columbia City IndianaDecember 11, 2014
Pros: customer service
Cons: management
Enjoying the public

The hard work they do

Was rude

Co-workers were wonderful

Standing in one place

I loved the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day and parts of the job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVDecember 10, 2014
Pros: fuel points x2
Cons: not willing to work with my school schedule
My typical day as a courtesy clerk was I clock in, greet/help customers, bag groceries, put away unwanted groceries, and collect shopping carts from the parking lot, will clock out for 15 min break and lunch break, clock back in to work, and at the end of the shift, I clock out for the day.

The hardest part of the job is when the customers yell at – more... me for no reason. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing when and what groceries are going to go on sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee), atlantaDecember 10, 2014
fun. fast passed job. you meet new people everyday. love the enviorment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for teenagers
GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee), middletown OHDecember 10, 2014
Pros: everything
Good place for a teenager to begin his start into the working enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive and lack of advancement capability.
Utility Clerk (Current Employee), Athens, GADecember 9, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, nice people in general.
Cons: short breaks, frustrating work, berating heads of departments, etc.
On an average day, I come to work, start cleaning, and don't stop until the cooks are done dirtying stuff up.
I learned little to nothing.
The management was nice, understanding, and tried to work with me, but I felt like it was just surface feelings. They make excuses as to why you can't move up and constantly find more and more things for you to do, – more... blaming you for not doing what they had never told you was part of your job.
The co-workers were awesome. As a matter of fact, the only enjoyable part of the job was getting to talk to my peers and get to know them and work with them more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very enjoyable
Customer Service, Drug GM and Cashier (Former Employee), Franklin, TNDecember 9, 2014
Pros: lunch and breaks
Cons: no benefits
At work we were always busy and had stuff to actually do. I learned to be a better and go fast while checking the groceries out. the management was very good with managing the store. the co workers, were very nice and had a good attitude on them all the time. there was no hard part in the job. we had a lot of breaks which i liked because i would always – more... work 8 hours a day some were 4 but it was still great – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Retail Workplace
Front End Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Smyrna, GADecember 9, 2014
Pros: holiday pay, tuition reinburement, affordable health insurance, financial hardship aid, great benefits
Cons: low pay rate
Customer service is Kroger's #1 priority. It is always busy, but can be fun sometimes. Friendly coworkers/ employees in all departments. Dealing with dificult situations during rush hour is the hardest part. Your coworkers over time turning into family is the most enjoyable part. I've learned that with every situation requires a different approach because – more... not all customers are the same. Even though a situations' outcome varies, each customer must be given the same amount of respect regardless of the customer's demeanor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place and good people
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Princeton, WVDecember 9, 2014
Pros: working a cash regstire and meeting faces
Cons: its fun
good and fun work place and the best people work there and like working on a regstier and enjoy meeting new faces and seeing the old faces and enjoy working on the regstire..... and it was fun fun fun yah got up every morning and never messed a day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to get a little experience
produce clerk (Current Employee), McDonough, GADecember 9, 2014
Pros: employee discount
Cons: pay
Kroger is a great company to work for if you're just starting out or need something that you don't want to stay at long, It takes a long time to get close to advancing anywhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Toledo, OHDecember 9, 2014
I have worked for The Kroger Company for over eight years in the State Liquor Store. I have plenty of experience in customer service, cash-handling, completing daily transmittal reports, and knowledge of products throughout the store. The hardest part of the job is dealing with customers that don't understand or like to follow the Laws of buying alcohol – more... which can be frustrating at times but it comes with the job. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to build relationships with my customers. Being employed for so long with Kroger has allowed me to meet and communicate with a variety of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-run company but with long hours
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Richmond, Va.December 9, 2014
Kroger as a business entity has good vision and values, but I was placed in a store with a manager who wasn't as fair and honest as he could have been. Had I been in a different environment I would still be working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable
Deli Clerk (Current Employee), 7477 Kirby DriveDecember 9, 2014
Come in and get focused. First you put on a hair net and gloves and start helping everyone out. From helping at the hot table to cutting up meats. Some of the most memorable moments to me are the customers you see and help everyday .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it! Would recommend for those of you in High School!
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Hartselle, ALDecember 9, 2014
Loved every minute of working here! I never had a bad day really, all the co-workers was great! There really wasn't anything hard about working here! It would be the perfect job for a student. Reasonable hours, and pay. The customers were always great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace to start off
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Byram, MSDecember 8, 2014
It's an ok job to start off with.Working a cash register is extremely simple. My coworkers are pretty nice. To me the job is simple. I really just enjoy talking to the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kroger
Bakery Back-up Manager (Former Employee), Bloomfield Hills, MIDecember 8, 2014
Management team struggled to motivate employees. Employees not paid enough for work demanded. It started out amazing and in the past year has dramatically declined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical cashier job
Cashier/ Clerk (Former Employee), Nashville, TNDecember 7, 2014
Cons: everything
Bad pay, bad management, no flexible schedule. My least favorite job i have had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Overnight Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Augusta, GADecember 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: environment, managers
its a very stressful work environment. everyone is always on edge. managers never do anything and blame you when you don't finish your job before your time ends while they are upstairs just sitting down